We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Yulara
Post
Inbox
Search

Sails In The Desert

Save
Yulara Drive Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872 Australia
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$424
$347
View Deal
Agoda.com$347
Trip.com$353
ZenHotels.com$424
TripAdvisor$347
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2079)
Room & Suite (511)
Pool & Beach (104)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
In Australia's Red Centre, the five star Sails in the Desert hotel beautifully contrasts Uluru's raw natural beauty with a decidedly luxurious outback holiday experience. Soaring white sails crown Ayers Rock Resort's Sails in the Desert hotel, shading 228 luxury five star rooms and suites. Discover the passion behind Aboriginal art at Sails in the Desert's Mulgara Gallery. Then be lulled into complete relaxation by one of the Red Ochre Spa's package treatments. Sails in the Desert hotel features an expansive gumtree lined heated swimming pool and a diversity of modern dining, bar and lounge options. Choose Sails in the Desert for an outback holiday with a unique style and modern luxury.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Paid internet
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Poolside bar
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Gift shop
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
4,180Reviews51Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,440
  • 1,620
  • 748
  • 227
  • 145
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Our family of 4 stayed for 3 nights. Our room 141 was comfortable and clean. The pool was a great way to cool down after our trips. The restaurants and bar were pricey but the food and service was great. We would recommend to other young families.
Read more
Response from VoyagesSydney, Customer Relations at Sails In The Desert
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Companion756248 Thank you for sharing your review from your recent stay at Sails in the Desert and for your lovely recommendation. We are delighted that your family so enjoyed their stay as it was certainly our pleasure to have you as guests at Ayers Rock Resort. Kind Regards Todd Hunter General Manager Sails in the Desert
Read more
Staying in Uluru is expensive, but well worth staying close. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. The town square is a close walk, where they have some souvenir shops and a grocery store (the grocery store is less expensive than we anticipated it would be - we bought food for breakfast and snacks there, as the restaurants are quite expensive). If we had to do it over again, we would end up renting a car while we were there (you can do that at the tourist info center in the town square instead of at the airport) - that way we would have been able to be more on our own schedule for seeing Ayer's Rock and Kata Tjuta (the hop on-hop off bus goes about every 2 hours to Ayer's Rock, twice daily to Kata Tjuta). I highly recommend the Sounds of Silence dinner, and the Camel Tour (we did the sunrise camel tour - so much fun!). Take advantage of the free daily experiences that the Ayers Rock hotels provide - educational and cultural talks at the museum and town square.
Read more
Response from VoyagesSydney, Customer Relations at Sails In The Desert
Responded 3 days ago
Hi wendys001 Thank you for sharing your experience at Sails in the Desert and we are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay along with the activities on offer to explore this beautiful part of Australia. It was certainly our pleasure to have you as guests at Ayers Rock Resort. Kind Regards Todd Hunter General Manager Sails in the Desert
Read more
Stay at sails as a package for the opera. Rang reception to get some salt delivered to room 4 times and nothing was delivered. Even approached them at reception. Nothing. Is it that difficult a task. I bought the salt at iga. Very disappointed. Restaurant very busy and they're not able to cope. Desert garden provided better service at their restaurant. Therefore it's not a 4 star hotel. Just monopoly. Captive audience.
Read more
Response from VoyagesSydney, Customer Relations at Sails In The Desert
Responded 1 week ago
Hi 1234Angel1234 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sails in the Desert and we certainly sincerely apologise for the difficulty you experienced with your room service order. While it is true that we were running at capacity during your stay this is certainly not the level of service you should expect nor that we strive to achieve and I assure you that your comments will be addressed. We hope that you did enjoy our Opera experience along with exploring the National Park and we thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort. Kind Regards Todd Hunter General Manager Sails in the Desert
Read more
I remember in the 1980s when this was a real destination hotel; a brave architectural adventure; a glamorous place which filled the Saturday travel supplements and columns of the day. I am not sure about those claims and I am left quite puzzled about the role of the canvas sails but it is still a special place to stay. Do not go expecting up to date standards of glamour and luxury. If you want that go to Longitude 131, along with Oprah and Prince William, the glamping option at the base of Uluru. Here you see the sunrise on Uluru by turning back your tent flap. This hotel has definitely dated and could do with some updating I suppose but I really liked it a lot. The entry way is very long; you walk past 2 restaurants down to the reception counter. The roof overhead is canvas. I am sure that this has a purpose but it makes for a very warm environment in the lobby and bar/restaurant. There is a grassed area, a pool and bush gardens. Outside it is kind of depressing looking. About 3 storeys of breeze block painted a pale mustard. Our room was on the third floor, again over in the farthest corner. We went up in the lift mumbling about the cost of the holiday. However the room was, in my opinion, truly beautiful. Our room was a bit like the one in the photo. I like mid century stuff, so it appealed. The chair is a repo of a famous Australian designer whose name escapes me. The artwork was well chosen and placed. The carpet is worn but it is a work of art; a real thing of beauty. I imagine that the cost of repairing and/or replacing it would be prohibitive. There was a slim floor to ceiling window that gave a soft light to the room. The furniture was simple and attractive made out of, I think, native timber. On a more practical level the shower was good and the bed was really comfortable.
Read more
We stayed here for 5 Nights and whilst it was very comfortable I dont think you could call it 5 star. The rooms were not cleaned until after 2pm, we eventually asked for them to be cleaned in the mornings so we wouldn’t need to leave our rooms in the afternoon when we returned from our Uluru adventures. Decent hairdryers are provided and the usual bathroom accessories. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The pool area is ok, again not 5 star but refreshing. They have lots of day beds and deck chairs It’s a shame they don’t have more shady areas to sit. Pool towels are provided. I am an Accor member and get 50% of meals (but not breakfast) and can dine at the other Accor restaurants at Yulara also which is a bonus. Sails is right next to the town square where they have a great IGA supermarket and some cute gift shops (you can buy your mandatory fly net there for $9 or $10). All the tour companies and car hire companies are there too. (If you want unlimited kms book through voyagers) All the resorts at Yulara are connected by a free shuttle bus that runs every 20 mins. We had a great stay and would recommend it but be aware it’s not 5 star.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$240 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sails in the desert ayers rock hotel yulara
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryRed CentreYulara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
232
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sails In The Desert
Which popular attractions are close to Sails In The Desert?
Nearby attractions include Wintjiri Arts + Museum (0.3 miles), Maruku Arts (0.2 miles), and Ayers Rock Resort Shopping Centre (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sails In The Desert?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Sails In The Desert?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sails In The Desert?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sails In The Desert?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arnguli Grill & Restaurant, Kulata Academy Cafe, and Ilkari Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sails In The Desert?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sails In The Desert have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sails In The Desert offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sails In The Desert located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Yulara.
Does Sails In The Desert offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Sails In The Desert have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Sails In The Desert accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.