We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alice Springs YHA

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alice Springs YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 111: English reviews
Start your review of Alice Springs YHA
 Click to rate
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is like an oasis! The rooms were modern and very clean. The pool and outside area had a laid-back relaxed atmosphere. It is not a party hostel which is nice! Plenty of cooking facilities as well as fridges and cupboard space in the kitchen. Also has a lounge/tv area. Laundry was kept very clean too. There is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is great, looked at the other hostel but none are in the town centre. The facilities are quiet good as well, they have laundry, kitchen and common area. Also they have a pool. It is good value for money, especially for a family. Staff are nice and it has a good atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenAvo
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 12, 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of an organised tour in September 2016. The hostel is in a good location - you can walk into the centre of Alice Springs in a few minutes. We were checked in quickly and given a 4-bed dorm room on the ground floor. The rooms were good, not the biggest but equally not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheLush101
Reviewed January 18, 2017 via mobile

The hostel is brilliant, the facilities were excellent and everything was very clean. I particularly liked the lounge area it made you feel like you were at home! However it seemed that there was a lot of older people living in the hostel, I got the vibe that some worked for accommodation and some were just living there. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natasha210
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 5, 2017

Stayed 6 nights in a 4 bed male dorm'. Given a top bunk after requesting a lower one due to my advancing years but no luck. Bed clean and bedding more than adequate. Good shower toilet arrangements but 2 of the 4 in the main block had no lights, rendering them all but useless after dark. A/C not controllable from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnhensser
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed December 25, 2016 via mobile

Its actually quite a nice YHA situated in the centre and small enough to have a familiar atmosphere. They have even a pool! But unfortunately, the room was veeeery hot during the night, with no aircon or fan. Also the mosquito net had big wholes. When you open a window, you can hear every noise from outside. Therefore, we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna_jonas
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Alice Springs YHA, responded to this review

Hi Joanna, thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear that it was very hot. The aircon works but we had lots of rain over the Christmas period with very high humidity which is why it was still very hot. We've passed on your feedback on to management as part of our continual improvement program. Hope you had a great...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed December 7, 2016

Traveling with grandson & 4WD. I use YHA's as Cheap accommodation. This one is well located, well set out, clean, well run, with a wide mix of nationalities. Good pool, laundry, kitchen & dining room. Lounge with WiFi and TV. Staff suggested I put the 4WD inside each night, as local petty thief is a problem, and we had gear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterelliottart
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

This was my first hostel experience and I was really impressed. Great location, friendly staff, nice room, excellent kitchen facilities & clean and tidy bathroom with good showers. Wifi wasn't the best in the communal area so I paid for the premium service. Overall I enjoyed my stay & would recommend this hostel to others :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie I
Millington, New Jersey
Reviewed November 25, 2016

After staying in a terrible hostel in Cairns just days before my stay, I very much enjoyed my time at YHA. The rooms were clean, the people were down to earth, and the customer service was stellar. What more can you ask for? On top of that they had a great pool which is amazing especially in the intense Outback...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William S
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

Very nice hostel in good location. Rooms are bit chilly because of the AC but better that than super hot. Everything is clean and bathrooms are really good! Internet is quite slow but I would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siiri T
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.0 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
874 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique and friendly hostel located in an historic former outdoor movie theatre. Right in the centre of town, close to transport, shops and sights. Multi share, twin/double and family rooms available. Kitchen, laundry, pool and free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alice Springs YHA

Address: Cnr Parsons Street and Leichhardt Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Price Range: $19 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alice Springs YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Alice Springs YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alice Springs YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ground floor”
  • My top bunk in a 4 bed dorm'
 of 5 bubbles johnhensser, Jan 5, 2017 | Read review
“A lot of rooms are upstairs, which makes life hard if you're disabled. Check with staff first.”
 of 5 bubbles peterelliottart, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“I recommend the private rooms although the premium wifi doesnt work as good in them (theyre on the second floor)”
 of 5 bubbles Magellan1492, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
“Be careful when you venture out at night i was chased down by some guys asking me for money.”
 of 5 bubbles 265amitg, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“First floor not suggested!!”
 of 5 bubbles lucianoferro61, Jun 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question