We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
191 McLeod Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Special Price
10% off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

The apartments are ok. Good price but far (30min by walk to the centre and no busses running there so better take a taxi). Anyway I WILL NEVER EVER GO BACK here with my family because of the receptionist. He (Wayne?) was very rude, never willing to help. Basically an idiot. I asked him to check our bedroom at 7:15am... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blanca F
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Serious?, So Unfair!!, Christmas Day, So you are saying you had a great time, great rooms but one incident unknown to me you give us a bad review for?? I'm sorry you did not read our in-room compendium or look at our opening times displayed prominently on our office door (8am daily, for over 5 years now) and wake me... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

Myself and 2 friends stayed here for a week. Apartments were clean, and spacious. Modern decor and had all the facilities we could need. Good size pool with nice shaded areas to have a BBQ. The area is very quiet and walking distance to supermarket, bottle shop, take away and pubs and restaurants. We booked all our tours through reception... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hoody30
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback, we are glad you had a great time and our facilities met your needs and we catered for your tour bookings perfectly and quickly to suit the weather conditions. Be glad to see you back one day, just watch your email for our specials we send out a few times per year, if not signed... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

The apartment was very clean and comfortable. Very close to public transport and some restaurants and a small supermarket. Excellent spot if you are chasing value for money. Will return again next year.

Helpful?
Thank Jason M
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We have what appears new restaurants and take away stores, many of them opening up in the near future just across the road to add to the already few we have over the road making things easier for all our guests. Just watch your email for super... More 

Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

From checkin to checkout everything was great. The owners/staff are super friendly and very helpful. The unit was clean and has all you need to be able to live away from home for a few days without it costing an arm and a leg. Would definitely return here for a break again. My daughters, mother and I travelled up from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

It was great having you here, glad we could assist you in every way possible. We are ready to answer any questions you have as not being locals you would not be very familiar with the areas and what Is around. We are improving the place all the time with little things here and there that make guest's life easier,... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

We had 5 staying in the 2 bed apartment & there was enough room for all. Great value considering that the apartment had good functioning appliances, enough kitchen utensils, a great pool & very clean BBQ area. We heard no noise from other apartments & the street noise isn't loud. It is apparent that the apartments & grounds are well... More 

Helpful?
Thank roscoeg65
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your great compliments, it was a pleasure having you here. Our staff and I work very hard in keeping the yards and gardens clean every day with someone in to clean the yard before people wake up every morning so people wake up to a nice clean complex. It is definitely quieter on the fringe of the city... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile

We were struggling to find any vacancies in Cairns during the school holidays and this place was one of few that had any vacancy during this busy time in Cairns. We arrived at this accommodation not expecting much given the tarriff for two bedrooms. We were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness of the place. Although the furniture was dated, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank AustTrail
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback, I do get a bit flustered when busy and people waiting in line and only have time to explain the essentials like gate operation. We are budget accommodation but with above average rooms that we have been slowly refurbishing over the last few years and constantly improving our facilities and apartments all the time and... More 

Gottingen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

Nice appartments close to the town center of Cairns. Washing maschine and dryer include made it an ideal accomocation for us before moving on to other places in Australia. Kids enjoyed the pool a lot. All clean and well maintained.

Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerXXXX261
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback, we are glad you and your family enjoyed the apartments and facilities. Washing machine and dryer are a great bonus for a lot of people as you don't have to pay extra to do your washing elsewhere or leave it in common area machines risking it be stolen or damaged. Hope to see you again... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

Thanks Wayne for the lovely apartment. It was nice and good value. Everything we needed was in the apartment. Management and staff were excellent. We highly recommend this for anyone requiring a stay in Cairns. Lee, Mark and Megan.

Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie R
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you here. We try and keep prices low for everyone to cater for people on budgets and give excellent apartments for the price. More 

Lautoka, Fiji
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

My family stays in Cairns for about 5-6 months per year, altogether. I have avoided this place before due to its size but I found out that I was seriously mistaken. It looks big but feels very private. No noise if you live away from the pool. Rooms are very clean and equipped with all necessities. Weekly maintenance is included... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank john o
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, many people think the opposite, think the place is a lot smaller than it is as they don't realise there are 2 more blocks of apartments at the rear further back. Privacy is good here yes, no apartments facing close into other ones like at some hotels. Sometimes during school holidays the pool area can get... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were excellent and packed with all things needed, meaning not just a few items in the kitchen but it had everything and a lot of it! Enough crockery and cutlery saving you washing up every time you had a cuppa or used a spoon. A washing machine and dryer AND very comfy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, we are glad all our hard work is recognised like new beds recently, plenty of cutlery and utensils where I have been told I have gone over board with numbers but you cant have too many and different people like different types of utensils so we try and cater for everybody's needs. Glad you liked... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#9 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#8 of 67 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
1.4 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay