We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Desert Palms Alice Springs

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Desert Palms Alice Springs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 289: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The room was old and run down, we had a four person room that was small and cramped. As we arrived we discovered there was a plumbing problem, the toilet and sinks would not drain, they were full of water and almost overflowing. After a discussion with the manager we were told the plumber is on his way but in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tara2412
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I do sympathise with your frustration of not being able to shower as soon as your arrived. I would like to explain though what happened - Sunday at about 10am, we had a blockage in one the family rooms, the whole block was affected, we called our plumbing out and they cleared the blockage,... More 

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was booked into into Desert Palms as the place I usually stay at was fully booked. Having been there before I was interested to see if anything had changed in the five years since I was last there. The short answer is no. While the rooms were clean and tidy, and the room was equipped with limited self catering... More 

Helpful?
Thank conatus
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms are very tired and could use a renovation. The beds are not particularly comfortable. Our room only got serviced once on our 6 night stay, even though it should have been done every day accept Sunday. complained to manager and she "checked her records", which was a hand-written price of paper, and then told us that they had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brett w
Angie R, Manager at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review

Hi Brett, Thank you for the feedback in relation to our housekeeping and WiFi service (or lack there of.) I do recall speaking to you in reception when you advised us that your room was not serviced. I did at that time check my records that you were in fact on our list to be done, which you were, so... More 

Travelers are raving about these Alice Springs hotels

Brugg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the second time I be here. Staff ob the reception again more than friendly and helpfull - er got already special discount, just because of the second visite in two months - I'm a regular then Pool is very nice, except the western tourist can't read about opening time Very nice place, quiet and very secure - closed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NoSt99
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your lovely review. I are glad you enjoyed our pool and found the staff very friendly and helpful. I have passed your review on to them. Regards Angie More 

devonport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights before leaving for Uluru and after returning from Uluru. Desert Palms is a great place to stay. There is a reception that sells some small grocery items including fresh milk. The rooms are comfortable, maybe the decor alittle dated but the room is clean and still very nice. The rooms have a stove top, kettle,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank chelle6431
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I have passed on to the staff and thanked them for being so friendly and helpful. Regards Angie More 

Sherbrooke, Quebec
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place was very handy. We stayed there when we arrived in the Red Centre and on our way out. It does require having access to a car, but this is not a major drawback to most, because people rent cars there, anyways. Little kitchen with all that is needed to cook a simple meal or breakfast. Clean, despite the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lelecabral
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had 2 nights here and it was a welcome relief from camping. The accommodation was comfortable and gave us a chance to wash and repack before resuming our camping tour. It was a comfortable walk to the town centre and easy access to golf club for dinner. The receptionist was so accomodating with requests for change for laundry &... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen B
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review

Thank you Colleen for your review. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the receptionist was so accommodating. Yes the winter is a bit chilly for swimming but the pool is great in the hot summer months with 40oC days. Kind regards More 

Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

The staff were friendly and nothing was too much bother. They knew where to go for the best food, tours, shopping. They actually knew their local area. The rooms were clean and tidy, with everything you could need in them. The grounds were beautiful, neat, tidy and so pretty with stunning birdlife. The pool looked so clean, large and was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank H7342JAkathym
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff so friendly and our facilities clean and tidy. Hopefully we will see you back some day and I will pass on your review and thank everyone. Kind regards Angie More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

On booking for two nights we requested a quiet room at the rear of the property as a previous TA reviewer had suggested. Well we duly received a room at the rear of the property- problem was it was far from quiet. We ended up with two huge tour buses parked directly opposite our front balcony with drivers who had... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Claudekerry
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have spoken to management and they said "Yes they had read your review" They were surprised to read you found the receptionist was disinterested as I must say all our reception staff are normally very helpful and cheerful. They are sure though that if you could of been moved they certainly would have but... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

Fabulous resort very comfortable lodgings all fully self contained beautiful grounds with palm trees galore and a wonderful swimming pool we used the laundry facilities which were great as we were on an extended road trip, we stayed twice here on our way up to the Kimberley then on our way back to hike the Larapinta trail these guys have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank endlessumers
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review

Hi and many thanks for your great review. It was a pleasure to read and also although your adventures had some brake downs (which I are sure added to the adventure) we were able to make you stay more enjoyable when you finally arrived. Safe travels and maybe we will see you back someday. Cheers More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.2 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lasseters Hotel
Lasseters Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An oasis in the outback, the Desert Palms is a 3.5 star outback property offering individual studio villa accommodation, set around a crystal clear free-form pool with island, waterfall and surrounded by tropical gardens. All villas are air-conditioned and include bougainvillea-covered verandahs, private en suites and kitchenette facilities. The hotel offers outstanding value for the visitor wanting comfort at an affordable price. We're located in the main accommodation centre of Alice Springs on the banks of the Todd River, close to town, Lasseters Casino - Alice Springs entertainment hot spot, the Convention Centre and the Alice Springs Golf Club is our backyard. Some of the best restaurants in Alice Springs are within meters of the Desert Palms. These include the Golf Course Club House, Hanumans (Indian/Thai) and Balloons Bistro at the Double Tree by Hilton and four restaurants at Lasseters Casino including the Juicy Rump. We offer a small kiosk/shop on-site where food items and liquor can be purchased, a guest laundry, BBQ area, secure gated off street parking directly outside each villa and FREE Wifi. Desert Palms offers a calm, peaceful environment, which creates a sense of relief for the weary traveller. After a hectic day of travelling by road or air take pleasure in watching the world go by on the privacy of your own private balcony surrounded by palm trees while watching the spectacular sunsets over the MacDonald Ranges. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Desert Palms Alice Springs

Address: Desert Palms Resort 74 Barrett Dr | PO Box 3196, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Price Range: $88 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Palms Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Desert Palms Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel Alice Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay