We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pmb 164, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0872 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity
$134
View Deal
Orbitz.com$134
Booking.com$133
Expedia.com$134
Hotwire.com$134
eDreams$133
Priceline$133
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (231)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (9)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ian and Lyn Conway established Kings Creek Station in 1981. The station lies 36 kilometres from the magnificent Kings Canyon (Watarrka) and is set amongst majestic desert oaks. Kings Creek Station is a working cattle/camel station with facilities for camping, accommodation and an opportunity to experience the outback either by quad (4 wheel motorbike), helicopter or camel. Basic supplies, meals and drinks can be bought at the station shop. You could even try one of our famous Kings Creek camel burgers!!!! The station is the largest exporter of wild camels in Australia and sells camels for live export, live domestic sales and meat. 37 documentaries have been filmed at Kings Creek and the station hosted Australian Geographics' fourth expedition. In 2001 the world famous Australian Safari travelled through and stayed at the station. Kings Creek Station has also been featured on 7 Sunrise Weather hosted by Grant Denyer in 2012.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Sun terrace
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
Contact
Pmb 164, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0872 Australia
Getting there
Connellan Airport76 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
351Reviews4Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 124
  • 110
  • 52
  • 37
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We camped for two nights at KC Station. The camp sites are great with grass (rare in this part of the world) and shade and personally chosen for you by one of the station workers to suit your requirements. Large fire pits are available in all areas as are basic camp kitchens. The pool was pretty rustic but refreshing and shaded from the 40 degree afternoon heat - a welcome relief. Great playground for the kids, laundry, and drinking water on tap. The cafe food was sensational and extremely efficient service. Highly recommend KC Station if you want a taste of real outback life, and if you aren’t too precious about the little luxuries city folk take for granted. We loved our time there.
Read more
Way too expensive for what was a dolls house (tent). Place looks like it needs lots of maintenance- doesn’t look like what is presented in the photos. Fortunately for us the place was fairly empty as I can’t imagine the ablution block would cope if a lot of people there. On the plus side the food was good.
Read more
Response from Rebecca A, Public Relations Manager at Kings Creek Station
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. Our Safari Cabins are very compact and are maintained daily. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the food! Safe Travels, KCS
Read more
Had a terrible experience with the Manager, after purchasing a bottle of $33 white wine which I tasted and thought was off / spoilt, I returned minutes later with the nearly full bottle and asked to have it replaced - I was made to look like I was wrong and he said it "just tastes like white wine to me" - no replacement was offered just a "we had it delivered last week so it should be fine" and upon me saying 'so you're happy for your customer to leave here unhappy?" his response was basically a "too bad buddy" shrug of the shoulders, he was rude and dismissive...what ever happened to the customer being right! This to me was a really poor show of hospitality and terrible service, I was so disappointed, I don't care so much about the $ or wine we then tipped on the ground, just the very poor response. Also try to avoid campsites closest to the Roadhouse or the main thoroughfare where the tour company buses drive through - you'll hear the diesel generators from the Roadhouse during the night and very early (around 6.30am) some mornings the Tour buses leave to head off on tours, so just avoid the sites near the big lawn or main toilet blocks which are closest to both these places. You'll also hear the staff using the Leaf Blower every morning at 7am if you're too close to the Roadhouse...so choose site as far away from this area!! The "camp kitchen" The Swimming pool apparently had a hole in it, so our kids couldn't use the pool which was disappointing given that was one of the main reasons we chose the place...no concessions were ever offered for this either.
Read more
Response from Rebecca A, Public Relations Manager at Kings Creek Station
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. The kitchen manager has received your feedback. The pool has been repaired, unfortunately a large rock was thrown into the pool and damaged the lining. Safe Travels, KCS
Read more
Excellent staff, very very clean showers and toilets. We had a bit of grass to set up our tent on our unpowered site. Our site was situated right next to a GREAT play ground. Ages 2, 3, 7 and 8 LOVED the playground. The donkey, horses and camels were also a big highlight for the kids to see. There is a lookout with a gorgeous sunset just a 5 min walk up a hill. There were picnic tables and sinks to use for cooking. Unfortunately there was no plug for the large sink which I needed to use as a bath for my 2 year old. There are washing machines and washing lines. No dryer though. Make sure to bring your own washing powder and pegs as they do not have these to purchase. We will definitely be back, this was 20km from Kings Canyon and a really nice drive. They also have quad bike tours and helicopter tours.
Read more
Response from Rebecca A, Public Relations Manager at Kings Creek Station
Responded Sep 8, 2019
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us a Kings Creek Station. We have replaced the plug and pegs often, but they just keep growing legs and running away. Thanks for letting us know, we will have them replaced asap. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again! Safe Travels, KCS
Read more
We stayed for 2 nights and while the tents where clean and the amenities well kept, we felt quite ripped off. We paid $400 for a tent with zilch privacy. The tents are vitually attached to each other you could hear people snoring, whispering it felt like a school camp. The casual staff barely raised a smile, directions to the sunset viewing were perfunctory and consequntly hard to follow. We helped a number of English speaking guests to locate the spot after they had wandered around looking for it. Breakfast was a very poor affair with only fried food, cereal on offer. I had to ask repeatadly for bread for toast. The station caters for tour buses and competition for breakfast was interesting. At no point were we advised that we would have to line up with tour buses. The biggest issue was definitly the tour bus groups who also had tents. As previously stated every noise was heard, when these groups got up at 6am. We all got woken up. Unless you are using the camping facilities and can choose your own site. Don't have high expectations for a great stay at Kings Creek Station
Read more
Response from Rebecca A, Public Relations Manager at Kings Creek Station
Responded Sep 8, 2019
Thanks for the feedback Geoff. Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our cabins. Due to our remoteness, there is very little sound coming from anywhere, so yes, other people can be heard. We keep the cabins in relatively close proximity as the bathroom and shower facilities need to be readily accessible to all. Our breakfast does consist of fried eggs and bacon, with baked beans, sausages and tomatoes. Toast is generally plentiful and there are 3 options of cereal. This breakfast has become very popular with guests and we do have tour groups and buses stop by for a hearty breakfast before a big day touring and climbing the magnificent Kings Canyon. Safe Travels, KCS
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$145 - $951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kings creek station hotel alice springs
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryRed CentreAlice Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kings Creek Station
What are some of the property amenities at Kings Creek Station?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Kings Creek Station?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Kings Creek Station?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kings Creek Station?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Kings Creek Station?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.