We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 141: English reviews
Start your review of Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Service: + Location: -/+ Price: -/+ Single room: + Dorms:-/+ Cleanliness: + Wifi: + This hostel is all kitsch and vintage. I don't know why people complain about the staff. They are really nice and keen to help you. A/C it's turned on by staff and works fine, but it's a little bit annoying you can't control it yourself. Location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soraia a
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Peaceful and lovely place. Perfect hostel if you are working in Brisbane area. Clean kitchen and good lounge areas in- and outside. You'll find wonderful people here. However our room smelled old and bad even though the window was open all day. WiFi didn't work in the room for days. Big minus is all those strict rules. Prohibition signs were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dickhammer
Reviewed December 25, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a quad family room. Very clean, tidy and quiet, good location close to Caxton St and a 15 minute walk to Roma St transit centre! Air conditioned with a pool and free wifi. Suitable for families.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nick s
Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed December 25, 2016

Decent hostel for a shorter visit to Brisbane. If you, like us, are just in town for a short while and need the get to and from Roma station the location is pretty good. The transport hub is a 10-15 minutes walk away. The hostel is situated in a residential area so there is really nothing to do or see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rese r
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed December 19, 2016

This backpackers is in an excellent location, with the grocery store, and pubs just around the corner, and the Roma St transit station a short walk away. The house is a charming timber house, with a small pool at the back. The entire place is cleaned daily, and thoroughly. There are good facilities - two lounge areas, a smoking area,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SPA01
Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile

Very good small hostel, it was clean and old school which I like. There were a couple of things which I didn't like, there was no lock for the bathroom upstairs so everybody could walk in, while you're showering. It felt like you're being watched by the staff, like they were constantly checking on you. You are only allowed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celine F
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 29, 2016 via mobile

Only stayed here for one night in a twin room. Not to bad if I am honest fairly small and cozy place. For me did not seem like much of an atmosphere but then again I only stayed the o e night. The room was nice a little small but had what I need for my length of stay. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robbieh359
bishop stortford
Reviewed November 29, 2016

Decent backpacker close to Roma sreet bus and train station bout 15mins into cbd and so not to far from bot gdns river etc.Only had one night so cant comment too much on atmosphere,kitchen was quite small and bathrooms a bit dated but ok,air con in room was poor though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian h
Braunschweig, Germany
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

This place is definetly quite different, if you stayed in a big hostel like the YHA just before that. I felt it was a very familar feeling. I've stayed here over christmas and really enjoyed the the time with the other people staying as well as the staff. It was clean amd quiet at night, however the wifi wasnt really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lionheart92
Aussie-Way, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay. The residential area we live in has issues with internet connection which is why the Wifi is free. As for the kitchen this is a heritage building so there are limitations on renovating or changing the kitchen. It was a pleasure to have you stay here. Safe trips and...

Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile

From reception to the room. Terrible. Kitchen closes at 9pm, no tv in main common room after 10pm, no alcohol allowed. Showers were bad the shower heads are so bad I'd rather bathe in the Brisbane river. The floor boards upstairs vibrate every move made. NO SLEEP to be had here. 'Staff?!' If that's what they were - RUDE! The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shane W
Aussie-Way, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Shane, Kitchen closes at 9PM: Because of the Fire Brigade Regulation. No TV in main common room after 10PM: Because our guests have to sleep, although we have another entertainment room with a bigger screen TV next to the office, that is open all night, as a big sign states. No alcohol allowed: This is advertised on our website,...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#9 of 133 in Brisbane
548 reviews
1.3 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#26 of 133 in Brisbane
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banana Bender Backpackers
Banana Bender Backpackers
#56 of 133 in Brisbane
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Some Rooms Backpacker
Some Rooms Backpacker
#104 of 133 in Brisbane
7 reviews
1.0 mi away
Base Brisbane Embassy
Base Brisbane Embassy
#105 of 133 in Brisbane
117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kookaburra Inn
Kookaburra Inn
#5 of 133 in Brisbane
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This heritage-listed, colonial home was built circa 1872 and offers a charming and quiet place for backpackers and travellers to stay away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to be convenient. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel

Address: 34 Cricket St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: $18 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I know who Lukes father is.”
 of 5 bubbles dickhammer, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Good wifi, Comfortable Beds”
 of 5 bubbles 452sebastiank, Jan 18, 2016 | Read review
“Go upstairs as some of the guests can be loud in the morning, but you lose that 1 bar of WiFi in the corner of the room downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles damienl703, Aug 21, 2015 | Read review
“If you use the pool in the morning you'll often have it to yourself. They also have a girls only dorm. Just ask.”
 of 5 bubbles Jsmithmel, Jan 31, 2015 | Read review
“If you're a girl and there's room in the female dorm (dorm 8) then ask to be put in it. If you have any major downloading to do at the hostel wait until night time when no one is using it.”
 of 5 bubbles EnglishBoo, Jan 23, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question