We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Global Backpackers Waterfront

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Global Backpackers Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'll start off by saying yes it very basic but that's fine. The prices are very fair and I had an enjoyable experience. A very nice lady checked me in called Sally and was very helpful. I had 2 problems while staying at the hostel nothing to do with the hostel them selfs though, but Sally helped both times and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie F
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there Charlie F. Many thanks for your review. Extremely happy that you enjoyed you stay with us at Global Waterfront. We strive to provide top notch customer service so always very pleasing to hear that we are achieving this. Sally is stoked that you have bothered to mention her by name. Please be sure and visit us again if... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There is nothing special or nice about this hostel. The set up feels like a prison block, which is not warm or welcoming at all. The people and staff are no better. The mattresses are hardly thicker than yoga mats and mine had springs poking out of it. Power outlets are in very short supply, so make sure your phone... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a very pleasant stay for me. The staff made sure I was happy and explained everything to me. They gave you a $9 voucher which really help if you are on a budget. I love the music blasting during the day time. The room are spacious, beds are uncomfortable which I let manager know on my way out.... More 

Helpful?
Thank cryssoue
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there cyrssoue, Happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us, sounds like you also benefitted from our $9 meal and drink deal. Always good to hear that our staff are doing a good job and that were able to enjoy your trips around the place due to the travel staff. We do have new mattresses in storage... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cheap accommodation, ideally located on the esplanade in Cairns. Rooms are not very clean and there is only small lockers to store valuables. Some staff are really helpful and you can leave things in the office if you go out for the day free of charge. I wouldn't necessarily stay there again but it is good if you are on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucia W
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Lucia W. Happy to see that you enjoyed our cheap hostel, friendly staff, free luggage storage and of course our 5 star location. We always take any negative comments very seriously and will continue to try to improve our product in all areas. Hoping you enjoy the rest of your travels More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night before leaving to come home. This was purely because Gilligans was fully booked. Friendly staff. Clean -ish rooms. Bathrooms could have been better, the shower ran hot water for about 5 minutes, if that. Rooms are very small and I stayed in a 6 bed dorm. No windows. Air con didn't work. But because... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aimiex
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi There Aimiex, Thanks for your review, glad we were able to help you if only for one night. I noticed that you actually stayed last October, we have had a new management team since Jan 2016 and have been continually striving to improve our product including all the areas that you pinpointed. Would love you to give us another... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

This hostel is grim. While the staff are friendly and polite they really need to up their hygiene routine. Bathrooms are awful, rarely cleaned, hair everywhere, toilet paper on the floor (also really nasty, cheap toilet roll that splits easily) The beds are worn out and uncomfortable. Your given a pillow on check in, might as well have given you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma H
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Emma H Thank you for the review re your stay at Global Waterfront. We are sorry that you didn't appear to enjoy your stay with us. I read your comments regarding our cleanliness and I have to tell that that all of our common areas....kitchens, showers and toilets, TV lounge are cleaned 3 times every day and we take... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights the room was clean and the air con was free!! The bed was comfy! The reception staff we really friendly and made you feel very welcome! You also got a meal voucher for a local pub every night you stayed!bThe only let down was you had to pay for wifi!

Helpful?
Thank jhar1993
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there jhar1993 Many thanks for your review. Really pleased you enjoyed our clean, comfy, friendly hostel. Sounds like you had a good time with the discounted food and beers also. Hoping you enjoy the remainder of your time in Oz, please be sure to come and visit if you are ever back this way. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

This is located right in front of the lagoon/ Park area in the heart of Cairns. Short walk to anywhere worth going. Staff were friendly and helpful with any questions that we had. At the time i stayed they had a promotion where you can stay 4 nights for the price of 3 making it very cheap. Good vibe in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jake A
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there Jake A Thank you for taking the time to tell us that you enjoyed your stay at Global Waterfront. Pleased you were able to take advantage of our Pay 3 Stay 4 special. Hoping you enjoy the remainder of your time is Australia and if you come back to Cairns please be sure to come back to Global... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016 via mobile

This lady at the front desk, scammed us of the trip to Nossa brush camp, don't fall for it. As it is a hoax and not worth doing at all. Waste of pure money and time. Don't book anything with this hostel. And don't fall for them so call "vouchers", not worth getting.

Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Patricia S Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the experience you had with the travel desk in our building. Firstly I should tell you that the desk is run by an independent agency and therefore we have very little control over what is sold there. Having said that obviously your complaint has stemmed from... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and me were there for 4 nights. The rooms are under the average and the toilets dirty but its ok for the money you pay for it. Most of the staff are super friendly. The only and quite big problem we had was our last morning. The staff cleaned the fridges the night before we left. As we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luciano C
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Luciano Many thanks for your comments, not quite sure what you may comparing our average rooms and dirty toilets against. Whilst we have a very old building, (in a 5 star location) please don't confuse old with dirty. You very kindly mentioned our friendly staff and I can assure you that as much care is taken with cleanliness as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Global Backpackers Central
0.1 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#60 of 87 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#5 of 87 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Waterfront

Address: 67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $16 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Waterfront 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Global Backpackers Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay