We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Kings Creek Station

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alice Springs
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kings Creek Station
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights in our caravan on a powered site, or should I say a powered house block sized site. We were recommended to stay here for a real red centre experience with the luxury of basic facilities while using it as a base to visit Kings Canyon. We enjoyed every minute with our own campfire area, picnic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crackity_J0nes
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Unlike many other reviewers we found this place to be very friendly and we chatted to a number of very interesting young people. Yes it seems to be run by backpackers but they did a good job from what we saw. Breakfast very good, coffee not so good and the machine broke down that morning. Our friend didn't have breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ahajtrip
Boyne Island, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a start - it is raining and we are allocated the safari tent furthest from the amenities, camp kitchen & car park. Go back to reception and get a tent closer. Told we must order food by 6pm to be able to eat in "restaurant". Only 5 of the 25 tents in use why didn't they give us a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank eaelse
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped @ Kings Creek Station cafe for lunch. Had a fabulous Camel Burger along with both a cold beer & a (aircraft size) bottle of wine. The burger was great- highly recommended. As for the beer & wine, it was the most reasonably priced alcohol available anywhere in the Red Centre.

Helpful?
Thank Kaye B
Rebecca L, Front Office Manager at Kings Creek Station, responded to this review

Thanks for stopping in at Kings Creek Station, glad you enjoyed our famous camel burger:-) More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the station as part of a tour booking and we were very impressed with the facilities. We stayed in a swag for the evening and everyone had a great time. Unfortunately, when we arrived we had signed up to do quad biking and signed our lives away on the piece of paper as required. When we got... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura J
Rebecca L, Manager at Kings Creek Station, responded to this review

Im glad that you enjoyed KCS station facilities and your overnight swag experience, but I'm sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience on the Quad bike tour. Our Quad experiences are something we take great pride in and we also take the safety side very seriously. For 15 years we have had an impeccable track record but... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the station & so pleased we did. The staff were friendly & informative. Spent a lovely afternoon on the verandah of the cafe/restaurant/bar watching the sun go down over the hill in fiery reds, purples, pinks sipping on a glass of wine & beers talking to the working hands on the station. There is no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
South Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

If you are going to stay here, definitely ask for a more remote camping spot in the grounds.... We live on a farm in country South Australia and expected proper 'station camping'. When we arrived we quickly realised that we were in the busiest part of what felt like a caravan park. Upon looking around later, realised that there are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie1971
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

Unlike nearly EVERY other campground in Australia Kings Creek has placed space between the camp sites. We can't quite figure out why such a large and beautiful country squeezes campers together - frequently just a couple meters between caravan, tent etc. So good on ya Kings Creek! Had a nice stay, enjoyed sunset at Tank Hill, and a pretty good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian N
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

The front staff were very friendly and helpful and the site was OK, BUT all we got was a patch of dirt and a cold shower. Even this would have been acceptable if the prices of sites, fuel etc not been so outrageous. I understand that due to their isolation the cost of necessities must be higher but I think... More 

Helpful?
Thank nigel s
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

A caravan/camping area that is a great location close to kings Canyon. However be aware that you must be prepared to pay $40++ per night for an ablution block with 3 dirty showers, 3 dirty toilets and a very sub standard camp kitchen.

Helpful?
Thank Denise w
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.2 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lasseters Hotel
Lasseters Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ian and Lyn Conway established Kings Creek Station in 1981. The station lies 36 kilometres from the magnificent Kings Canyon (Watarrka) and is set amongst majestic desert oaks. Kings Creek Station is a working cattle/camel station with facilities for camping, accommodation and an opportunity to experience the outback either by quad (4 wheel motorbike), helicopter or camel. Basic supplies, meals and drinks can be bought at the station shop. You could even try one of our famous Kings Creek camel burgers!!!! The station is the largest exporter of wild camels in Australia and sells camels for live export, live domestic sales and meat. 37 documentaries have been filmed at Kings Creek and the station hosted Australian Geographics' fourth expedition. In 2001 the world famous Australian Safari travelled through and stayed at the station. Kings Creek Station has also been featured on 7 Sunrise Weather hosted by Grant Denyer in 2012. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kings Creek Station

Address: PMB 164, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Price Range: $15 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Creek Station 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Kings Creek Station Hotel Alice Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing