We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Save
Share
Yulara Drive Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872 Australia
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
$431
$343
View Deal
Booking.com$343
Agoda.com$340
Tripadvisor$343
Lol.travel$405
StayForLong$431
Expedia.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1913)
Room & Suite (373)
Pool & Beach (76)

About

#3 of 4 hotels in Yulara
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Free airport transportation
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Massage
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
3,793Reviews56Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 886
  • 1,593
  • 883
  • 307
  • 124
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Louise M wrote a review Oct 2020
12 contributions12 helpful votes
I had a lovely stay at this hotel in January. The rooms were big and clean, beds were very comfortable, great room service. We dined in the restaurant too which was lovely -very attentive wait-staff. Only issue encountered was our room service tray took two days to be collected despite calling twice. We left it outside our room to be collected and it was still there two mornings later meaning even the cleaning staff ignored it. Not ideal with all of the bugs and animals around!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Rohan wrote a review Jun 2020
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
I had the most disappointing experience at the Voyagers Desert Garden Resort during my stay during the Christmas period 2019. This was pre-pandemic and so there were no staffing issues. As a surprise Christmas Present we had planned to travel to Uluru for a family sunset helicopter tour along with a Night at the Field of Light experience and a one night stay at the hotel which was booked in July 2019. The experiences and the hotel stay were all booked directly with Voyagers (although they try to deflect responsibility to third party service providers as much as possible when things go wrong). Firstly, when I printed the confirmation I realised that lines had disappeared from the original tour description including the indigenous performance at the Field of Light! This was one of the main attractions promised and no one had notified us of any changes. I kept copies of the edited versions but the hotel team were unable to explain why the pre-paid itinerary had changed. Secondly, Voyagers contacted me on Christmas Eve informing us that the helicopter experience Christmas present which was booked for 4 people would no longer be possible due to a technical error. They offered to either cancel the flight or to take 2 separate helicopters but the latter option involved one couple having to wait 40 minutes in the desert (40+ degrees) whilst the helicopter collected the second couple. This was frustrating because the special family helicopter ride together was not possible. With little time before Christmas and no real alternative options we agreed to proceed with the helicopter with our family split up. It was such a shame that there was no proactivity to mitigate the inconvenience caused, in particular an umbrella for shade for the two people in our party who were required to wait in the hot desert, should have been offered without prompting. Lastly, after travelling for 2 days, we finally arrived. We followed instructions to wait in the lobby but nobody arrived to collect us. We were left waiting in the hotel lobby. The hotel staff claimed they didn’t know the reason for any delay initially and ducked all responsibility, despite being a Voyagers hotel. Eventually we contacted the third party helicopter provider as they were the only people to pick up the telephone. The helicopter provider informed us that our flight and the Night at The Field of Light was cancelled due to unforeseen weather conditions. The helicopter provider informed us that Voyagers customer service alerted them to this fact and also informed our hotel 2 hours prior, but nobody from customer service, the hotel or the helicopter provider contacted us to let us know (and I have still not been contacted!) The reception staff initially denied receiving any information but then later advised that they put up a note on the door for all guests. Not only was this contradictory advice but also very unprofessional not to contact every person affected on the tour, beginning with the people due to be collected first from the lobby. The reception staff refused to do this, including the deputy manager, because they stated that this was the responsibility of a different Voyagers ‘experience’ team, which was unavailable out of hours. So no guests would be contacted, informed or let down gently that their night had been cancelled. Instead they would just wait until realising that nobody was coming to collect them. Birthdays, Honeymoons, Anniversaries and Christmas celebrations all down the drain for so many people. The reception team refused to accept that a note on the window in one language was poor service and poor communication. Overall, I was terribly shocked that my family travelled across the world to see Uluru, spending thousands of dollars and Voyagers couldn’t be bothered to contact us promptly for any of the three issues above. We understand that technical, weather and safety issues cannot be avoided but feel we deserved to receive a more professional service. We were never contacted by the Voyagers team the following day, not even the experience team. We had to chase our refund and by the time it arrived we lost a lot of money in transaction fees and because the exchange rate had changed. Examples to improve in the future; - When things go unavoidably wrong, please try to help formulate an alternative plan with disappointed guests rather than shrugging shoulders and all responsibility - If Voyagers Hotel reception staff truly feel they are different to the Voyagers Experience Team, with no knowledge or information on hand to assist with tour problems out of hours, may we suggest that a member of the experience team should be available at all hours of tours operating? - There was no appreciation for travellers tiredness, expense and frustration and no recognition of the desire to see the main attraction of Uluru. For example, hotel staff could have produced a map, informed us that although our trip was cancelled we could go on a self guided entry to the park and see Uluru at sunset. We did not know this and this would have been an easy suggestion to salvage the evening, for example. - Making a reservation for guests at hotel restaurant does not sufficiently compensate our disappointment and the level of inconvenience endured. Please do not insinuate that this was a big favour. - Better staff training and induction; upon asking about whether the restaurant has a nice view, one staff member said “I don’t know, I’ve never been”. - The staff declined to call the general manager, despite being unable to answer many of our questions. Is there a culture of not wanting to disturb the manager? Of course if management really do care, I would be grateful to be contacted to discuss compensation for our stay. Our reservation number was HNJSGVBJ and booking number 10894503. I look forward to hearing from you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Voyages Sydney, Other at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Responded Jun 29, 2020
Hi NZRohan Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your experience at Desert Gardens Hotel earlier this year. We sincerely regret that the experience did not meet your expectations and your suggestions for improvement are certainly appreciated and will be considered when Desert Gardens reopens. Your feedback will also be shared with the helicopter touring partner as we both continually work towards providing the best possible experience for all guests. In particular I apologise for the conflicting information you received regarding the cancellation of the evening in question. Given the disappointment caused when an outdoor evening experience is cancelled our operations team make the call as late as possible and only when there is no alternative as to give our guests every opportunity to participate in the experience they have booked. Every effort is made to contact all guests affected however on this occasion given the late notice it was unfortunately not possible and the reason why signage was posted at the front of the hotel. We do however certainly appreciate the disappointment this would have caused to you. Our management team is always available for our guests and the only reason why it would not have been possible to speak with me personally is if I was away from the hotel, which does occur from time to time. That said I do empower my management team to handle guest interaction. We again wish to reiterate that your feedback is appreciated and will be considered where possible and we hope that you were still able to enjoy exploring the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park. Kind regards Peter White General Manager Desert Gardens Hotel
Read more
Erin S wrote a review Jun 2020
18 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel has horrible customer service. The reception staff and Managers are not eager to help you resolve any issues regarding your stay or your plans. Absolutely terrible, they should be ashamed - hospitality doesn't exist. Not worth the price at all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Service
Room Tip: Don't Stay Here
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Voyages Sydney, Other at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Responded Jun 14, 2020
Hi esch512 Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we are very sorry to read that you have not been happy with the customer service you have received. I assure you that it is our priority to provide the best possible experience for our guests and therefore disappointing that we are unable to achieve it. Given the current situation surrounding COVID-19 Ayers Rock Resort is currently closed, which has meant that our team including reservations has been scaled back considerably. As a result we are working through inquiries and bookings methodically and in date order and within the guidelines of our terms and conditions. As we work towards reopening the resort in the near future our teams will be again scaled up accordingly and we will be in a better position to provide further service options. While I am unable to see your particular booking or inquiry we do certainly appreciate your frustration however we do hope that you are able to understand our position at present and do wish to reassure you that we are very much looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you to Ayers Rock Resort in the near future. Kind Regards Peter White General Manager Desert Gardens Hotel
Read more
Aleksandra M wrote a review May 2020
Ljubljana, Slovenia27 contributions12 helpful votes
We visited at the end of summer, which we understand is not a high season so the place was not to crowded. The whole resort town is nicely incorporated with the magnificent surroundings of natural beauty. The nature here is out of this world. Our room was nice and big. Bathroom was clean. We even had a visiting geckon ;-) Staff was very friendly and helpful. Dinning options were excellent. Loved the free garden tour, which was a nice relaxing stroll around the place with information on plants. It is a very well run and organized place. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Voyages Sydney, Other at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Responded Jun 3, 2020
Hi 742aleksandram Thank you for sharing your lovely review of your experience at Desert Gardens Hotel. We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay and exploring this beautiful part of Australia. It was certainly our pleasure to have you as a guest at Ayers Rock Resort. Kind Regards Peter White General Manager Desert Gardens Hotel
Read more
foghornred wrote a review May 2020
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom270 contributions183 helpful votes
We stayed in room 124 which had air conditioning Television,tea,coffee and water with plenty of storage space as well as 2 beds and if you decided not to have it cleaned you were given $10 to spend in the bar or restaurant. Location is only a short walk to the square where there are places to eat and a post office and shops.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Voyages Sydney, Other at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Responded May 15, 2020
Hi foghornred Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Desert Gardens and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest and we further thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort. Kind Regards Peter White General Manager Desert Gardens Hotel
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$271 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
desert gardens hotel, ayers rock hotel yulara, hotel desert gardens
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryRed CentreYulara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
218
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort?
Nearby attractions include Wintjiri Arts + Museum (0.08 miles), Maruku Arts (0.2 miles), and Ayers Rock Resort Shopping Centre (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kulata Academy Cafe, Arnguli Grill & Restaurant, and Ilkari Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Yulara.
Are any cleaning services offered at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.