We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Banyan View Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darwin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Banyan View Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 111: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

This was a functional, basic, budget place for a one night stop over. The room was OK, clean, good air-conditioner. Decor could do with a freshen up. The kitchen looked clean and well-equipped, There's no wi-fi - you can get internet access free on two communal computers. It was quiet, secure and well-located.

Helpful?
1 Thank 38sally
Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. Banyan View Lodge was built over 40 years ago, while we cannot do much about the aesthetics of the bathrooms, we can certainly try to improve on the internal décor. Glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

Despite is a good place to stay in Darwin, the House Supervisor is a person difficult to deal with. Tanya Hawkins was so rude with us. She sadly ignores what hospitality and client service means...:'(

Helpful?
6 Thank atpc_calcetines
Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a bad customer service experience while you stayed at Banyan View Lodge. We would have liked the opportunity to address your concerns while you were in house. If you choose to stay with us again, please contact the Management to discuss any concerns you may have. More 

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile

Coming from a party hostel this was refreshing, staff were nice, facilities were average, I really liked the 3 bed dorm it was clean and quiet, bad points that are EASILY fixed by management, $20 for a plate deposit is rediculous 4 of us wanted to eat so they asked for $80,the promised free internet is one computer in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jon a
Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge, responded to this review

It is great to get your feedback. We understand your concerns regarding the refundable deposit of $20 per crockery pack. In actual fact, there is no charge for the crockery and cutlery pack. We found previously that our crockery and cutlery must have been very popular, as it tended to disappear quickly leaving no items for the next guests! This... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

This place would be the worst place I've ever stayed in.Had a terrible vibe to the place.I was a solo traveller and the place did not make me feel comfortable.The TV room stank of cigarette smoke.I occasionally smelt cannabis around the place as the other Hostels I've stayed at don't tolerate that.There were a few dodgy long term 60 year... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Guy J
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

It is a short walk to the CBD, a bike hire place and the esplanade. There is a pleasant outdoor area at the back.The room was very basic and drab ($90 double with shared bathroom), street noise, and the small fridge leaked. A set of quite negatively expressed rules were provided, suggesting patrons are not to be trusted. A generally... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Quercuslocator
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights there and I don't recommend the place. For sure it's possible to find better in Darwin. Good points : - staff is relatively helpful - prices are quite low. I paid $28 for a 3 people bed if i remember. Bad points (a lot...) : - no internet inside the hostel - dodgy people live there... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Alexis S
BangkokJoey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Ugly on the outside and the inside, extra charges for absolutely everything that is locked behind steel grilles (cutlery, coffee cups etc), run down, lights out at 10pm and a peculiar clientele give this place the aura of a prison. I personally was attacked by another guest for the crime of sitting in the common room after lights out. Inconsistent... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank BangkokJoey
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 via mobile

I wasn't a big fan of this place. Firstly, the good parts. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming (worthy of an extra star in the review), and the location was fairly central, with a bus stop outside for those hard to reach places. Apart from that though, things were lacking a great deal. No atmosphere, interiors were very... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank LlamaRamaBanana
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

The pictures online look very misleading: the "pool" is 2 square meters, the "spa" is the size of a bidet. A lot of creepy, old, drunk people. Almost no backpackers around. The common area are completely useless and uncomfortable. Toilet and showers dirty to the point that you don't want to use them. You have to go outside to use... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank dinabird00
NSW
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

This is my 4th stay and it has gone downhill. The trundle bed in the 3 bed female dorm was virtually unusable with a big dip in it and VERY squeaky and noisy every time I moved. The air conditioner was set to 24 C or below so it was cold, and there weren't any blankets when I requested them... More 

Helpful?
Thank 775traveller
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
3.3 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#11 of 39 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Youth Shack Backpackers
Youth Shack Backpackers
#31 of 49 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Darwin YHA
Darwin YHA
#23 of 49 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chilli's Backpackers
Chilli's Backpackers
#34 of 49 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melaleuca on Mitchell
Melaleuca on Mitchell
#35 of 49 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Banyan View Lodge (BVL)is owned and operated by the YWCA of Darwin. The lodge offers budget accommodation for all travelers and provides an addition income stream for the community services programs the YWCA of Darwin run. We are conveniently located just five minutes walk from shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. With its relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff Banyan View Lodge is the ideal place to make the most of your Top End experience. With our ideal location we offer a quiet alternative to the other budget accommodation and backpacker establishments in Darwin. Relax in our tropical gardens, enjoy a BBQ or take a dip in our sparkling swimming pool. Limited off street parking is available and a bus stop is located directly outside the Lodge. With a range of accommodation – from dormitories through to ensuite – Banyan View Lodge caters to travelers on all budgets. We offer a large communal kitchen, fridges in all rooms, TV lounges, coin operated laundry and FREE Internet at our two terminal computers! With our garden backing on to Doctor's Gully, one of the last remaining rainforest pockets in the inner city area, you can enjoy the sounds of the birds and observe the wildlife first hand. The lodge is in easy walking distance to many of the activities Darwin has to offer. Our recent renovations have seen the new common area & kitchen opened as well as the introduction of a food service between 6.30pm - 7.30pm Monday - Friday. Banyan View Lodge also hosts a coffee kiosk selling some of the best coffee and snacks in Darwin 7am - 2pm. Hot pies, cold drinks & ice-lollies are available all day during office hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banyan View Lodge

Address: 119 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: $18 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Banyan View Hotel Darwin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing