We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Kings Canyon Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kings Canyon Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,447 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,036: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights and upgraded to a room with an ensuite bathroom. The room was adequate with a terrace. The fence on the terrace could have been a bit higher as it doesn't offer a lot of privacy. The beds were comfortable. The fridge was small. The water supply was safe to drink but a bit smelly as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2muchmusic
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The use of the word "resort" is questionable. Two of the five eateries are closed at this time of year. Ate at Carmichaels, but understaffing made for long waits for service. Poor blonde woman did her best to cover guests, but definitely fault of management, not her level of service. Little bugs on our bed when we pulled back the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Innsbruck
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

A comfortable oasis in the absolute outback. You are so far out - no mobile reception. Big rooms with all necessary features (but for a safe). Excellent bath rooms - best water pressure of all hotels during the 3 week tour). A short walk to Carmichaels Restaurant. Excellent dinner, very good steaks, excellent barramundi fillets. Vegetables and salad to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UrsulaHans
Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here for my partners birthday, booked 2 budget lodge rooms. checked in and went to the room, opening the door we saw layers of dust on all the windowsills and corners of the room, also dead flies and other sorts of bugs lurking around. went to the other room and no difference at all also extremely dirty. went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gamsadventures
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A long drive before you actually get there... but it's a very nice hotel. We had a Deluxe Room, with a nice bubble bath and outside view. We enjoyed the sunset on the viewing platform and had a lovely dinner in Carmichael's restaurant. They also have a nice pool area and laundry facilities. So yes... totally recommendable!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellers1980
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear WorldTravellers1980 so glad to read you enjoyed your stay in a Deluxe Spa room with its amazing views from the spa bath to the rock escarpment surrounding our resort. Our Sunset viewing platform is very popular with all guests to enjoy the Watarrka National Park setting while watching the setting sun's array of colours on the George Gill Ranges...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The accommodation is very simple, the problem is that our room was dirty, with bugs on the bed and during night over us; spiders on the roof. Unrecommended! Sconsigliato: insetti ovunque, camere sporche.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dottorski
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dottorski I do apologise you were unhappy with your stay at Kings Canyon Resort . I am unsure if you advised our 24 hour Reception of any issues you had whilst you were here, although I can not find any record of such . Such a shame , we would have been more than happy to rectify any problems....

San Francisco
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Kings Canyon Resort in one of the deluxe rooms. Upon opening our door to our room, we were met with a strong sewer smell. As explained to us, when a room is not used, the water in the toilet tends to dry out which allows the smell to escape into the room. Good explanation but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank activeboomertravel
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear activeboomertravel Thank you for your comments about your stay in a Deluxe Spa room. Our strong smelling sulphuric water is a constant reminder of the dry desert country we live in - both the resort and surrounding communities exist on this artesian water throughout the year. We note to all of our guests on our Reception arrival information and...

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This resort is the only one nearby the canyon so there is not much choice! The staff were awesome considering the problems with the rooms! Luckily we were off season. Firstly they have a real problem with sewage smells, then there was a problem with sheets not being changed, when we pulled back the covers it was clear on a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shootingstars R
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Shootingstars R , Nice to hear our staff are awesome!! I am glad we were able to resolve your issues on arrival and unfortunately we cannot change our artesian water supply which does emit a strong sulphuric smell at times. (not sewerage) I have passed on your comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams and we appreciate the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A perfect location ! What a stunning view at sunset. We appreciated our dinner at the Outdoor BBQ and Grill. The choice was limited but we truly enjoyed the atmosphere. Rooms are clean but a bit dated. We could hear dingos at night time so it was fun.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank givilomitour
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear givilomitour Thank you for reviewing your April stay with us . Glad to hear you enjoyed the great food and atmosphere at the Outback BBQ & Grill, and the dingoes were in season when you visited . The spectacular views and walks of Watarrka National Park are certainly well worth the visit to this amazing region of Central Australia....

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We traveled in two family groups and enjoyed our stay in the Budget Lodge. The atmosphere was relaxed and provided a well earned rest at the end of each day of hiking and exploring. We appreciated the air conditioning (even though it was a bit loud at night). We enjoyed seeing local wildlife on the promises and in the Canyon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Andrew W thank you , glad to hear both families enjoyed your stay in our Budget Quad rooms, which provide an ideal basic style room from which to explore Watarrka National Park . With each room sleeping up to 5 people , for only $139 per room they are an ideal way to save money whilst travelling in this...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

523 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (512)
Viewed
Room/Suite (103)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (216)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Canyon
0.0 mi away
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kings Canyon
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Kings Canyon Resort

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Price Range: $89 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kings Canyon Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Take a room that gets morning sun as afternoon sun is intense.”
 of 5 bubbles jd1701, 6 days ago | Read review
“Go in the quiet season to be able to change rooms if necessary!”
 of 5 bubbles samb101, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms on the ends of the Lodge are quieter as they are further away from the common kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Best value is in family rooms on campground.”
 of 5 bubbles Wenno1975, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay