We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,053 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,352: English reviews
Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the best place to stay for the family. We had a unit not far from the pool and the choice of food types was great. We had breakfast included and took dinner at the restaurant and the take out option. The staff were helpful and friendly and the pool amenities were good too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldflatman
Napanee, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hey your choices are limited here. This is not bad and has the basic amenities. No chairs to sit outside though and just bare doors in a wall. Not sure why they wouldn't add this dimension as it would make the experience so much nicer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CanadaRambler1
Mackay QLD
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed 1 night in bungalow with 3 beds ($265/night) and honestly we couldn't even move properly in that tiny small room. I think it's very overpriced. Plus very closed to backpackers accommodation, where all the drunk people were walking around. On the other hand all resort is really nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hurtova
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hi hurtova We are very sorry to read that you were not happy with your Budget Room that does indeed form part of our Lodge which includes our dormitory style accommodation. We do offer a range of accommodation throughout Ayers Rock Resort including hotel rooms here at the Outback Pioneer and we sincerely regret that we were unable to assist...

Sydney
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

After being out most of the day, coming back for a few drinks and a feed this place has different types of food we finished our day there with a BBQ chicken pizza and scold drink, great end to the day🍴🍴🍺👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anglez15
Sydney
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This property was so well suited to its environment. It was old school but it had old school charm. The bar had a great atmosphere! The great experience however started when we arrived when James from the bell desk took us aside & sent our bags to our room & also gave us info about the resort & tours. He...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Getaway_Queen_89
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hi Getaway_Queen_89 Thank you for sharing your experience at the Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge and it was our pleasure to assist you during your stay to ensure it was a memorable experience. Thank you also for taking an interest in our training program with the National Indigenous Training Academy and I am delighted that James provided you with all...

East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Rustic style with nice, clean rooms. Air conditioned, a must in this part of Australia. Nice restaurant open for breakfast and dinner as well a pool bar with take-away food. Easy walk into the very small town of Yulara, close to Uluru.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Easy2BeGreen
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The rooms are fairly big, but no windows expect long small ones next to the door. No light control at bedside is annoying. Lots of bugs - got woken up by a roach behind my ear. Bathroom is large but shower water is all over the place. Free wifi. Only full breakfast which is expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte R Thank you for your feedback regarding your accommodation at the Outback Pioneer Lodge. Unfortunately the summer months are the peak time for bugs in our remote desert location however I would like to reassure you that we work hard to keep guest rooms as bug free as possible and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused. While...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a very pleasant hotel and has everything you need for a comfortable stay - air conditioning!!, for example. The entire area is a complex comprised of the different hotels - 4 or 5 in number- as well as a camping place and a shopping area. The tours come directly to the hotel and everything is very easy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hi Judith L Thank you for sharing your experience at the Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you would stay with us again and we hope that we do have the chance to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Mark Fletcher...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my girlfriend who are backpackers and are used to basic accommodation stayed in the outback pioneer lodge for 2 nights ($46 per night) and safe to say we won't be returning! Upon checking in, the staff on the desk seemed to be unorganised and very slow to process all the guests. After checking in (around lunchtime) we fancied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben14eagle
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hi Ben14eagle We are sorry to read that your stay at the Outback Pioneer Lodge did not meet your expectations and in particular our dining facilities. The Pioneer BBQ is a licensed dining venue and as such we do not offer the option to cook food bought from elsewhere however for guests who would like to self cater a communal...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked one night at the Outback Pioneer Lodge to give us a chance to relax and briefly see Ayers Rock before heading off on a camping tour with The Rock Tour. Having travelled Australia over the past couple of years and having stayed in lesser rated, much cheaper hostels (we paid $46 per bed per night here!!!!!) we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KirstyyM
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hi Kirsty M We are disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with your stay and the value offered. While it is always our priority to provide the best value experience it may be of interest to know that the operational costs of supply chain transport to a remote resort like ours is significantly higher than that of hotels...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

814 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (773)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (190)
Viewed
Room/Suite (109)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (354)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yulara
0.4 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sails In The Desert Hotel
Sails In The Desert Hotel
#1 of 2 in Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
24 reviews
1.6 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for traditional Aussie hospitality? You'll find it at the Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - with your choice of 3 1/2 star hotel or 2 star lodge accommodation, from comfortable, affordable hotel rooms and budget rooms to dormitories. This hotel is perfect for the demands of travellers looking for quality service in relaxed surrounds. This is a place where friendships are made and good times are had by all. Taste Australia's pioneering past, as you enjoy a beer and some outback delights at the do-it-yourself Outback BBQ, and swap stories of your day's adventures. Alternatively, opt for the peace and quiet of the Bough House Restaurant. The Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge is ideal for those who want to enjoy all that Ayers Rock (Uluru) has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Price Range: $153 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outback Pioneer Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Outback Pioneer
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort staff and other travelers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Hotel Room for comfort although did not see the lodges”
 of 5 bubbles 782annn, 1 week ago | Read review
“Get a room near the front office”
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles SVG108, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Return to Alice Springs if you can”
 of 5 bubbles TMC409, Dec 30, 2016 | Read review
“All ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles AntonioR69, Dec 21, 2016 | Read review
“Hotel room not lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbC293, Dec 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question