We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Bohemia Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cairns
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bohemia Central
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 26: English reviews
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. The price is super cheap so obviously the facilities aren't 5 star however it does have one of the best kitchens I have ever found at a hostel and as someone who wants to cook to keep costs down this was very important to me. Amazing staff who genuinely want to make sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicarious-media
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here just over a month during July 2016, loved my stay and met lots of people through staying here, staff were very friendly and overall a lovely hostel! Thanks again. Great facilities including a swimming pool out the back with a great size kitchen Aswell, would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

You get what you pay for. Staff very friendly and helpful and sorted a change in rooms. No water in ladies shower, had to find alternative. Free WiFi was a definitely bonus and a central location was good, minutes walk from restaurants and bar. Cheap and mostly cheerful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabella P
London
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here because it was so cheap so wasn't expecting much but it definitely wasn't as bad as I had imagined. The rooms smelt pretty stuffy at times and the mattresses really hurt your back after a while but otherwise they were decent. Bathrooms were probably the worst part of the hostel ad the showers were useless and smelt. Kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Petal89
Vicenza, Italy
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hostel is old and need some paint, etc...anyway is in the city centre close to everything. No noisy at all, quite clean. There is a good breakfast, milk , bread, vegemite, margarine, jam, coffee, tea.. I stayed in a 6 dormbed for 3 nights, no mosquitos in fact there are flyscreens in every windows. The mattresses are comfortable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Serena C
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here after being denied at the Jack because I am Australian, but it turned out brilliant. The lovely gal at reception was really friendly and happy. The wifi is brilliant, the free breakfast great, the rooms quiet, guests are friendly and none of the drunkenmess I seen at most other places. It is a old place, so some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
Bohemia_Central, Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review

Oh Scott!! I remember you :) Very much thanx for writing down like this:-D You are very nice man. We will always do our best. Have a good one. :)))))))

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed July 10, 2013

It was a great time. Every Thursday, They have a BBQ party in BAR. Furthermore, The price of beer is cheap. I remember that 2 for $5 during BBQ party. Sometimes just little bit noisy, but That's all right. Building is old but clean. Some fan of backpackers are so dirty. but This hostel is neat. All of staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kkalkkal
Bohemia_Central, Front Office Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review

Hi there~ Thank you very much. We had great time at bbq party. i wish we meet again. Enjoy your travel. Cheers ^^

Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a very nice place. The rooms were a tad cold however, and it was noisy at times. I was very grateful though. The owners were quite friendly and kind enough to let me stay when I was in a financial bind. They understood my situation and let me pay upon my leave when I had the cash. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BeaStings
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you think an authentic backpacker experience is to stay in a dodgy old hostel with questionable hygiene, BCC is the place for you! Redeeming features are free wifi, central location and friendly staff, but the rooms are unimpressive and noisy. Everything is worn out and nasty looking once you get past reception. With some renovations, a paint job and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank WanderingCara
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Hostel has been taken over recently and new owners are really turning what used to be a great hostel into a complete dump. Room was filthy on check in and despite requesting it to be cleaned we never seen a cleaner the whole time we were there. Customer service was even worse. It's a major shame cause this used to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank donegaljo
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#34 of 88 in Cairns
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.3 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.3 mi away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#2 of 14 in Cairns
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Njoy! Travellers Resort
Njoy! Travellers Resort
#12 of 88 in Cairns
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Bohemia Central

Address: 100 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bohemia Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“they are all the same unless u want a private room go for it”
 of 5 bubbles SHARWEXFORD, Feb 8, 2012 | Read review
“All rooms are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles pretty_mistake, Aug 30, 2011 | Read review
2 of 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question