We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

698 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 643: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Great hostel, nice people, very quiet and a beautiful place to stay, the staff is very nice and friendly, i recommend this place ! The best hostel in Cairns !! I would definitely come back in here !!!

Helpful?
Thank Remy N
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I wish I had found this hostel sooner! It has a super chilled vibe. Has every facility u need, even free tea and coffee. It has a very homely feel with lots of chill out spots and the staff are so friendly, especially Anna who kindly refunded my last night as I needed to check out early. She was so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Travelhappy8820
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Hi Happy Traveller , thanks for your review glad you enjoyed the vibe ,you allway know a good thing once you find it , see you again safe travels . More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved everything about this hostel, the location (bit further out so nice and peaceful), the price, the rooms EVERYTHING. Staff are incredible, so chatty and friendly, the rooms are split over many smaller buildings with walkways between them, so many comfy sofa's and places to chill out of the heat. Would come back 100%

Helpful?
Thank Peter M
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Hi Peter , many thanks for your review "best in Aus" big call but then again we try our best , as we are travellers our selves we just make our place how we would like it in the hope we attract travellers that are looking for a chilled out vibe. More 

Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hostel is very quiet and has a great flair. Cosy chill areas surrounded by palms. If you are looking for a place to relax this is the perfect one. The prices for a single room are cheaper than in any other hostel. Friendly and helpful staff. The shopping centre is literally across the street. Unfortunately there is no warderobe... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malwinchen001
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Hi many thanks for your review as we say on our Brochure ... Unique, Relaxed, Homely Atmosphere glad you enjoyed . More 

London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved it here! Although we are a young couple, we loved that this was not a party hostel and great for all ages and families! The Irish owner was just brilliant and kept us entertained with free movie nights and a BBQ ($12) where we tried kangaroo and crocodile. It's only on the weekend that he doesn't do any evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank SMITHV92
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Hi thank you so much for your review of Dreamtime glad to hear you enjoyed the social nights , there is always so much going on in Cairns at the weekends we encourage the guest to hit the town. The Free wifi in public areas is the fastest we can buy in Australia NBN unfortunately its not unlimited yet !... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 1 week, everything went well. All the staff is friendly,welcoming. We were in a room of three people, beds are comfortable, wc& shower are clean like the kitchen. A pleasant place where you should come!

Helpful?
1 Thank plaisirgourmands
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to review Dreamtime hostel good to know the staff where welcoming and you had a pleasant stay, safe travels . More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last year I gave Dreamtime just shy of a perfect score because of a small mix-up in rooms upon arrival. However my second stay here has been so wonderful I can't help but chalk that one up to a stroke of bad luck and give them the 5 stars they so deserve. Thanks you Dreamtime for being such a wonderful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Hi Thomas , second time thats great , glad you enjoyed the VW kombi . but who is Vivian? More 

Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely loved this hostel. Far away from the drunken party hostels in town. Chilled out hippie vibe. Great staff. Lots of showers and kitchens. Free movie nights with popcorn. Dorms where tidy, with an en suite bathroom. Close to the Green Ant where you can get 5 $ meals with a coupon from the hostel.

Helpful?
Thank Merel H
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Hi Merel, thanks for taking the time to leave a review of Dreamtime. glad to know you had a great time. More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 7 nights at dreamtime and loved everything about it. We had a private room with a fan, coin operated A/C and a fridge and it was great. The bed was comfortable, the fan worked great to keep the room cool, we didn't need to use the A/C at all. The fridge was great to keep everything cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank fife_4
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Hi , just want to say thanks for taking the time to review our hostel Dreamtime , we appreciate the feed back and the fact that you would recommend us, it means a lot . More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After spending 7+ months backpacking through Australia this has got to be my favorite hostel by a mile! With super clean and comfortable rooms you won't want to leave. There are plenty of facilities that you can use and it makes your stay more pleasant. Love this place !

Helpful?
Thank Dean H
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Hi Deam thanks for your review of Dreamtime, great to read we where your favourite hostel after 7 months travelling. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

166 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (101)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#4 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 877 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $21 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay