We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Carrington Apartments

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Carrington Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Carrington Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 72: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The Apartment we stayed in was very tired, although clean. Faded Lounge, broken furniture, broken dishwasher, mouldy shower curtain to name a few of the features! The smell of cigarette smoke coming through the ventilation was disgusting. Glad that we were only there to sleep and were out the rest of the time. Whilst the location was convenient to public... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank reards71
CarringtonSydney, Manager at Carrington Apartments, responded to this review

It could appear this party may be confused at which location they spent their Sydney holiday. At the Carrington Apartments in York St Sydney each apartment has a seperate air conditioning unit with fresh air being drawn from outside the building. Each apartment is also fitted with extractor ventilation which is exhausted directing to above roof level at a height... More 

Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Old and shambolic. Bathroom tap came off in my hand, cracks in the sink and toilet bowl, mouldy old carpet. Kitchen implements about 100 years old - in fact this place was a disgrace. Rated (by itself) 3 stars - should be NIL, and is a blight in the city.

Helpful?
4 Thank kiwiinaussie

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

auckland-NZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

if you're not fussy,this hotel is the best you can get in CBD-related to apartment size-very good,price for central location-more than goood,child safety-good,balcony-v.good for smokers.Apartment looks a bit old but i don't mind-if you're fussy you can get other hotel but...you have to pay much more over AUD$200a night.Remember i'm talking about 1bedroom apartment with bathroom,shower,balkony,kitchen with almost all you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kiwisOnTheGo
Christchurch
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Our apartment was tired looking but it was clean. We would have liked a better view, Looking at offfices opposite made you feel as though they were looking at you. Nice to have fresh towels every day. A liitle noisy some nights from quests in other units and the air conditioner making a noise,had to turn it off. The gentleman... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nannie48
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Our family group of 2 adults & 2 children are regular travelers and not the type of people who go on holidays to sit around watching TV. We all love City life and Sydney is perfect offering both the excitement of a City with beaches and Parks on your doorstep. The Carrington Apartments were recommended to us by some good... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank angeandjerry
Northern NewSouth Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

My wife & I just stayed in apartment 933 on the 9th Floor for 6 days and it was perfect. After reading a couple of the last reviews, which were so different to comments left earlier my wife was concerned but being a retired accountant I prefer to look at facts. The previous reviewers were from experience travellers wherein the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoad2010
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

VERY budget accomodation and expensive! Decor is very old and tired. Dirty carpets, mould in bathrooms, hob missing on stove top, poorly equipped kitchen - broken crockery with many chipped items, dirty crockery -had not been properly cleaned, rusty utensils, lights not working, headboard on bed broken, stains on carpet, and bed linen. Old kitchen sponges and brushes provided. We... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank caihel
CarringtonSydney, Group General Manager at Carrington Apartments, responded to this review

As stated previously I am very interested in all comments from past guests as it is an invaluable source of feedback for our management team. Our policy is not to comment, but to investigate if a problem does exist and then rectify the situation. As we have an extremely high occupancy rate which is due mainly from returning guests, that... More 

brisbane, QLD
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

from reading other reviews it seems that some rooms are better than others. we were 3 women who regularly travel in Aust and overseas so are willing to put up with some things, but our 2 bedroom room was old and broken down. our air con did not work, the bathroom was mouldy, with tiles coming off. Doors missing off... More 

Helpful?
Thank piece-of-the-world
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

good location close to town. kitchen cupboards missing, shower leaks through wall and runs water across dining room and has done so for some time, fist hole in bedroom door, noisy at lower level due to major bus route outside building, foyer smells like the CSI team has just cleaned up from a murder scene. Not a place for a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank davidfish
CarringtonSydney, Group General Manager at Carrington Apartments, responded to this review

I am very interested in all comments from past guests as it is an invaluable source of feedback for our management team. Our policy is not to comment, but to investigate if a problem does exist and then rectify the situation. Each and ever guest is encouraged during their stay to bring to the attention of our friendly staff any... More 

Kent, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

The other write-ups on these apartments generally provide an accurate representation. Ours was a one bedroom apartment (number 37, on the tenth floor) at the front of the block overlooking York Street. Overall the apartment was large. The location is great, right in the middle of town and within easy walking distance to Circular Quay, the Rock, Darling Harbour and... More 

Helpful?
Thank MapManUK
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#81 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Central Business District
Napoleon on Kent
Napoleon on Kent
#114 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#70 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room

Additional Information about Carrington Apartments

Address: 57 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Wynyard
Price Range: $117 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Carrington Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Apartments Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay