We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Bohemia Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bohemia Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 25: English reviews
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here just over a month during July 2016, loved my stay and met lots of people through staying here, staff were very friendly and overall a lovely hostel! Thanks again. Great facilities including a swimming pool out the back with a great size kitchen Aswell, would recommend

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

You get what you pay for. Staff very friendly and helpful and sorted a change in rooms. No water in ladies shower, had to find alternative. Free WiFi was a definitely bonus and a central location was good, minutes walk from restaurants and bar. Cheap and mostly cheerful.

Helpful?
Thank Isabella P
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here because it was so cheap so wasn't expecting much but it definitely wasn't as bad as I had imagined. The rooms smelt pretty stuffy at times and the mattresses really hurt your back after a while but otherwise they were decent. Bathrooms were probably the worst part of the hostel ad the showers were useless and smelt. Kitchen... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Petal89
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hostel is old and need some paint, etc...anyway is in the city centre close to everything. No noisy at all, quite clean. There is a good breakfast, milk , bread, vegemite, margarine, jam, coffee, tea.. I stayed in a 6 dormbed for 3 nights, no mosquitos in fact there are flyscreens in every windows. The mattresses are comfortable. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Serena C
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here after being denied at the Jack because I am Australian, but it turned out brilliant. The lovely gal at reception was really friendly and happy. The wifi is brilliant, the free breakfast great, the rooms quiet, guests are friendly and none of the drunkenmess I seen at most other places. It is a old place, so some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott H
Bohemia_Central, Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review

Oh Scott!! I remember you :) Very much thanx for writing down like this:-D You are very nice man. We will always do our best. Have a good one. :))))))) More 

Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It was a great time. Every Thursday, They have a BBQ party in BAR. Furthermore, The price of beer is cheap. I remember that 2 for $5 during BBQ party. Sometimes just little bit noisy, but That's all right. Building is old but clean. Some fan of backpackers are so dirty. but This hostel is neat. All of staff are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kkalkkal
Bohemia_Central, Front Office Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review

Hi there~ Thank you very much. We had great time at bbq party. i wish we meet again. Enjoy your travel. Cheers ^^ More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a very nice place. The rooms were a tad cold however, and it was noisy at times. I was very grateful though. The owners were quite friendly and kind enough to let me stay when I was in a financial bind. They understood my situation and let me pay upon my leave when I had the cash. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BeaStings
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you think an authentic backpacker experience is to stay in a dodgy old hostel with questionable hygiene, BCC is the place for you! Redeeming features are free wifi, central location and friendly staff, but the rooms are unimpressive and noisy. Everything is worn out and nasty looking once you get past reception. With some renovations, a paint job and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingCara

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Hostel has been taken over recently and new owners are really turning what used to be a great hostel into a complete dump. Room was filthy on check in and despite requesting it to be cleaned we never seen a cleaner the whole time we were there. Customer service was even worse. It's a major shame cause this used to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank donegaljo
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

we stayed here for 2 wks perfect location,lovely bar,everything is a hand away,

Helpful?
Thank SHARWEXFORD
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#34 of 87 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.2 mi away
Global Backpackers Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#8 of 87 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lazy Duck Hostel
Lazy Duck Hostel
#68 of 87 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#59 of 87 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Bohemia Central

Address: 100 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $22 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bohemia Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay