We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (20)
Room & Suite (6)
Pool & Beach (2)

About

#10 of 30 Specialty lodging in Alice Springs
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A unique and friendly hostel located in an historic former outdoor movie theatre. Right in the centre of town, close to transport, shops and sights. Multi share, twin/double and family rooms available. Kitchen, laundry, pool and free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available).
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Outdoor pool
Vending machine
Bicycle rental
Game room
Fax / photocopying
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Internet
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
171Reviews
2Q+A
23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 48
  • 76
  • 35
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hostel is in a good central location. I found the accomodation to be clean including the dorm and kitchen. I loved the outdoor movies each evening especially watching Rabbit Proof Fence - I have watched this movie several times, but this was the perfect location for it. The staff at the hostel were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend it.
Read more
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Guest Relations Manager at Alice Springs YHA
Responded May 12, 2019
Hi Jenny - that is certainly a great movie to see whilst in Central Australia! Our hostel used to be an outdoor movie theatre so we love to keep the tradition going with guest movies.
Read more
It's a nice place with a good AC (not too Cold) and a lot of shady places outside. If you are still too hot there is a pool to cool down. It’s clean and tidy but you still might met cockroaches in the night crawling around outside.
Read more
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Guest Relations Manager at Alice Springs YHA
Responded Mar 24, 2019
hi Steve - great you had a good time. Cockroaches are an Australian institution! They are fine so long as they stay outside - we use pest services to make sure they do ... Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Read more
Very friendly staff ! The German man at the desk was very friendly and full of good advises on where to go and what to do. The common area are cute and the tiny pool is a plus for the very warm days. The kitchen is big enough and the TV room very comfy. Showers are very clean and pretty big. Rooms are spacious (especially private room) with no air con but a fan system that brings air in the room. Location is perfect and close to everything.
Read more
43 degree heat outside, bedroom has no aircon, to make up for lack of aircon there's not even a fan - thats bordering inhumane. Horribly hot and stuffy in room. The communal spaces are not much cooler than outside either. Front desk is not always staffed, you have to wait around for the receptionist. Bad smelling bathrooms. Worst YHA I have ever stayed in.
Read more
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Front Office Manager at Alice Springs YHA
Responded Jan 7, 2019
Hi Sophie - as our rooms are air conditioned, we are not sure what was the issue here. Did you talk to reception? We would have investigated and got the machines checked as we want our guests to have a good night's sleep. So sorry that you had issues - never hesitate to come talk to us, please.
Read more
Really dissapointed by my stay at this hostel. The room I stayed in was pretty average at first glance but at $25 a night you get what you pay for. The issues began after a few nights when it became apparent there were bed bugs and my friends and I all started noticing little red spots appearing all over our legs. Another girl staying in my dorm had her bed get saturated one night after it rained and reported it to reception who didn't do anything about it. The kitchen and ammenities were good but one big tour from Uluru came in and had a BBQ and drank all my milk and used mine and a couple of other guests food. Nothing was done about this. Then about a week later I left my handbag sitting on one of the tables on the outdoor eating area while I went to use the bathroom and I came back and it had been stolen by someone who jumped the fence. The hostel obviously didn't take responsibility for this although they have cameras all around the hostel but none that got a look at the person who stole my bag. The fence where the person jumped hasn't been fixed and still they don't warn people not to leave valuables inside the hostel to avoid theft. Would've really helped me out if I got a warning that this stuff happened here because I wouldn't have left my bag behind an unsecure fence. A few nights after that I had a weirdo staying in the hostel set my car on fire out the front when I told him I was leaving To top it all off, I called the hostel for the third time to find out if my replacement bank card had arrived and was finally put through to a managed who responded saying he "returned to sender because it's not his mail and he doesn't want it" there" Big pain in the butt for me considering all of my ID and cards were in my handbag when it got stolen and the only reason I was able to get a replacement card sent was because I knew the person working in the bank in Alice springs. Now I'm in SA and I'm up Schit Creek without a paddle and little-to-no craps given by the authority of the YHA. Unprofessional, unreliable, and unsafe.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$20 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryRed CentreAlice Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing