We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Banyan View Lodge

    119 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    06/04/2017 06/05/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveler (12)
          Pool & Beach (5)
          Room & Suite (5)
          Dingo Moon Lodge
          128 reviews
          #30 of 48 Specialty lodging in Darwin
           
          Youth Shack Backpackers
          280 reviews
          #32 of 48 Specialty lodging in Darwin
           
          Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
          336 reviews
          #35 of 48 Specialty lodging in Darwin
           
          Down Under Hostels
          13 reviews
          #25 of 48 Specialty lodging in Darwin
           
          Overview
          • Excellent8%
          • Very good23%
          • Average30%
          • Poor17%
          • Terrible19%
          Sep 10, 2015
          “Basic, clean, well-managed hostel”
          Aug 26, 2015
          “Good place but terrible and unpleasant manager behaviour”
          Free Parking
          Air Conditioning
          Pool
          Non-Smoking Hotel
          Spa
          Self-Serve Laundry
          Shuttle Bus Service
          Breakfast included
          3.0 Star Hotel
          All hotel details
          {"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
          Dingo Moon Lodge
          128 reviews
          #30 of 48 Specialty lodging in Darwin
           
          Youth Shack Backpackers
          280 reviews
          #32 of 48 Specialty lodging in Darwin
           
          Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
          336 reviews
          #35 of 48 Specialty lodging in Darwin
           
          Down Under Hostels
          13 reviews
          #25 of 48 Specialty lodging in Darwin
           
          Write a Review
          Reviews (134)
          Traveler rating
          Traveler type
          Time of year
          Language
          • More languages

          1 - 5 of 134 reviews

          Reviewed September 10, 2015

          This was a functional, basic, budget place for a one night stop over. The room was OK, clean, good air-conditioner. Decor could do with a freshen up. The kitchen looked clean and well-equipped, There's no wi-fi - you can get internet access free on two...More

          1  Thank 38sally
          Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge

          Thank you for your feed back. Banyan View Lodge was built over 40 years ago, while we cannot do much about the aesthetics of the bathrooms, we can certainly try to improve on the internal décor. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

          Reviewed August 26, 2015

          Despite is a good place to stay in Darwin, the House Supervisor is a person difficult to deal with. Tanya Hawkins was so rude with us. She sadly ignores what hospitality and client service means...:'(More

          6  Thank atpc_calcetines
          Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge

          Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a bad customer service experience while you stayed at Banyan View Lodge. We would have liked the opportunity to address your concerns while you were in house. If you choose to stay with us...More

          Reviewed August 24, 2015

          Coming from a party hostel this was refreshing, staff were nice, facilities were average, I really liked the 3 bed dorm it was clean and quiet, bad points that are EASILY fixed by management, $20 for a plate deposit is rediculous 4 of us wanted...More

          Thank jon a
          Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge

          It is great to get your feedback. We understand your concerns regarding the refundable deposit of $20 per crockery pack. In actual fact, there is no charge for the crockery and cutlery pack. We found previously that our crockery and cutlery must have been very...More

          Reviewed August 11, 2015

          This place would be the worst place I've ever stayed in.Had a terrible vibe to the place.I was a solo traveller and the place did not make me feel comfortable.The TV room stank of cigarette smoke.I occasionally smelt cannabis around the place as the other...More

          2  Thank Guy J
          Reviewed July 6, 2015

          It is a short walk to the CBD, a bike hire place and the esplanade. There is a pleasant outdoor area at the back.The room was very basic and drab ($90 double with shared bathroom), street noise, and the small fridge leaked. A set of...More

          2  Thank Quercuslocator
          Dingo Moon Lodge
          128 reviews
          #30 of 48 Specialty lodging in Darwin
           
          Youth Shack Backpackers
          280 reviews
          #32 of 48 Specialty lodging in Darwin
           
          Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
          336 reviews
          #35 of 48 Specialty lodging in Darwin
           
          Down Under Hostels
          13 reviews
          #25 of 48 Specialty lodging in Darwin
           
          About
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Pool
          • Free Parking
          • Spa
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Shuttle Bus Service
          • Free Parking
          • Self-Serve Laundry
          • Room amenities
          • Air Conditioning
          • Refrigerator in room
          • Things to do
          • Pool
          • Spa
          Details
          • Price range
          • $17 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Hotel class
          • Room types
          • Non-Smoking Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 43
          • Location
          • Australia >
          • Northern Territory >
          • Top End >
          • Darwin
          • Also Known As
          • Banyan View Hotel Darwin
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveler (12)
          Pool & Beach (5)
          Room & Suite (5)
          Hotel & Grounds (9)
          Bathroom (2)
          Nearby
          Sponsored by:
          Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin
          122 reviews
          .21 miles away
           
          DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
          1,128 reviews
          .17 miles away
           
          H105 Mitchell Hotel
          30 reviews
          .12 miles away
           
          DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
          1,073 reviews
          .25 miles away
           
          YMCA of the Top End
          28 reviews
          .05 miles away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Hanuman Restaurant
          1,660 reviews
          .26 miles away
          Ducks Nuts Bar & Grill
          861 reviews
          .33 miles away
          Shenannigans Restaurant & Bar
          397 reviews
          .45 miles away
          Nirvana Restaurant
          246 reviews
          .14 miles away
          Nearby Attractions
          Crocosaurus Cove
          1,583 reviews
          .47 miles away
          Aquascene
          512 reviews
          .17 miles away
          Bicentennial Park
          96 reviews
          .12 miles away
          St Mary Star of the Sea Catholic Cathedral
          85 reviews
          .29 miles away
          Questions & Answers
          Get quick answers from Banyan View Lodge staff and past guests.
          Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          Room Tips
          "A room at the back overlooking the garden would be nice"
          Read review
          "Don't stay here"
          Read review
          "Ask for rooms at back as front can be noisy with traffic and late night revelers"
          Read review
          "Choose a single room away from the construction side."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing