We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Rydges Plaza Cairns

Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rydges Plaza Cairns
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 363: English reviews
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After traveling from the gold coast i was tired but that paled in comparison with how tired the hotel is. Also i never saw more than 1 person on or around reception. I arrived and was keen to book in and get some work done. I had to wait whilst 2 guests in front of me had their inane requests... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe W
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Joe Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I apologise you found the check in/check out delayed. Being a smaller property we do run on a smaller staff which can prove challenging during busy periods. In regards to the pool unfortunately we had an incident where a small child had cut their foot in the pool so... More 

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived late. Given room on 8th floor. Absolutely freezing and couldn't seem to be able to turn down the AC. Family of four, one bed and a sofa which wasn't a sofa bed. Bathroom was like something out of the 70's, plastic fittings and fixtures and towels with all the hems ripped and hanging off. Typical of older tropical location... More 

Helpful?
Thank weesquaw
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Weesquaw I am disappointed to read this feedback when we have been working so hard to rectify previous issues raised. Your matter has been taken seriously and there will be action taken on all the above listed issues. Joel Day General Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed two nights in this hotel. On entering the seventh floor there was a damp mouldy smell and this continued into the rooms. The air con is way too cold and the controls gave no relief as I am unsure that the buttons actually did anything and it wasn't warm when turned to heating. The room was tired with broken... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie D
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Melanie, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn... More 

Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times, am a priority rewards member and have always had pleasant stays. In saying this the hotel was fully booked the next night so no late checkout and no free drinks as the bar was closed The bathrooms are still out dated but the beds are magnificent and I always enjoy a great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank intheknowuphere
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Inthekowuphere Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Joel Day General Manager More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in need of refurbishment. Its decor and facilities are tired and having the dining room unavailable without an alternative suggested was poor. Why not offer directions to one of your other Cairns hotels? The location is central and close to many activities and central attractions.

Helpful?
1 Thank Austripper2801
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Austripper2801 Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to say that Rydges Plaza Cairns is commencing a soft refurbishment in the coming months so you will see an improvement in our offerings. In regards to the restaurant we offer dinner service Wednesday through until Sunday. The beauty of our location is there is a vast amount of restaurants... More 

melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One of the problems with Cairns is the mould. You can't get away from it. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they get 5 stars, but the rooms need a desperate overall not just a paint job as does the restaurant. I suggest getting rid of the carpet completely and have polished boards to get rid of the smell.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank wisemary53
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Wisemary53 Thank you for your feedback. We do agree that mold is a constant battle in cairns however we are taking steps to combat it now that the weather has begun to clear. Nevertheless I will share your feedback with the team to help us brainstorm some more ideas. Joel Day General Manager More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have just checked in to Rydges Plaza and am disappointed with the cleanliness and general upkeep of the room. While the reception staff were pleasant and helpful, and my first impression of the hotel was good; this is a case of 'don't judge a book by its cover'. On opening the door to my room I could not look... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amicus1981
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Amicus1981 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this hotel because it was a Rydges and the price was good. The receptionist was very good. We were given a room on an upper floor and as soon as we got out of the elevator it smelt of mould and dank, our room was no different. I started to cough it was so bad. We went and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pauline T
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Pauline My sincerest apologies your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been. We are currently taking measure to refresh the property and hope to have this complete in the coming months. I hope you have an opportunity to experience a refreshed property in the not too distant future. Joel Day General Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and myself traveled to Cairns a week ago and after two failed attempts of accommodation around Cairns we happened to walk into Rydges Plaza to use the toilet. I then got talking to the receptionist, Shantel at the front desk. Her knowledge about Cairns and things to do here was absolutely helpful as both other hotel's we stayed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sarah4252016
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Sarah This type of experience is what we strive to provide for everyone of our guests and it is great for the staff to receive recognition for their efforts. Next time in Cairns you know where to stay first! Hope to see you again soon. Joel Day General Manager More 

Cairns
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

I chose this place because it was close to the train for us to walk to Central to go on the Savannahlander. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was clean, the bed was very good. I have no complaints about it. It is also close to places for people to have breakfast.

Helpful?
1 Thank codibeam
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear CodiBeam Thank you for the feedback form your recent stay and its great to hear you had a comfortable and enjoyable trip in Cairns. The staff are always happy to help and we look forward to welcoming you back when next in Cairns. Joel Day General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (108)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#14 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#7 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.1 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#56 of 68 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $98 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay