We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alice's Secret Travellers Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Alice\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 127: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I really loved staying at Alice's Secrets. The staff is super friendly and make you feel at home immediately. The garden is a wonderful spot to hang out. The bathrooms were always very clean. I think the kitchen could be improved a bit, e.g. one additional sink, and the 6 bed dorms are quite small and could thus use more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gisa H
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place has a very relaxed vibe with peronal touches everywhere to be seen. It has a pool, reading corner, toilets, shower, a kitchen, outdoor seating and is perfect for any backpacker. The place is well looked after offers private rooms as well as mixed dorms and is a quiet hostel so your able to get a decent nights sleep.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aaron E
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the old bus which is pretty funky. Its cold in winter so you need to keep the radiator on all the time. The wifi in the room was very poor and often unattainable - but OK in the garden and kitchen. The kitchen is often messy and needs greater supervision- many people leave mess and don't wash... More 

Helpful?
Thank phillyh2016
stayAliceSprings, Manager at Alice's Secret Travellers Inn, responded to this review

Hi Philly, thank you so much for your review. Unfortunately we've noticed that most people on their check-out date tend to leave the kitchen untidy, we do our best to supervise it but we can't be present 24/7. However as you suggested we are intensifying our supervision. We hope you will stay with us again. Cheers Simona More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For a hostel, this place is really good. Friendly staff, comfy bed, lovely yard - almost feels like home! Location is good too, it's 10 minute walk from the center. It is also really quite in and around the hostel. The free wifi was really slow or even barely working though.

Helpful?
Thank Ksenia N
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

I stayed in the Alpine Hut for four nights in June. The staff were great - always happy to help with tours, change for the laundry, or to borrow an umbrella. The hut was very comfortable. The shared toilets and showers were kept clean, with a stock of products available for use free of charge. The ambient lighting in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank RetreatForward
Liverpool
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

At first I thought I was a bit out of town but it is just a few minutes walk away. So glad I stayed here. The owner was helpful and obviously passionate about the place, the people there were good to get along with. I stayed in the converted caravan at the back of the hostel! I can't comment on... More 

Helpful?
Thank iangeegan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

The family atmosphere of this place made the difference for me. I loved this place, so i stayed many months there. Seb, the manager, is super easy going and will help you with anything you need. What's around Alice springs, what to see, what to do (events, tours, the town). Same as Laurène. Great staff, with 2 cats to pet.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philippe L
stayAliceSprings, Owner at Alice's Secret Travellers Inn, responded to this review

Hey Philipe, thanks for your review, i am glad that you liked it so much, which i can tell by 10 month staying. We will continue to keep the place as it is, always creating something new for guests to see. I am gald you could spent some time outside CBD Alice and enjoy the nature. It was a pleasure... More 

Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

Nice hostel! Friendly stuff, awesome backyard and nice rooms. Everything is clean and good equipped. We had a great stay for a good price. It's no party hostel but it's perfect for relaxing and stuff like that. I would recommend this hostel!

Helpful?
Thank mariusseif95
stayAliceSprings, Owner at Alice's Secret Travellers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks mate! Pleasure to hear this ;-) I am glad you enjoyed the stay and the hostel. We are working hard, to keep our reputation. Safe travels and many more adventures Cheers Seb More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

The owner's super super friendly and always happy to help you out! Nice and relaxed atmosphere and a great garden to hang out in with a BBQ corner, small swimmingpool, plenty of relaxing chairs and even a hammock. The town's centre is close by as well. Loved it!

Helpful?
Thank MonkeyFace101
stayAliceSprings, Manager at Alice's Secret Travellers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks , glad you enjoyed the Red Centre. Thsnks for the review. Safe travels and many more exciting adventures Cheers Seb More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

I stayed there for a couple of weeks and this place its kind of magic. You can sleep in an old caravan, in a normal Dormroom or in a old bus. The place is small but its feels like a big family. The price is perfect with the free WiFi. The owner and the staff were always helpfull, friendly and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank FranziCool
stayAliceSprings, Owner at Alice's Secret Travellers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Franzi for your review! Glad you enjoyed it. Yes, we have nice people here at the moment and there is always a good crowed coming and going. It doesn't attract idiots and this is good for a small, peaceful no party hostel. Safe travels and i hope you enjoyed the Red Centre Cheers Seb More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.3 mi away
Lasseters Hotel
Lasseters Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover why 'Alice's Secret' has been recommended by Lonely Planet as 'too good to stay a secret' (2006). Seb welcomes you to Alice's Secret Travellers Inn, a cozy, QUIET and relaxed hostel nestled in the middle of Australia's red centre. This hostel continues to be "a work in progress", next up is an OUTSIDE BBQ AREA, for that true Aussie outside cooking experience! Recently added are our new "deluxe" rooms ALPINE HUT & BUS BETTY,also every room has it's own character. Checkout the new chill-out corner (numberplates are welcome anytime:-) covered with a shade sail outside the existing kitchen to keep us cooler in summer in drier when it rains (which happened a LOT the past 12 months). The smallest hostel in 'the Alice', we are tucked away on a quiet street just opposite arid bush land and near our Botanic Gardens, yet only a five minute walk from the town centre. Being the smallest & quietest, we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and friendliness and we are happy to give you that extra bit of attention you will miss in the bigger places. Alice's Secret is an old fashioned communal hostel with shared facilities, that means lots of places to get together and share experiences with fellow travellers. Communal facilities include a fully equipped self catering kitchen; cozy TV/video lounge with A HUGE COLLECTION OF VIDEOS/DVDs for those days when you just want to be a lounge lizard; and a spacious and green backyard complete with bbq, sparkling saltwater swimming pool, fruit trees and abundant birdlife. Recently updated is our CHAT ROOM, with a cosy sofa and games. Guests are also encouraged to make good use of our in-house didgeridoos, guitar and piano. All our rooms are clean and comfortable, air conditioned in summer and heated in winter. You can choose between dormitory, single, twin or double rooms and we have GIRLS ONLY ROOM. All linen and duvets are provided. Our office hours is 10am-2pm, then 4pm-7pm...(Check-in 12PM-2PM & 4PM-7PM) If you arrive outside these hours, just leave your luggage in our CHAT ROOM, and enjoy the garden, the birds and the pool... You will find tea/coffee in the kitchen, feel free to help yourself (-:Please note our CHECKOUT time is 10:30. Check-ins AFTER 7pm is by PRIOR ARRANGEMENT ONLY! NOT A PARTY HOSTEL! NO LATE NOISE! Intoxicated guests will be asked to leave. No visitors at any time, sorry! We have a 48 hour cancellation policy, in other words we need your cancellation IN WRITING by 12pm ACST, 2 DAYS PRIOR TO YOUR CHECK-IN DATE (we are SMALL, so this is necessary). Otherwise we charge you for the first night of your booking in accordance with HOSTELWORLD'S POLICY! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alice's Secret Travellers Inn

Address: 6 Khalick St | East Side, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Price Range: $38 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Alice's Secret Travellers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay