We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia
E-mail hotel
6 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Exclusive Member Rate
Expedia.com
$233
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$231
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/22
Traveluro
$193
View deal
Priceline$231
Travelocity$233
Hotels.com$233
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1735)
Room & Suite (839)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns
Updated 10/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 69 in Cairns
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
Experience the warmth of our genuine Australian hospitality at the Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns. We are the ideal destination for a stop-and-flop holiday while also making a perfect base for exploring the delights of Tropical North Queensland. We sit on Cairns' famous Marlin Marina providing guests with both a direct gateway to the Great Barrier Reef as well as the many tours that venture north to the Daintree Rainforest. Take a refreshing dip in our private swimming pool, gaze across Marlin Marina to the mountains on the far side of Trinity Inlet or linger in our waterside restaurant The Backyard to savour the flavours of the Far North. The hotel boasts 255 contemporary rooms and suites – with all boasting a private balcony or terrace -- as well as three restaurants and bars, a gym, tour desk, secure undercover parking and free wifi. We also put the safety and security of guests first with our Shangri-La Cares promise a commitment to ensuring your wellbeing while in our care. Please note - our swimming pool will be closed for maintenance from August 23 to September 6, 2021, with alternate arrangements available.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Car hire
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Arabic, Chinese and 11 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Exclusive Member Rate
3332Reviews57Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,523
  • 1,087
  • 448
  • 165
  • 109
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rob N wrote a review May 22
Queanbeyan, Australia151 contributions58 helpful votes
We booked this hotel after not being able to change the dates from our first booking and we were so glad we did! Celebrating our wedding anniversary, the hotel gave us a free upgrade to a Horizon Room, with a fabulous bathroom and a huge, comfortable bed. The room had a nice verandah but the view has been obstructed since the hotel was built by the growth of the trees out front. We had a fabulous stay and the staff were great. It would've been five stars but the music from the pub across the road on three of the six nights we stayed there kept us awake until they finished at midnight. Really needs double-glazing on the windows.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Salt Restaurant for a quiet night. Be prepared for a long walk down...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
jennifer1962_12 wrote a review May 21
Melbourne, Australia173 contributions60 helpful votes
could not fault the preparation nor the presentation of our freshly caught fish. reasonably priced and lovely surrounds. the reason why i didn't give it a five star rating was because we found staff a little to hasty to get our meal out and our pan fried fish came out before we had even finished the soup ( the raw fish it didn't matter) very enjoyable experience overall
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Paul Bond wrote a review May 21
Geelong, Australia1 contribution
The stay was quite dissapointing. Upon realisation the bed was broken, it took 3 conversations with reception to get some action, and fix didn't last. I ended up making a temporary support myself, no apology was offered on check out. The hotel is very dated in appearance and doesn't love up to the photos and price we paid
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
littlelenny wrote a review May 13
Sydney, Australia103 contributions83 helpful votes
First time in Cairns for my wifeand I.The Shangri La was lovely,we had a room overlooking the marina and can’t fault it.The staff were very professional and personable and breakfast was as good as we’ve had in a hotel/resort anywhere.We wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Cairns.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Likeaholiday wrote a review May 10
9 contributions13 helpful votes
Shangri-La The Marina is a lovely hotel in a great position......but it really needs a bit of a spruce up. I understand that the weather in Cairns makes it difficult to keep a place in tiptop condition but the pool area definitely needs some attention, as well as the roof over the outdoor area of the The Backyard. We were assigned a room on check in, but it had two queen beds instead of the king bed as stated on the booking. We asked to change rooms and were given the swipe card to a room that was already occupied! Not very good for a number of reasons, one being security. On a third attempt we were told we were given an upgrade, (to an executive marina view suite) but unless you know a hotel well one room starts to look like another. The room was very nice, with a great view over the marina, but the bathroom definitely needed some work done on it, with the shower being in the bath tub, access to which would be difficult for many. The Backyard is where the breakfast buffet is served. Breaky was fine but if you want a latte or cappuchino you have to pay extra. No one explained to any of the four of us that there was an egg station. A second toaster would be good ( maybe at the opposite end of the buffet to the first) and maybe guests should be reminded to not hover around the food, while chewing and talking to their friends.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from SLMC Marketing, Other at Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share those thoughts about your recent stay with us davidjindalee. We always appreciate receiving suggestions from our guests and I will certainly mention your thoughts about the second toaster to The Backyard team.
Read more
Dale H wrote a review May 9
Melbourne, Australia11 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked a deluxe king room with ocean view with breakfast. The room was tired, nice view but over the top of a pub / nightclub so if one wanted to sit outside it was extremely noisy with a lot of young drunks. Breakfast was very average and coffee machine was broken so if you wanted one you had to order at the bar and pay for it. I left a review on their website and the message I received was “we hope you will try us again” VERY DISAPPOINTED ! This trip has been postponed a year due to our grandson passing away and we were hoping it would have been a nice experience after the horrendous time we have been through, so sad it wasn’t
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from SLMC Marketing, Other at Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns
Responded 1 week ago
We appreciate your feedback daleh936 and we are sorry the experience didn't live up to your expectations. Regards, Sarah N Communications Manager
Read more
PeeTee56 wrote a review May 4
Melbourne, Australia57 contributions26 helpful votes
We arrived after 2.00pm to check in and were advised the room was not ready. we were not happy when they recommend we come back later to check in. Eventually a room was found for us. The room felt dated and not what I expected when I booked this hotel. This room leaked water from the rain that evening from the rain. Again not happy. I voiced my displeasure at this experience and suggested we get a better room when we return in a weeks time. This room felt brighter and mote modern even though it was smaller and was the standard that all rooms should be. I suggest you ask for one of the updated rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SLMC Marketing, Other at Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide that feedback PeeTee56, and I am sorry the experience didn't live up to your expectations. Best regards, Sarah N Communications Manager
Read more
Louise15052015 wrote a review May 3
Sydney, Australia13 contributions15 helpful votes
It would be hard to beat this lovely hotel in terms of position - on the marina, the set off point for many cruises - the rooms which were spacious with a relaxed nautical vibe, the view of the bay and the marina and the helpful, friendly staff. I did not try the restaurant as the hotel was a quick walk to the night markets and the many Cairns cafes and restaurants. I would happily stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from SLMC Marketing, Other at Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to share those words about your recent stay with us Louise. We loved your description of our "relaxed nautical vibe" and our helpful and friendly staff. We hope that you can escape north again as we would love to welcome you back to Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns. Best regards, Sarah Nicholson Communiactions Manager
Read more
339deb wrote a review May 2
Brisbane, Australia11 contributions2 helpful votes
They for got to give me the wine and fruit basket but it really didnt matter, the accommodation was really good. Have stayed there 3 times last year. Try to get a marina view room if you can. Breakfast was great.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from SLMC Marketing, Other at Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for the five-out-of-five rating 339deb, and those great words about your recent stay with us. We hope to see you back again for visit number five! Regards, Sarah Nicholson Communications Manager
Read more
Margaret B wrote a review Apr 2022
Atherton, Australia114 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
The Shangri- La in Cairns is supposed to be 5*. Check in was good. Without asking we were given and upgrade but I have to say the standard of the upgraded room was what I would have expected from such a hotel that charges $400.00 a night. Firstly make sure you check how far from the elevator you are. Our room was a loooooong way. Not good for hubby and his knees. Then we get there and the door handle was suss, the toilet roll holder kept falling off and the batteries in the remote were flat. There was one teaspoon and one knife and fork between 2. Then we went to breakfast. The coffee was like dishwater. You could get a barista coffee for an extra costs (remember the room was $400). I pointed out that their Facebook review said that we could ask. The supervisor said that the page didn’t say it was free and I pointed out that it say there was a charge. One would expect Barista coffee in 5 star. The breakfast variety was good but poorly laid out being boxed into one little space. The egg station was great and the man was lovely. I was shocked to see a grotty piece of paper and permanent marker sign on the coffee. Just not 5 star standards, sorry. The breakfast setting and location of the hotel was good. They did provide good toiletries and COVID safety.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from SLMC Marketing, Other at Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to share those thoughts about your recent stay with us 136margaretb. We apologise the experience didn't live up to expectations, and we will use your feedback to continue improving the service we offer our guests. Best regards, Sarah Nicholson Communications Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$196 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shangri-la hotel, the marina, cairns hotel cairns
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
255
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns
Which popular attractions are close to Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns?
Nearby attractions include Esplanade Boardwalk (0.2 miles), Cairns Esplanade Lagoon (0.2 miles), and Michaelmas Cay (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tha Fish, Waterbar & Grill Steakhouse, and Vitalia's Italian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Cairns.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Chinese, Portuguese, and Hindi.