We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
131 -141 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Save 10% promo THECROWD
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com$329
Destinia.com$323
Traveluro
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (868)
Room & Suite (293)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crystalbrook Riley
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 69 in Cairns
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.4
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Crystalbrook Riley is a sophisticated character with a playful outlook on life. Guests can expect understated elegance, contemporary design and a splash of fun. At Crystalbrook Riley, we enjoy modern living through attitude, design, technology and a passion for a better world – or what we call #responsibleluxury. That means no plastic straws, water bottles or guest-room key cards, using technology to reduce paper, providing large-pump amenities bottles (saving more than 250,000 plastic bottles each year) and partnering with Citizens of the Great Barrier Reef, TerraCycle, OzHarvest and Containers for Change. Residing in a prime location on Cairns Esplanade, Crystalbrook Riley features 311 stylish rooms and suites. Each room features its own Apple iPad control centre complete with healthy-living apps, a 55-inch Smart TV, Staycast by Google for video streaming and access to an extensive range of complimentary recent release movies. Add to this a lagoon swimming pool spanning over 1,000 square metres with a private man-made beach, Eléme Day Spa, a 24-hour fitness centre and fast and free wifi, and you’re on your way to a truly great stay. When it comes to restaurants and bars, Crystalbrook Riley thinks differently. You’ll find engaging, social, vibrant spaces and a passion for innovation – all day, every day. Pop into Greenfields for a freshly made cold-pressed juice or head to the theatrical Paper Crane for wok-fried seafood or the perfect steak. For sweeping views and an atmosphere not to be missed, head to Rocco. Perfect for balmy nights, Rocco is perched 42 metres above sea level and offers share style food inspired by the Mediterranean along with a stellar Champagne menu, second to none. The property is an easy five-minute water-front stroll from the shopping, entertainment and business centre of Cairns.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Free public parking nearby
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bathrobes
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Radio
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Hotel links
Special Price:Save 10% promo THECROWD
716Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 481
  • 113
  • 58
  • 30
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
25ian wrote a review Jun 17
Melbourne, Australia58 contributions66 helpful votes
I read some of the negative reviews about this place so maybe I went with lower expectations, but I found it hard to fault. The hotel is well located on the Esplanade on the water and about 100m from the restaurants on bars. Most of the rooms would have at least a partial sea view. The pools are without doubt the best hotel pools in Cairns from what I could see. There aren't enough sun lounges around the pool, but there is plenty of common areas around the pool deck to relax including a bars/cafes. Roccos bar at the top of the tower probably has the best views on any bar in Cairns. The rooms were modern, well maintained and with all the facilities. Check in/out and service was fine. The only criticism I have is that my wife loves the warm water, being winter this means we need heated pools, after ringing around hotels to check, I was assured that the pools at this place were heated in the winter, I rang them twice to double check... they weren't heated, (or if they were, it was on low), which was disappointing, having said that, there was a large warm hot tub, and the weather was good for June, so it wasn't too bad. All is all, I would definitely stay here again when it Cairns.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Evy P wrote a review Nov 2020
Gold Coast, Australia46 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
What a wonderful stay! We made a very last minute change of holiday destination thanks to covid restrictions preventing us going to Adelaide and lucky for us we ended up here. This is a fabulous hotel, there is so much we loved about it, from the minute we arrived weary, late at night and were greeted by two friendly and super helpful ladies, we were happy. The hotel is luxurious and elegant but with a relaxed coastal vibe throughout. Lots of beautiful spaces inside the foyer and other indoor and outdoor spaces to lounge around very comfortably. The pool area is fabulous and usually has poolside service. Meals and drinks were reasonably priced, so we often ate right there on a sun lounge, instead of venturing out. We used the complimentary bikes to ride to the Botanical Gardens Cafe for breakfast (that's another story, coffees were good but breakfast was terrible), nonetheless it was a really fun outting and great that they don't charge for things like this. Free Sat am yoga, free water daily, too. Highly recommend the Rocco Bar on the 12th floor, it was fabulous, wonderful views, extensive drinks list and great prices at happy hour. ($12 cocktails, choice of 3). Great location on The Esplanade, great for walking to everything and close to playgrounds and the lagoon. We have loved everything about our stay and will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled
7 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from James Mackintosh, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded Jun 16, 2021
Hi Evy P, Thanks for your feedback and great to read you had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you back soon! Regards, James Mackintosh Front Office Manager - Crystalbrook Riley
Read more
OZKOPITE wrote a review Jun 16
11 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
On paying nearly $370 per night we were sent a CRYSTALBROOK APP which wasted 15 minutes of my life before I deleted it. Check in was very slow (30 minutes) as reception understaffed ... had prepaid but they then debited my credit card $101 for possible incidentals. Asked where the carpark was and they said it was an EXTRA $12 PER NIGHT .... this is Cairns not SYDNEY. Parking on the street was difficult due to the IRONMAN comp on that weekend . The website shows the tower but for $370+ per night you stay in the low rise white building. Up to the room and opened with wooden token but where is the light switch as the passageway to the room is dark ... the switch is small round buttons so had to use my phone to see how to switch the lights on... again technology defeating its self. Room is a double bed and a bathroom with only one chair (for 2 people) to watch tv . The other chair is for working on the desk. Putting clothes in cupboards ... spring latches not working so have to pull open from the bottom (see photo) the fridge door was loose on its hinges and had to lifted to close. The view was over a tin roof which had children's dummies; bottle tops and what looked like a nappy on it .. obviously dropped from above. .The nappy was there for the 2 days we stayed.(SEE PHOTOS) Bedside lights ... again useless technology .. turn the lights on with the switch on the cord .. nothing ... check its plugged in .. yes ... but you have to press the little round button marked "reading" to get it to work ....WHY? The lights in the bathroom are no better than candles.. Check out is at 11am ... we checked out at 10am and told reception we would be back for the luggage (left in the room) some 2 and a half hours later. On our return it could not be found ... 20 minutes later after someone went to the room it arrived. During our stay it was impossible to get a seat next to the pool ... all reserved with towels and also some locals walking in and using the seats. THIS IS NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL BUT THE PRICES ARE. NEVER AGAIN. WILL GO TO THE PULLMAN.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
matilda wrote a review Jun 13
Cairns, Australia35 contributions6 helpful votes
Rooms are great, pool is cold, bar service slow. Front desk service appalling from manager Kirsty. We had no water in our room and Kirsty refused to send some through room service. I had explained we had no reusable water bottles, which can only be filled at certain locations around the hotel. I had to get dressed and go to reception and there was no apology! This is supposed to be a high end hotel. Pullman is far more superior! Train your front desk managers in customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Tedmargot wrote a review Jun 4
Perth, Australia22 contributions13 helpful votes
Had a suite at 800 a night but forget anything else. Pay for everything including parking breakfast and even look after your own luggage. This is not a 6 stay experience. If you are after a nice room this place might be for you but everything else on too expensive and poor service. Poor experience at the Italian restaurant as well. It’s no wonder Australia struggled when touris gets competitive.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Don’t expect anything other than a room. Don’t go to Rocco’s loud music poor service. Pool...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 1 week ago
We appreciate your feedback Tedmargot, I am sorry that on this occasion the service provided did not match the quality of the room and facilities. We do offer rates that include breakfast, our secure basement parking is $12 per day, however there is also free street parking in front of the hotel. I am sorry if this was not communicated. I hope that you choose to stay with us again so we can create a better impression of the the resort. Kind Regards,
Read more
Nina wrote a review Jun 1
McLaren Vale, Australia1 contribution
This resort has many positives - layout is great, rooms are comfortable and views are superb. However a number of flaws impacted on our overall experience. The pool looks fantastic and is certainly a key feature, however it was way too cold to swim in. The hotel was at 100% capacity and each day every sun bed and seats were full but no one was in the pool. We mentioned this to staff and management several times however responses were vague, unsatisfactory and during a week nothing changed. This significantly impacted on our experience - coming from a cold climate, naturally swimming in a pool in a tropical resort is expected and wanted. Staff numbers are down so wait times for general requests were long. Having said that all staff were pleasant and are working hard. A few other issues also resulted in detracting from our overall experience. On checkout we did receive a small financial compensation for these problems but my preference is not to experience these problems at all. In summary it is not quite 5 star yet the prices are. I hope they can raise the standard as the place is worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 1 week ago
We appreciate the feedback Amongst_the_Vines. I can confirm that with the official start of winter we now have the pool heating on. I am sorry that you were unable to take full advantage of the facilities. Our pool really is a great feature. With our winter temperatures only now dropping into the mid to high 20 degree range it would still be considered warm for a lot of the country. Thank you for acknowledging the staff and their efforts despite not always having the answers. I agree, no issues is our ultimate objective as well. I hope that you do choose to sty with us again and we are able to achieve this. Kind Regards,
Read more
Connector393769 wrote a review Jun 1
1 contribution3 helpful votes
The service is an absolute show!! Appalling. It’s meant to be five star but we’ve had better service at a two star motel, no word of a lie. We arrived - lined up at reception for an hour and 20 minutes to receive key. We were meant to receive housekeeping daily, this only occurred -ONCE- in six days and only because I insisted!! This one time occurrence of housekeeping was at 10:30PM at night we had to get out of bed so they could do the housekeeping. I Took my rubbish down on a daily basis. And asked for pool towels so we could have clean towels in the room. I brought toilet paper from the supermarket. I did call room service and reception throughout the six day period, I was told that they would sort it out and call me back, that call back never happened on several occasions. Honestly the room was smelly- The hallways to get to your room was smelly they were room trays people put out we walked past them three days in a row the same ones that have been sitting there. Also when trying to order room service we were waiting over two hours for a drinks and food. My partner called reception to pre-order a taxi the night before that taxi never came in the morning and the lady forgot to book. We arrived on Friday and got our arrival wine Sunday night after calling 4 times. They made us feel really bad for asking. We were saying on level two and there was a fire alarm went off, all the white safety fire doors in the hallway shut. They designed obviously to keep the fire in the one section so it doesn’t spread but I was just about to get on the lift so I was stuck I had a fire safety door either side of me. And it’s common sense that you don’t use a Left when the fire alarm goes off but I had no choice honestly it was really scary. Obviously I was the first person from level 2 to arrive down at reception I was surprised to see none of the team members were aware of the alarm going off on level 2. Manager was tracked down once I’ve passed the message on. The whole situation was handled very inappropriately. I’ll try and finish on a high note - the breakfast was the highlight of our stay in cairns. Still waiting for a refund almost six weeks later. They can’t even efficiently refund you. Absolute joke!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 1 week ago
We are sorry to hear you had a negative experience an appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We do take your comments seriously as it is our goal to ensure all guests receive an outstanding experience, and regret we missed the mark over this busy Easter period. We have taken steps to ensure that your experience is not repeated. I have sent you an email in addition to this response regarding your refund. If you have any further queries about this please do not hesitate to contact me directly on the address provided in my sent email. Kind Regards,
Read more
PM wrote a review May 2022
Maroochydore, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
Staying here now. It’s ten pm. I’ve tried ordering room service or at least a couple of drinks. Zero response at reception or room service. For a “five star” hotel pretty poor. Wouldn’t stay here again. Staff have been otherwise efficient and facilities are good. No mini bar. Crazy
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Don’t book here if you want a five star hotel.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 2 weeks ago
I am sorry that we have not met your expectations on this stay. We serve room service daily until 9pm everyday. I am sorry that this was not communicated. I will look into why there was no response from the Front Desk. I am glad that you did enjoy the facilities and that the staff were good overall. I hope that you choose to return and give us the opportunity to create a better impression of the resort.
Read more
Elisha D wrote a review May 2022
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
Such a shame! This place has potential but service and attention to detail are seriously lacking. Pros: New, modern finishes throughout with beautiful decor Comfortable bedding Amazing water pressure in shower (although dangerously hot for children) Good cocktails at Rocco’s. Cons: No attention to detail. Dirty shared areas ie. couches, pool areas etc Disgusting food - everything is frozen / pre-prepared and overpriced for what it is. Who serves frozen calamari by the ocean?! This was for paper crane / pool. Breakfast was even worse. Just yuck. Average drinks from the pool area Slow service- when you can get it. Staff also seem to avoid you when trying to get service around the pool and just tell you to use the app to order as they can’t take your order. Surcharges apply on the app so you effectively pay more to self serve. Cannot pay with cash. Yet you have to pay a credit card fee even though you don’t want to pay by credit card. There is an iPad for room service, radio etc in the room that didn’t work the whole time we were there. They offered a cot for our baby yet never provided it. Air conditioning is centrally controlled. Our room got to 25degrees one night and woke the whole family up because it malfunctioned. Didn’t happen again but wtf…? Like I said, such a shame. Things are already looking dirty, messy and chaotic. Food is canteen quality and staff don’t want to be there. If they brought in a good general manager and head chef, retrained staff and made some internal service policy changes there is hope. But they better hurry.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi 588elishad, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay with us. It is always our goal to create positive guest experiences and unfortunately it is clear that we have let you down on this occasion. I assure you that this will be shared with all relevant departments to be addressed and every effort will be made to use this to improve our offerings. Kind Regards,
Read more
Catherine A wrote a review May 2022
Ko Samui, Thailand51 contributions20 helpful votes
Wow ! Service was terrible in the end we walked out ! I think none of the staff new what they were doing drinks and food were going every where except the correct tables .drinks took forever to get to tables .I would think twice in going again .need to train staff harder .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Catherinea735, I am sorry to hear that you have had such a poor experience. I am unsure on which restaurant you were dining in for us to follow up with. I would appreciate it if you could provide additional information to help us address these service issues. If you wish to do so please email curators.riley@crystalbrookcollection.com. Kind Regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$206 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
311
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crystalbrook Riley
Which popular attractions are close to Crystalbrook Riley?
Nearby attractions include Muddy's Playground (0.07 miles), Cairns Aquarium (0.2 miles), and Michaelmas Cay (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crystalbrook Riley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Crystalbrook Riley?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Crystalbrook Riley?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Crystalbrook Riley?
Yes, free public parking nearby, a parking garage, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crystalbrook Riley?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gelocchio, Devine Gelato, and Dundee's at the Cairns Aquarium.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crystalbrook Riley?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Crystalbrook Riley located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Cairns.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crystalbrook Riley?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crystalbrook Riley offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Crystalbrook Riley have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.