We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Desert Palms Alice Springs

Traveler (112)
Room & Suite (35)
Pool & Beach (12)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
An oasis in the outback, the Desert Palms is a 3.5 star outback property offering individual studio villa accommodation, set around a crystal clear free-form pool with island, waterfall and surrounded by tropical gardens. All villas are air-conditioned and include bougainvillea-covered verandahs, private en suites and kitchenette facilities. The hotel offers outstanding value for the visitor wanting comfort at an affordable price. We're located in the main accommodation centre of Alice Springs on the banks of the Todd River, close to town, Lasseters Casino - Alice Springs entertainment hot spot, the Convention Centre and the Alice Springs Golf Club is our backyard. Some of the best restaurants in Alice Springs are within meters of the Desert Palms. These include the Golf Course Club House, Hanumans (Indian/Thai) and Balloons Bistro at the Double Tree by Hilton and four restaurants at Lasseters Casino including the Juicy Rump. We offer a small kiosk/shop on-site where food items and liquor can be purchased, a guest laundry, BBQ area, secure gated off street parking directly outside each villa and FREE Wifi. Desert Palms offers a calm, peaceful environment, which creates a sense of relief for the weary traveller. After a hectic day of travelling by road or air take pleasure in watching the world go by on the privacy of your own private balcony surrounded by palm trees while watching the spectacular sunsets over the MacDonald Ranges.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Outdoor pool
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS
504Reviews
134Photos
7Q+A
72Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 106
  • 212
  • 119
  • 46
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Self contained villas were comfortable, clean and upgraded. Kitchenette was basic but had everything we needed to avoid eating in restaurants three times a day. No cafe service available but two hotels just a short walk away have espresso stands. Pool is fine but not as large as
Read more
This is was a major let down. It looks nice on the outside but the interior is disgusting. The furniture is shabby, beds are not comfortable. And worst of all it was not clean. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. The bathroom floors were nasty and the electric
Read more
Response from Angie R, General Manager at Desert Palms Alice Springs
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you Rochelle for your review. I are really sorry you did not enjoy it. We are only 3 star and that is what we promote ourselves as. It does concern me though you mention the place was dirty and did not look like it had been cleaned in months. I can assure you this is definitely not the case, the rooms are cleaned daily for inhouse guests except Sundays and always a thorough clean on departure. Usually people complement us on our clean rooms so it was a surprise to read you comment. I have asked reception and they cannot recall you bringing to our attention any problems with cleaning while you stayed with us. That is a shame as we would have been able to check out what you were referring to at the time and certainly made amends if there was a problem.
Read more
We booked this place on a friends recommendation and it didn’t disappoint! The little lodges were so cute with a veranda out the front to sip on some wine in the evening. The swimming pool I didn’t use but there were plenty of people using it. The resort has a mini kiosk where
Read more
Response from Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Angie
Read more
Beautiful pool especially the sun beds 😍 so relaxing with a book ! Perfect little villas for families or couples With good amenities inside for cooking . But the pillows on our beds were honestly the worst ever they defiantly need attention !
Read more
Response from Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs
Responded Feb 25, 2019
Thank you Brooke for your review, I are glad you enjoyed your stay and the swimming pool. I have noted your comments though re the pillows and will definitely look into this as it does concern me. Unfortunately we do not know what room you were actually staying in but will get housekeeping to check all rooms. Thanks Angie
Read more
This used to be a great place to stay in the past, but now since a change of management it is not worth the money. The queen bed in the room was broken with a huge dip in the middle. We found hair on the sheets in the bed. Both of us had a terrible nights sleep and had sore
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Rincón bajo la TV de la habitación 106: ¡regalo sorpresa!
standard cabin
standard cabin
standard cabin
Kitchen area
PreviousNext
1234567
Hi, if you mean the supermarket and main CBD approximately 15 to 20 minutes depending how fast a walker you are. A taxi is approximately $8. If you are looking for restaurants we have several around us. The Golf Club Club house 100 mtrs. Hilton with restaurants next door and the Lassetters Casino approximately 500 mtrs. Regards
1 vote
Yes we do have brochures in our front office and the reception staff are more than willing to phone and make bookings for you. Regards AR
1 vote
Show all answers
Are towels for the pool provided?
Yes just ask at the reception for a pool towel.
1 vote
Hi do you have rooms with wheelchair access, disabled facilities?
Hello, we have 4 rooms with a ramp to the balcony and rails in the bathroom. These rooms only have 1 x queen size bed. The property is all flat and ground level. Please call the property on 0889 525977 if you would like to ask some more questions. Kind Regards Angie
1 vote
Hi No the resort does not have a shuttle but there are taxi's at the airport and it's only about 10 minutes by car.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Don't stay here!"
"There are no good rooms"
"Nothing to report"
"Eat at the Golf Course Bistro out back!"
"Rooms are all the same, but if you don´t like the afternoon sun, specially when its hot, take a cabin to the east."
PreviousNext
12345615
PRICE RANGE
$88 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
desert palms hotel alice springsdesert palms alice springs
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryRed CentreAlice Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing