We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ross River Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alice Springs
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ross River Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 125: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is a practical place to stay. If you want to explore the East McDonnell ranges without having to return to Alice then this is perfect. The use of the word resort is, however, not a true representation. The website says the options for accomadation include "or a bit of outback luxury with an Ensuite rustic cabin..........". Rustic is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crommo080
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Ross River. The term homestead in the trading name would be more appropriate I would agree, as the resort badge is used rather loosely in these parts. Our find our ensuite cabins are outback luxury to those who have been camping or roughing it or just in search of... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

We were there for an event with over 700 attendees, but I had my 3 young girls with me too. It has some magic this place, in beautiful surrounds and only a short ride out of Alice. The cabins are rustic but we were very comfortable! We all slept so well! Very clean. If we go through Alice again I... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachel s
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and it is great to hear that you really enjoyed your time at Ross River. We try very hard to make this a unique experience. It is really important to get kids (and ourselves!!) back to nature and away from all the modern day life that is thrown at us. I hope we can welcome... More 

Naracoorte, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

Magnificent scenic road out to station but the man at desk was absolutely sick of tourists. I wasn't sure if he was just joking or plain rude, it appeared to be the latter i am afraid. Just stick to magnificent gorges on the way and remember to read signs.

Helpful?
Thank gofid
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and letting us know your experience. As the manager I was not on the property during this time that you mention, and the person concerned has been addressed. I am very sorry for the experience you received. The East Mac Donnell ranges are a magnificent location and not on the... More 

Glenbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016

We had the good fortune to spend a couple of days camping at Ross River Resort. A beautiful place with all the amenities you need for camping. There are many beautiful walks in remote valleys to explore with a definite sense of the outback!

Helpful?
Thank David B
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about our beautiful location. We think our campground is pretty special and gives you an opportunity to soak up the magnificent East Mac Ranges and explore. Some grass, basic amenities and an amazing backdrop! I think that is what it is all about :) More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016

We were at Ross River for an event but when we arrived there were only a few people there. It is a lovely spot. Over the weekend, the numbers rose to 700+ people but you could still get a hot shower and have room to move. The staff worked closely hard to keep everything clean and functioning and we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank yeti5
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

The World Rogaining Titles were an amazing event to host at Ross River Resort and we had people from all over the world converging on us for a few days and then trekking off into the outback for a full on 24 hour event! Glad you had such a great time and it was a pleasure to be of service... More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

Arrived late afternoon looking for a powered site to find the place fully booked by Rogaine for the weekend. However they allowed us to camp on the grassed area in front of the main building (this is a big thing as grass is not something these places will usually let vehicles onto) and connect to a power source with access... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneRaewyn
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Hosting World events and then accommodating individual travellers where we can is not a daily event but our approach is to try and look after ALL those who wander to the end of the Ross Highway and come across the Homestead and facilities. Glad you had a great time despite the huge influx of people we had, (bit busier than... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
251 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

This is worth the 78 km drive to the end of the East MacDonnell Ranges. Staff very friendly and helpful. No need to book in for powered site at 40 dollars per night. Lots of space in lovely setting with clean toilet area and lots of showers. Homestead is beautifully perserved with large dining area and bar full of lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank markmik
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. So glad you enjoyed your Ross River experience and there really is so much to see in the East Mac Donnell Ranges you have to stay longer than a night! Currently unpowered sites are $25 per night and powered $33. With a grassed campground it can be a... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

The original homestead built around 1890 is the hub of this rustic resort. Located about 80km east of Alice amongst the East MacDonnall ranges, the trip out on an excellent road is a beaut experience in itself. We called in for lunch and can recommend the burger, with the lot! Didn't need dinner.... The resort has a caravan park as... More 

Helpful?
Thank jaybee754
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Our burgers do have a great reputation! Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Make sure you come back for longer and stay next time :) More 

Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

This is a beautiful place to stay. They have walks available from moderate to very easy. You can have a fire if you wish. Fire wood is available if you don't bring your own. The Homestead is beautiful and you can sit back in comfort while having a drink. The food and all staff are very good and helpfull. There... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GregRita
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and I am suspecting that the shower issue, came from the ladies showers as the showers have been plumbed back to front to normal, and we do have signs up warning ladies on the outside of the cubicles but sometimes habit and even... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

Beautiful drive through East McDonnell Ranges en route - lots of good walks along the way. Cabin very basic, forgot to put towels in room, but cheerily fixed. Central communal eating area very big with one intimate dining room for hire. Food very basic. It's fine as long as you don't expect much. It's the outback, so apparently an occasional... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fra P
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The large dining room that houses the bar can seem large when not many people in there. We are lucky that there are three smaller intimate rooms in the historical homestead that people can utilise so as not to be "lost"in the larger space. They are actually not required to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
45.6 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
45.4 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
45.5 mi away
Lasseters Hotel
Lasseters Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
45.1 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
44.4 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ross River Homestead is situated 85km east of Alice Springs and is set amongst the awe-inspiring East MacDonnell Ranges. Take the time to discover what is a magical part of the great Australian Outback and enjoy friendly,homely hospitality. Ross River Resort offers: -Rustic cabins with ensuite and air conditioning -Bunkhouse accommodation (seasonal) -Camp ground and caravan park with powered and unpowered sites (bookings not taken except for groups) -Swimming pool and spa -EFTPOS facilities -Dining room in historical homestead -Conference facilities and group catering -Stockman's bar -Bird life -Bushwalking -A haven for artists and writers -Fuel, ice and gas bottle refills -1.4 Km airstrip and helipads - Aviation clubs welcome ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ross River Resort

Address: Ross Hwy, Via Alice Springs | P.O. Box 3271, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Price Range: $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing