We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Youth Shack Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Youth Shack Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Youth Shack Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 247: English reviews
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewed November 22, 2014

I only give 4 out of 5 because the rooms are very small and the WiFi was very slow and not working very good. It was cleaned every day and the showers and the toiletts where clean to. It was quiet enough to sleep even the hostel is located in the what seems to be the party area of Darwin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felix D
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Felix, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we appreciate your feedback as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We are sorry to here you were not happy with the wifi, our friendly staff would of been happy to rectify this for you. Also we appreciate your positive comments. Thanks and we...

Devonport, Australia
Reviewed November 16, 2014

cool place to stay in, maybe the coolest in Darwin cause of the swimmingpool and bar, But- * no breakfast * 4$ for day wi-fi (and not a good one) * 4$ for laundary+ 4$ more for dryer (no place to hang the close) * each peace of dishes for the kitchen need to be check in from the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gelbach
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Gelbach, Thanks for taking the time to submit your review, we appreciate feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking to improve our services. In reply to your points made, at the Youthshack we do supply free breakfast, if you were disappointed by the wifi our friendly staff would of been happy to rectify this, our cutlery...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2014

It's not all that bad, but I didn't like it here. The staff are pretty rude, not all, but most, they just got a bad attitude. The rooms are really cramped, hardly any space to move around. Right next door to a bar so not ideal if you're working and need a place to sleep. The pool is just ok....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin Marie V
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We have noted the points you have made. We must mention that our hostel is in prime location on Mitchell St and this can cause noise disturbances from other surrounding establishments, which is unfortunately out of our control. We take our...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed October 23, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in September. The rooms were clean, as was the hostel in general. The bathrooms felt a bit like school bathrooms - shower cubicles all lined up. The bar downstairs was fun, as was the quiz they put on. The hostel is very close and central to Darwin nightlife. Everyone we saw at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank griffsco
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us! Some great feedback! Thank you again for your time and we wish you all the best on your future travels, Thanks, Youthshack Team

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed October 1, 2014

Awful experience. The staff was rude and incompetent. Facilities were tiny and disgusting. Noise was constant. I couldn't fall asleep before 3 AM any night because of the ridiculously loud music, and around 6 or 7AM, the noise started again. Absolutely miserable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 568meg
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We have noted the points you have made. Unfortunately due to our prime location on Mitchell St there is also the possibility of the noise from other establishments disturbing our guests. We have strict rules in place surrounding our bar on...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 30, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in September, didn't have any of the noise issues that previous reviews seem to have had (but we stayed mid-week), it feels like you should expect a noisy hostel environment as it is on the busiest strip in Darwin. Rooms were clean, staff were mostly friendly. It did feel more like a workers hostel than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ezrerw
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us! Unfortunately our key deposits are compulsory and priced on the replacement of any of these items broken or lost. Our cutlery deposits, although can be annoying, are suitable for our hostel...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 28, 2014

If you fancy not sleeping and receiving a wake up call at 5am by the police, having your room raided and the people you were sharing with arrested for drug dealing then this is the perfect place to stay! Also if you like hearing people 'make love' under your top bunk I'd book here! Defiantly a workers hostel not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louie U
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We have noted the points you have made. But we must mention that this is the first we have heard of this 'raiding' and quite frankly believe this to be some what fabricated. The real circumstances were in fact a guest...

Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

I loved the place..Great service and very affordable.Reception staff especially Jason and Tim made the place great. There is so much to do and the travel desk provides great advice!Such a great bar meeting loads of people,cheap drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason E
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us! Some great feedback! Thank you again for your time and we wish you all the best on your future travels, Thanks, Youthshack Team

Plumpton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2014

I chose Youth Shack for our stay as we would be returning there as part of our outback trip. It isn't a bad place to stay but it isn't as good as some of the other backpackers we stayed in. Particularly not for children. The hostel centres around the bar which was very loud and also very very packed during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank porkmummy
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We have noted the points you have made. We must mention that the bar is located in prime position in our hostel for the ease of access, its unfortunate to hear that this felt intrusive to you and your family. Unfortunately...

Pfinztal, Germany
Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Its a good hostel in the middle of darwin.friendly staff and lots of informations at reception.don't forget your ear plugin's it may be get loud (van and air-condition). The roof top is quite nice to relax. Kitchen is big and you ll find a spot for cooking.we never used bar or pool but its located in the backyard. we are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wizo2014
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, fantastic to read your positive reviews! Thank you again for your time and we wish you all the best on your future travels, Thanks, Youthshack Team

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#26 of 38 in Darwin
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#33 of 38 in Darwin
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Darwin CBD
Novotel Darwin CBD
#12 of 38 in Darwin
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
1,728 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chilli's Backpackers
Chilli's Backpackers
#33 of 49 in Darwin
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Youth Shack is a great choice for backpackers and travellers looking for affordable, value for money accommodation. Located right in the heart of Darwin at 69 Mitchell St, the Youth Shack is just a short stroll away from the wide range of cheap eateries, restaurants, bars and nightclubs that Darwin has on offer. For those wishing to relax, grab a meal, shop, or catch a few rays, the Waterfront lagoon and its surrounding cafes and restaurants are only a leisurely ten minute walk away. Providing air-conditioned four, six or eight bed dorms, Double or Twin private rooms (Shared Bathroom), the Youth Shack has become a home away from home for many satisfied guests during its' time. Featuring a large semi-shaded pool, Poolside Bar, great Sundeck, a huge kitchen with adjoining dining area and a Job Shack desk, the Youth Shack has everything required to make your stay comfortable while in Darwin. Get your tan on atop the first floor rooftop sundeck after a day out adventuring or night out partying. Soak your miles away in the pool, relax on the sunbeds and catch up on that book you've been meaning to read or just have a few cool drinks in the bar and make new friends or hang out with old ones. In addition to all this, our experienced and helpful reception staff can assist you with all your tours in the Top End. Ask about our amazing deals on single or multi-day tours to Kakadu, the waterfalls of Litchfield National Park, Uluru, if it's available we will get you on board. Experience the natural beauty and culture of Australia's Northern Territory. 24 hour check-in. Arrivals between 10pm and 6.00am can call the night manager, the number is on the front door of the hostel. In room Locker, Linen provided. Valid photo ID and credit card details required upon check in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Youth Shack Backpackers

Address: 69 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: $23 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Youth Shack Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Youth Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Youth Shack Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Take padlock for supplied room locker.”
 of 5 bubbles MLT73, Jan 9, 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are of equal high standard”
 of 5 bubbles michaeldJ5926GE, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“One side of the hostel isn't near the pool so it might be a bit quieter...not positive though”
 of 5 bubbles sophiesophiesophie3x, Aug 19, 2016 | Read review
“If choosing double, make sure your geting tv, dvd and fridge. Especially if your on a budget”
 of 5 bubbles S7694AFscotth, Aug 26, 2015 | Read review
“I had a room along the front which was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles squizzy11, Jul 7, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question