We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Banyan View Lodge

    119 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
    Save
    May 7
    May 8
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Traveler (12)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Dingo Moon Lodge
    128 reviews
    #30 of 47 Specialty lodging in Darwin
     
    Youth Shack Backpackers
    276 reviews
    #31 of 47 Specialty lodging in Darwin
     
    Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
    333 reviews
    #34 of 47 Specialty lodging in Darwin
     
    Down Under Hostels
    13 reviews
    #23 of 47 Specialty lodging in Darwin
     
    Overview

    • Excellent8%
    • Very good23%
    • Average30%
    • Poor17%
    • Terrible19%
    Sep 10, 2015
    “Basic, clean, well-managed hostel”
    Aug 26, 2015
    “Good place but terrible and unpleasant manager behaviour”
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Spa
    3 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Dingo Moon Lodge
    128 reviews
    #30 of 47 Specialty lodging in Darwin
     
    Youth Shack Backpackers
    276 reviews
    #31 of 47 Specialty lodging in Darwin
     
    Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
    333 reviews
    #34 of 47 Specialty lodging in Darwin
     
    Down Under Hostels
    13 reviews
    #23 of 47 Specialty lodging in Darwin
     
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (134)
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 134 reviews

    Reviewed September 10, 2015

    This was a functional, basic, budget place for a one night stop over. The room was OK, clean, good air-conditioner. Decor could do with a freshen up. The kitchen looked clean and well-equipped, There's no wi-fi - you can get internet access free on two...More

    1  Thank 38sally
    Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge

    Thank you for your feed back. Banyan View Lodge was built over 40 years ago, while we cannot do much about the aesthetics of the bathrooms, we can certainly try to improve on the internal décor. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

    Reviewed August 26, 2015

    Despite is a good place to stay in Darwin, the House Supervisor is a person difficult to deal with. Tanya Hawkins was so rude with us. She sadly ignores what hospitality and client service means...:'(More

    6  Thank atpc_calcetines
    Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a bad customer service experience while you stayed at Banyan View Lodge. We would have liked the opportunity to address your concerns while you were in house. If you choose to stay with us...More

    Reviewed August 24, 2015

    Coming from a party hostel this was refreshing, staff were nice, facilities were average, I really liked the 3 bed dorm it was clean and quiet, bad points that are EASILY fixed by management, $20 for a plate deposit is rediculous 4 of us wanted...More

    Thank jon a
    Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge

    It is great to get your feedback. We understand your concerns regarding the refundable deposit of $20 per crockery pack. In actual fact, there is no charge for the crockery and cutlery pack. We found previously that our crockery and cutlery must have been very...More

    Reviewed August 11, 2015

    This place would be the worst place I've ever stayed in.Had a terrible vibe to the place.I was a solo traveller and the place did not make me feel comfortable.The TV room stank of cigarette smoke.I occasionally smelt cannabis around the place as the other...More

    2  Thank Guy J
    Reviewed August 2, 2015
    Google Translation

    Wir waren für eine Nacht in der Banyan View Lodge, nachdem wir in Darwin von einer 9-Tage-Tour durch die Kimbeleys...More

    Thank hinundweg s
    Dingo Moon Lodge
    128 reviews
    #30 of 47 Specialty lodging in Darwin
     
    Youth Shack Backpackers
    276 reviews
    #31 of 47 Specialty lodging in Darwin
     
    Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
    333 reviews
    #34 of 47 Specialty lodging in Darwin
     
    Down Under Hostels
    13 reviews
    #23 of 47 Specialty lodging in Darwin
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Spa
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    • Free Parking
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Spa
    Details
    • Price range
    • $17 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    Photos
    Traveler (12)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Hotel & Grounds (9)
    Nearby
    Nearby Hotels
    Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin
    119 reviews
    .21 miles away
     
    DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
    1,114 reviews
    .17 miles away
     
    H105 Mitchell Hotel
    29 reviews
    .12 miles away
     
    DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
    1,058 reviews
    .25 miles away
     
    YMCA of the Top End
    28 reviews
    .05 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Hanuman Restaurant
    1,635 reviews
    .26 miles away
    Ducks Nuts Bar & Grill
    841 reviews
    .33 miles away
    Shenannigans Restaurant & Bar
    394 reviews
    .45 miles away
    Nirvana Restaurant
    242 reviews
    .14 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Crocosaurus Cove
    1,533 reviews
    .47 miles away
    Aquascene
    501 reviews
    .17 miles away
    Bicentennial Park
    94 reviews
    .12 miles away
    St Mary Star of the Sea Catholic Cathedral
    83 reviews
    .29 miles away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Banyan View Lodge staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "A room at the back overlooking the garden would be nice"
    Read review
    "Don't stay here"
    Read review
    "Ask for rooms at back as front can be noisy with traffic and late night revelers"
    Read review
    "Choose a single room away from the construction side."
    Read review