We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 294: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Sheridan only one night, before catching an early flight out. The standout feature of our stay was definitely the friendly, helpful attention from each of the staff members we encountered. The room was spacious and the beds were good, and we did not experience any noise during the night. We chose the hotel because it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet W
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

I am a bit reluctant to thank you for your review because Cairns is a Paradise, as described by most visitors. To even suggest that any part of Cairns is 'Seedy' is suggesting that you must live in some Utopian place on this planet. How could anywhere be less seedy than Cairns? Do you even realise how offensive that comment... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice while travelling to cairns for work. Staff are always friendly and the beds are super comfy. Basically all I need! I will choose to stay here rather than one of the CBD hotels any day.

Helpful?
Thank clarkey1993
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, it is great to keep hearing how friendly our staff are and how welcome they make our guests feel. Hopefully I will be able to thank you personally on your next trip. More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The reception manager and staff are a credit to this hotel.As we had limited time in town before our early morning flight, they found out which shops would be open for a spot of Christmas shopping. The rooms were clean and my children enjoyed the use of the pool.

Helpful?
Thank PennyaBrisbane
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am glad you and your children enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The front desk clerk had to problem with my late check in, and were more friendly than what I'm accustomed to in the states. And it's about the closest hotel to the airport, while only a 30 minute stroll to the other side of the Esplanade Board walk where most of the reef tours start. I would have no problem... More 

Helpful?
Thank John1971NC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. They are greatly appreciated. More 

Poole, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night between a 4 day dive trip and flying out. The reception staff were super helpful at all times & were a real credit to the place. We were able to print our boarding passes at reception, check in early, get a free lift to the Botanical Gardens (we asked for a taxi and the Manager... More 

Helpful?
Thank swivellingmonk
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have cleaned up the pool area and getting new furniture as well. Thank you for pointing this out to us. More 

Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the outside we were not sure what to expect, but were greeted so nicely and the room was lovely. It had a separate bedroom and living room. The bathroom was quite large with a corner Jacuzzi-style tub and separate shower. Plus there was an additional bathroom with a toilet & sink. Everything was very clean and there always seemed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bella_Travel4Two
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you so much for your comments. More 

Jamieson, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the Cairns Sheridan late last month before catching a flight home the following day. It is apparent that the hotel was built to a reasonably high standard back in the 90's. The inlaid woodwork in the rooms and the overall finish indicate that few corners were cut when it was built. The problem is... More 

Helpful?
Thank russwbate
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your well presented review. You are correct in saying the hotel needs a touch up and we are constantly working on the rooms and facilities. We have recently changed much of the room furniture and looked at complete bathroom renovations. All of course come at a cost, quite a huge cost in fact. The conundrum... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2016

This is a three star hotel clearly. needs somebody to clean the place. The swimming pool area has beer bottles in the garden which had been there for such a long time, the area was dirty and the pool side furniture was drab and torn..the breakfast was just awful, egg swimming in water, bacon uncooked or just boiled (not sure)... More 

Helpful?
Thank mary1949
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Mary 1949. Let me firstly focus on the positives in your review. I realize from looking at your previous reviews this is not a trait you are familiar with, especially when dealing with staff. Your room was large and clean, and you had six great nights sleep. You were here for 6 nights and never mentioned a thing to anyone.... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2016

The Staff are outstanding, this place is run by a real down to earth family that put their heart and soul into the hotel. The rooms are nice and big and very clean. The palms restaurant that is onsite is very nice.

Helpful?
Thank travelboy2223
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind remarks. All our staff work very hard to impress our guests. More 

Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
337 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2016

Stayed here for our last few hours prior to a 3AM trip to the airport. Nice room. It was perfect for the stay. Clean and quiet despite being in an urban area. The staff were wonderful. Access to the airport great.

Helpful?
Thank Hal72
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
519 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 68 in Cairns
951 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.9 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cairns Sheridan Hotel (formerly Cairns Quality Inn) is the closest hotel to the Cairns International Airport and 3kms from the Cairns BDO, there a scheduled buses to and from downtown and most suburbs. Sightseeing tours can be booked to the Great Barrier Reef for snorkelling and diving, to the Atherton Tablelands, Kuranda to the Gulf and Cape of Carpentaria. It is two blocks from the Esplanade and scores of well known restaurants. WiFi is avail to all rooms and public areas, the Palms Restaurant is open to the public. There are 3 separate conference rooms that can cater for up to 150 persons, plus a large balcony overlooking the pool and garden. Ample parking is available in the grounds of the hotel. The Cairns Sheridan Hotel belongs to MTS, one of PNG's pioneer tourist companies which own the Madang Resort, Kalibobo Village, Kalibobo Spirit all in Madang, plus the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Minnie Street Cairns. All hotels have been consistent winners of the Trip Advisor Excellent Awards in recent years, including 2015. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Address: 295 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Cairns Quality Inn)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $79 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Sheridan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cairns Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Quality Hotel Cairns
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairns
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cairns Sheridan Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
South Bend, Indiana
3 months ago
New York, NY

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cairns Sheridan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“hard to say as there was major services on three sides of the hotel, but i suppose the rear of the Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles mary1949, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on west do get afternoon sun. We were on the 5th floor and noise was not a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles 687PamP, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“Better to get a room not facing mainroad”
 of 5 bubbles Nihonihoohura, Aug 30, 2016 | Read review
“Clarify Internet data allowance before you book - hotel has low daily data allowances. 5th floor room had partial sea/mountain views.”
  • Room 507
  • Room 507
  • Room 507
  • Room 507
 of 5 bubbles PattayaRegular, Jul 31, 2016 | Read review
“free self parking”
 of 5 bubbles hkers2016, Jul 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay