We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Curtin Springs

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alice Springs
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Curtin Springs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 124: English reviews
New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed here several times. Nice cabins clean and comfy. Friendly staff. Only sell instant coffee - shame! No soap in toilets - very bad! Lots of caged birds and emus to see - fun for the kids to look around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shootingstars R
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Good morning Shootingstars R I've passed on your nice comment to staff in our staff meetings, it's always nice for them to hear the positives! Ah... the coffee question. Our water does not deal well with machinery and pipes in general and has been known to kill coffee machines in a very short period of time, so it is about...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came here with a group to have lunch and meet the owner of the cattle station. First, I admire her for what she is doing in managing this large station pretty much on her own. The lunch we were served was the worst I have had. The sandwiches were bland and dry, the beverage served was water only there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy N
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

I'm sorry Sandy that you didn't enjoy your stop with us. Your groups have a lunch and a talk booked with us, with a set menu and drink. Visitors with the group are more than welcome to wander around and look at the rolling photos displays with '000s of photos from over the last 60 years or read our history...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights. We had diner and breakfast. Food is good. Diner is not high class but it tastes good. It maby doesn't look so pretty but it's nice. We really loved it. Before you go hiking have a good breakie here, it will do you good. It's only 1 hour away from Uluru Park! Staff is so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yasemin T
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Thank you Yasemin for taking the time from you holiday to put up your review. I'm so very sorry that the staff member you mentioned did not do what was expected of her in getting the reported problem sorted straight away, as it should have been. There is no excuse or reason that she should have said what she did....

Brisbane
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Stayed in the powered sites. $40/night. No water at site but you can fill your tanks for free at the water tap next to the Unleaded Fuel bowser. The free campsite is huge. It was hot and lots of flies so wear a fly veil! The food is great, although a bit pricey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanmeg
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Hi Sanmeg In really remote locations, balance is the key word. The balance of having the breathtaking array of wildflowers after some winter rain this year, is that the rain also brings the flies. Yes, fly nets work really well for visitors who find the flies a bit hard to handle. We have the powered and unpowered sites for visitors....

Perth
Reviewed October 14, 2016

On our way from Uluru to Kings Canyon, Curtin Springs was a welcome fuel break (cheaper than Uluru) and opportunity to stock up on wine for the next part of our trip. Interesting property with popular dining areas (we didn't try). On our drive back to Western Australia, we stopped off for one night and enjoyed the free camping at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KyKPerth
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Thank you KyKPerth for taking time out of your holiday to say such lovely things about us. I'm sure you would have had some holiday pictures with the wildflowers from here across to the west, it has been amazing winter with regular little rainfalls to bring out the flowers. I hope your trip was all you had hoped it would...

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed September 19, 2016

We stopped here for breakfast on our way back from Uluru. It has a friendly, relaxed atmosphere and both our breakfasts were delicious, with very generous serves. We were sorry that we could not stay longer in this pleasant spot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darlene3501
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Hi Darlene3501 Thank you for your kind words, I have passed them onto the kitchen. We would have liked you to stay a little longer as well!! I'm sure the rest of your visit to this amazing part of the world was thoroughly enjoyable as well. Lyndee

Millicent, Australia
Reviewed September 9, 2016

Had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at Curtain Springs last weekend and loved every minute of it. We stayed in a double room with ensuite.. it was so cosy and warm and had everything we needed. The meals in the Bough Shed were magnificent .. the staff very friendly and helpful We had the pleasure of meeting and chatting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargieCsiPad
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Good morning MargieCsiPad What a lovely way to start out day. Thank you so much for your lovely words. I'm glad we were able to be a special part of your holiday. Thanks Lyndee

Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Ive been doing tours out here for the last few years and always enjoy bringing my passengers to Curtain Springs. Often Peter Severin ,one of the pioneers to tourism in Central Australia is enjoying a fosters at the bar and is keen to have a chat. Ashley and Lyndee are great hosts and are always willing to help if a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnniesPlace M
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Hi AnniesPlace Thank you for taking the time to put up such a lovely review. We see a lot of backpackers here and throughout Central Australia, it is a popular part of most people's visit to Australia and it takes all the operators working well together to give our visitors the best experience. With thanks Lyndee Severin

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed September 2, 2016

My husband and I were with a touring group which stayed here for two nights during a wonderful trip to the Red Centre. Our ensuited accommodation was clean and comfortable and met expectations for such a remote location. We enjoyed two breakfasts and two dinners in the 'bough shed' which more than met expectations. All meals were excellent, hearty country...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank porge
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Good morning Porge, thank you for such lovely words. I'm glad we were able to make such positive memories for your trip to our part of the world. I've passed on your such lovely comments to the cook and his staff. It's always such a pleasure to give them such wonderful feedback. with thanks, Lyndee

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

Dropped in both ways from Uluru. Cheery service, homemade soup and steak sandwich for lunch, then two egg and bacon sandwiches on return. Pleasant surroundings, clesn toilets, diesel cheaper than elsewhere. Liked it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fran K
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Thanks Fran K for including us twice in your trip. A lovely thing to know. I'll pass on your comments to the team! Lyndee

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
125.1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
364 reviews
124.6 mi away
Lasseters Hotel
Lasseters Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alice Springs
892 reviews
125.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
125.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
125.8 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
280 reviews
126.6 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Curtin Springs

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
They say home is where the heart is, even it it is spread over a million acres of remote Central Australia. Our lovely gardens provide an opportunity for you to take a break, unwind in what visitors refer to as an oasis. Our 27 accommodation rooms provide options for singles, families and groups in our Ensuite, Family or Budget rooms. Rooms with disabled access and full disabled bathrooms are available. We offer a perfect base from which to visit the Ayers Rock and Kings Canyon areas. Or stay a while and 'peel back the layers' by including our experiences, tours and hospitality in your travel plans. The historic Bough Shed offers the perfect place for a cold beer, hot cuppa or a lovely homestyle meal. A collection of our personal pictures and stories are available for visitors to share. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Curtin Springs

Address: Lasseter Highway, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Price Range: $29 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alice Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Curtin Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a spot near some shade”
  • View of Mount Conner
  • Lots of space between 'sites'
 of 5 bubbles KyKPerth, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with an ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles MargieCsiPad, Sep 9, 2016 | Read review
“lol :P there are no good ones!”
 of 5 bubbles michelleandbrad_13, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
“Spend the extra money for one of the Family rooms. These are two bedroom suites and a living room, will sleep up to 5 people”
 of 5 bubbles 602billh, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
“Don't waste your time unless you have your own shower and toilet”
 of 5 bubbles Lovista, Jun 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question