We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1831 Boutique Hotel

Traveler (269)
360
Panoramas (20)
Room & Suite (147)

About

#96 of 195 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set behind a gorgeous heritage listed façade in the centre of Sydney’s entertainment and theatre precinct, 1831 Boutique Hotel holds the story of the George Street townscape in its walls. Take a short stroll to Chinatown, Darling Harbour, World Square and Central Station, or simply relax and enjoy all the comforts of home set in an astoundingly beautiful piece of Sydney’s history. With multiple room configurations we cater to budget conscious guests, corporate travellers, or leisurely holidayers. We take great pride in ensuring your stay with us is a totally unique experience by having rooms as individual as the guests which they host.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 6 more

Location

Full view
Neighborhood
Chinatown
Tiger-flanked archways on Dixon Street mark the entrance to the “little Asia” of Sydney. A walk through Chinatown is a feast for the senses where aromas, tastes, sounds and visions of dancing tigers transport you to a different world. Chinatown visitors can expect a melting pot of Asian food at the neighborhood's specialty delis and groceries. From yum cha to handmade noodles, BBQ ducks hanging in the window to Asian sweets and bakeries, there is something for all tastes. Paddy’s Markets is the largest flea market in Sydney where you can find souvenirs, clothing, gifts and fruit and vegetables at unbeatable prices. At night, Chinatown comes alive with entertainment including theater, nightclubs and bars that are open until the early morning.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
1,469Reviews
26Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 405
  • 623
  • 271
  • 89
  • 81
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Good hotel stay - walking distance to Central station which is pretty well connected to everywhere. Friendly staff, lively street. Walking distance to Paddy Market. Would stay here again even though the hotel seems to be located in a building that is undergoing renovation.
Read more
Response from 1831BoutiqueHotel, Front Office Manager at 1831 Boutique Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Felicia L, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at 1831 Boutique Hotel, and we are very humbled to receive a 5-star rating! I'm glad we ticked all the boxes for your stay in Sydney - friendly staff and a convenient location. Hopefully you picked out some great items to take home with you from Paddy's Markets. Our hotel isn't currently undergoing any renovations, just soft refurbishments at this stage, but George Street has undergone a major transformation in preparation for the new Light Rail which will see us having a stop right outside our door which is exciting! We hope to welcome you back again soon, and if I can be of any assistance please contact me at jenna@1831.com.au Warm regards, Jenna Front Office Manager
Read more
Terrible, but an easy fix - just don't stay here. Smoke wofting into the room is just the beginning...the room was tiny with a child sized bed. There's nothing good about it and it's a descent walk to any metro. It's really a very average two star hotel at best
Read more
Response from 1831BoutiqueHotel, Front Office Manager at 1831 Boutique Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Nathan B, Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent stay with us at 1831 Boutique Hotel. It is disappointing to hear that you did not find the room comfortable, resulting in a 1-star rating. I see from your reservation that you had booked our Matchbox room. We are very clear on our website and other third-party websites, that this room comes with a single bed. The size of the room, it's amenities and photos are also listed. We have a large range of room types available and our team are always happy to try their best to find an alternative room for you if they are made aware of your concerns. Regarding a smoke smell wafting into the room, we are unsure where this would be coming from but will make further investigations. We would like to apologise that this impacted your stay. We would still like the opportunity to have you stay again at our property and can recommend some alternative room types which may be more suited to your travel requirements. If this interests you, or you would like to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact me via jenna@1831.com.au Warm regards, Jenna Front Office Manager
Read more
+1
what i really like about this hotel: 1. receptions (all) so nice and really helpful, easy to check in and check out, and they quick responsible when i found i had lost 1 of my paper bag. 2. the location totally perfect...I can come from town hall station, central station or museum station. central station the nearest, it took around 7-10 min to these 3 stations. 3. light train station only took 3 min walking, get out from the hotel, turn right, it took 1 stop (1 blok) away...it was the best way and the cheapest way to go around the city. 4. city market, china town and paddy's market only 5 min away...it was right behind the hotel. 5. It was very easy to find food, u can get any kind of food by walking aroun george street...it took around 5-10 min to explore china town, hay street and town hall to fond various food. 6. the facilities more than extra ordinary...pantry full of utensils...they provide refrigerator, microwave, vending machine, washing and dry machine, detergent, small dining area...also they provide iron table, iron and hairdryer in every room. 7. the price quiet reasonable, the room size quiet enough compare to room size at japan and HK
Read more
Response from 1831BoutiqueHotel, Front Office Manager at 1831 Boutique Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Ayoememem, Thank you for posting such a lovely review about your recent stay with us at 1831 Boutique Hotel! It was a pleasure to have you and it's wonderful to see you had such a great time whilst in Sydney. We are so lucky to be in a great location, close to many restaurants, transport options and some of Sydney's most famous attractions. Thank you for your kind words about the helpfulness of our staff, they are always available should our guests need assistance and can also recommend some great places to eat or see. We're also glad you found your bag! We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon, and please feel free to reach out to me at jenna@1831.com.au if I can be of any assistance. Warm regards, Jenna Front Office Manager
Read more
Stayed at this hotel for location and that was about all we got.Tiny room, bed at right angles to the tv(anyone for a visit to the physio?) no information in the rooms about the hotel or the area and minimal services in the room. Although they couldnt help it, the road work on George st didnt help either. Great location but thats it.
Read more
Response from 1831BoutiqueHotel, Front Office Manager at 1831 Boutique Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Michael T, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at 1831 Boutique Hotel, but it is disappointing to hear that your stay did not meet up to your expectations. Our hotel is situated within a heritage building, and so our rooms have a different layout compared to a newer building, and we are quite transparent about the sizing of our rooms on our website and other third-party websites. Thank you for providing feedback about our room layout also. I understand the angle of the TV may not have been ideal but we are currently undergoing refurbishments which we are very excited about. The addition of hotel information in rooms is also progressing well, but our team at Reception are available 24-hours should you have any queries. We have many room types with different sizing to suit all types of travellers so if we do have the opportunity to have you stay with us again, please feel free to reach out to our team or email me directly via jenna@1831.com.au so we can recommend the best room type for you and your guests. Warm regards, Jenna Front Office Manager
Read more
+1
Bought a groupon voucher for this hotel and then read very mixed reviews and was worried. It was fine. The location was great. A hop skip and jump from Chinatown, Paddy’s Market and the light rail through to darling harbour and the Star. The room was VERY small (see photos) with no leg space between two single beds but the beds were comfortable the linen was clean and crisp and surprisingly the room was very quiet even though we had window open. Our view was out to a roof and into other people’s rooms though so we were in the middle of the building wrapped by other parts. The staff at front desk were mainly ok. We were amused by the last girl who we asked for a recommendation on yum cha and she didn’t know what yum cha was!! The hotel is slap bang in the middle of china town and she didn’t know! Wow. Would I go back? For the location yes with a friend but not if I was going back for a romantic time as a couple!
Read more
Response from 1831BoutiqueHotel, Front Office Manager at 1831 Boutique Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Massagesue, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as our amazing location! Our Housekeeping team will be very humbled to hear that you rated the cleanliness of the room highly, and that your room was nice and quiet despite being in the heart of the city. I am sorry to hear that a recommendation from one of our staff fell below expectations however, and we will certainly work on further training about the local area. We hope to welcome you back again soon with friends or family, and please feel free to email me via jenna@1831.com.au if I can be of any assistance. Warm regards, Jenna Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pensione hotel sydney - by 8 sydney, sydney pensione hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyChinatown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing