We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,020 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,328: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

So staying here for two days in order to see the Uluru (Ayers Rock) and the outback. Very surprised at how nice the rooms were because the place looks very country-road-side on the outside. FYI: This review is only for the room, will review the restaurant separately.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denell1006
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

On arrival to our hotel I could not stop smiling. It was everything that I had wanted and imagined. The staff were great and really friendly also helping us later on to book tours direct through them. On checking in we wheeled our luggage a short distance past the main bar area and onwards to our room which was like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nightwire
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

From comfortable beds, spacious rooms, and clean bathroom with a bath tub! Overall great stay! The staff are all very kind and would like to thank Jessica on reception for all her help in times of need in a gentle and reassuring manner

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izzy V
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The sprawling facilities of Outback Pioneer Lodge are the only affordable choice for budget travelers wishing to visit Uluru-Kata Tjuta N.P., apart from the campground. Air conditioned 4 to 6pp dorm rooms sell for about 40$ pp per night, they are grouped bungalow style in a shaded green area with paths winding around eating and drinking spots, a pool, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manuela C
Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I understand that the NT has very different laws and regulations to the rest of Australia when it comes to selling/serving alcohol however, I feel neglecting to notify guests via websites, upon check-in or even some sort of communication in rooms is a bad management decision and disrespectful to guests. Made for a great laugh among guests who attempted to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liccy
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staying at this motel is like going back to the dark ages. The room was comfortable. But if I go to a bar to buy a drink for my wife and myself and am told one person one drink while my wife is sitting at table waiting for me, that she has to purchase her own drink is ludicrous. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank N
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hi Frank N We are sorry to read of your disappointment regarding the responsible service of alcohol guidelines in place at the Pioneer BBQ & Bar and that this affected your overall enjoyment of this beautiful part of Australia. While we regret your disappointment this falls under Northern Territory liquor licensing legislation for establishments such as the Pioneer Bar located...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked one room on the internet and it was fine. The room was big and clean. Because of heavy rain and storm we were send back from the airport and needet to check in again. We taught we would get our old room back, but we didn't. Instead we needed to rent a room with four beds. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klara M
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hi Klara M Thank you for sharing your feedback and we are sorry that you were impacted by the unprecedented storms that hit the region during Christmas. We regret that we were unable to provide you with your original room however due to the cancellation of flights from the commercial airlines and the arrival of new guests via bus from...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were able to book last minute accommodation but due to it being the Christmas break to prices were ridiculously overpriced - $330 for what one would consider to be a motel room for the night! Staff were friendly and helpful and the burger and pizza were great and not too overpriced, beer was reasonably priced considering the location. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smattyandkath
Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Okay, so some of the rules I can understand being where the bar is and with strict licensing laws.. but some of the bar rules are just strange.. I was here to see in the New Year, the bar was packed.. at the start of the night you can buy a bottle of champagne for the table, towards the end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hi Roger H Thank you for your feedback regarding New Years Eve at Pioneer BBQ & Bar. We are indeeed subject to strict liquor licensing laws in this part of Central Australia and the actions taken on the evening were in accordance with Responsible Service of Alcohol guidelines and while we must adhere to these rules we do regret any...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here as apart of a contiki tour, the rooms are basic but definately all that you need our at Uluru with so much to see throughout the day! We stayed in the 4 person bunk bed rooms with shared bathroom facilities. The bathrooms were extremely clean which was a surprise. There were loads of food and entertainment at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey B
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hi Stacey B Thanks for your great recommendation! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Outback Pioneer Lodge. Kind Regards Mark Fletcher General Manager Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

799 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (758)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (186)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (351)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yulara
0.4 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sails In The Desert Hotel
Sails In The Desert Hotel
#1 of 2 in Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kings Canyon
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for traditional Aussie hospitality? You'll find it at the Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - with your choice of 3 1/2 star hotel or 2 star lodge accommodation, from comfortable, affordable hotel rooms and budget rooms to dormitories. This hotel is perfect for the demands of travellers looking for quality service in relaxed surrounds. This is a place where friendships are made and good times are had by all. Taste Australia's pioneering past, as you enjoy a beer and some outback delights at the do-it-yourself Outback BBQ, and swap stories of your day's adventures. Alternatively, opt for the peace and quiet of the Bough House Restaurant. The Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge is ideal for those who want to enjoy all that Ayers Rock (Uluru) has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Price Range: $121 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outback Pioneer Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Outback Pioneer
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Return to Alice Springs if you can”
 of 5 bubbles TMC409, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“All ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles AntonioR69, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Hotel room not lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbC293, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Call to book, as online website sometimes does not show room if you are booking only for 1 person”
 of 5 bubbles lyda0, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 224 was lovely and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles dogrosie777, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay