We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Curtin Springs

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alice Springs
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Curtin Springs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 129: English reviews
Start your review of Curtin Springs
 Click to rate
South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped off here twice - outbound & inbound - and I have to say that I was fascinated by everything that this place is. Obviously it's in the middle of nowhere and on the days we visited the temperatures were in the 40s. Ironically, I got and indulged a fantastic cup of tea ! Food was better than expected...and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nauj63
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Hello nauj63. Thank you for taking the time from your holiday to put up such a lovely review. You are absolutely right, there is nothing better than a good cuppa! I have passed on your words to our kitchen, they do appreciate hearing that their meals were appreciated. We have built up quite a lot of information for visitors to...

Oregon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff was very pleasant and friendly: we came over specifically to the do the paper tour (we were staying near Uluru in Yulara). My wife is a paper junkie and really wanted to do the tour. She of course loved it, but as a non-paper-afficionado I really enjoyed the tour as well. It was very interesting, informative, and well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seththegreat
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Thank you seththegreat for such lovely words. We are very proud of Curtin Springs Paper - where we make handmade paper from the native grasses on Curtin Springs Station. We find most visitors really enjoy the opportunity to experience our amazing landscape in a different way. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team, it's always nice to...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed January 1, 2017

Living in the NT you accept that accommodation out here is going to be basic, however this place has owners whom take pride in their venue and want to offer their customers a level above at a reasonable price - $170 for an ensuite room is not too bad considering the Yulara options start at $300 upwards! Our room had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smattyandkath
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Thank you Smattyandkath for such lovely words, I will make sure that all the staff see them. It is nice when visitors do appreciate the effort we make in such a remote location to make their stay comfortable. We do have a wash up area for the BBQ, which is around the corner from the BBQ, so it may have...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed December 17, 2016

Free Camping, good cold beer and nice stories, i'm proud to meet the 'old man" Sir Peter and get some really interesting nice details of his settlement 60 years ago.Dont get ripped off at the Ayers Rock and enjoy a meal from the chef here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alfonso m
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Thank you Alfonso m for such lovely words. Sitting with Peter is always a wonderful way to spend some time to hear about how things have changed, what the different issues were and are! And how we as a family live here, run a business here and raise a family, and look after the amazing land we are responsible for....

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed December 16, 2016 via mobile

I had a unplanned overnight stop at Curtin Springs. I stopped in to get fuel and something to eat and I enjoyed myself so much that I stayed for the night talking to Peter and Ben who lived there. I had a great breakfast in the morning and the staff were very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Thank you Robert for taking the time to put up a lovely review. Many of our visitors like to sit and listen and enjoy each others company here. I have passed on your comments to the kitchen, they always like to hear when they are doing a good job. I hope the rest of your trip and visit to Central...

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Have stayed here several times. Nice cabins clean and comfy. Friendly staff. Only sell instant coffee - shame! No soap in toilets - very bad! Lots of caged birds and emus to see - fun for the kids to look around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shootingstars R
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Good morning Shootingstars R I've passed on your nice comment to staff in our staff meetings, it's always nice for them to hear the positives! Ah... the coffee question. Our water does not deal well with machinery and pipes in general and has been known to kill coffee machines in a very short period of time, so it is about...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed November 20, 2016

We came here with a group to have lunch and meet the owner of the cattle station. First, I admire her for what she is doing in managing this large station pretty much on her own. The lunch we were served was the worst I have had. The sandwiches were bland and dry, the beverage served was water only there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy N
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

I'm sorry Sandy that you didn't enjoy your stop with us. Your groups have a lunch and a talk booked with us, with a set menu and drink. Visitors with the group are more than welcome to wander around and look at the rolling photos displays with '000s of photos from over the last 60 years or read our history...

Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights. We had diner and breakfast. Food is good. Diner is not high class but it tastes good. It maby doesn't look so pretty but it's nice. We really loved it. Before you go hiking have a good breakie here, it will do you good. It's only 1 hour away from Uluru Park! Staff is so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yasemin T
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Thank you Yasemin for taking the time from you holiday to put up your review. I'm so very sorry that the staff member you mentioned did not do what was expected of her in getting the reported problem sorted straight away, as it should have been. There is no excuse or reason that she should have said what she did....

Brisbane
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Stayed in the powered sites. $40/night. No water at site but you can fill your tanks for free at the water tap next to the Unleaded Fuel bowser. The free campsite is huge. It was hot and lots of flies so wear a fly veil! The food is great, although a bit pricey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanmeg
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Hi Sanmeg In really remote locations, balance is the key word. The balance of having the breathtaking array of wildflowers after some winter rain this year, is that the rain also brings the flies. Yes, fly nets work really well for visitors who find the flies a bit hard to handle. We have the powered and unpowered sites for visitors....

Perth
Reviewed October 14, 2016

On our way from Uluru to Kings Canyon, Curtin Springs was a welcome fuel break (cheaper than Uluru) and opportunity to stock up on wine for the next part of our trip. Interesting property with popular dining areas (we didn't try). On our drive back to Western Australia, we stopped off for one night and enjoyed the free camping at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KyKPerth
Lyndee S, Manager at Curtin Springs, responded to this review

Thank you KyKPerth for taking time out of your holiday to say such lovely things about us. I'm sure you would have had some holiday pictures with the wildflowers from here across to the west, it has been amazing winter with regular little rainfalls to bring out the flowers. I hope your trip was all you had hoped it would...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (88)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
125.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
125.1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
382 reviews
125.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
124.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
126.0 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
857 reviews
124.6 mi away
Alice in the Territory
Alice in the Territory
#11 of 13 in Alice Springs
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Curtin Springs

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
They say home is where the heart is, even it it is spread over a million acres of remote Central Australia. Our lovely gardens provide an opportunity for you to take a break, unwind in what visitors refer to as an oasis. Our 27 accommodation rooms provide options for singles, families and groups in our Ensuite, Family or Budget rooms. Rooms with disabled access and full disabled bathrooms are available. We offer a perfect base from which to visit the Ayers Rock and Kings Canyon areas. Or stay a while and 'peel back the layers' by including our experiences, tours and hospitality in your travel plans. The historic Bough Shed offers the perfect place for a cold beer, hot cuppa or a lovely homestyle meal. A collection of our personal pictures and stories are available for visitors to share. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Curtin Springs

Address: Lasseter Highway, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Price Range: $58 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Curtin Springs staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Curtin Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a spot near some shade”
  • View of Mount Conner
  • Lots of space between 'sites'
 of 5 bubbles KyKPerth, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with an ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles MargieCsiPad, Sep 9, 2016 | Read review
“lol :P there are no good ones!”
 of 5 bubbles michelleandbrad_13, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
“Spend the extra money for one of the Family rooms. These are two bedroom suites and a living room, will sleep up to 5 people”
 of 5 bubbles 602billh, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
“Don't waste your time unless you have your own shower and toilet”
 of 5 bubbles Lovista, Jun 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question