We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ADGE Hotel & Residences

222 Riley St Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (194)
Room & Suite (411)
Dining (21)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#12 of 193 hotels in Sydney
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
Urban adventure and daredevil design meet in ADGE, the ultimate lifestyle hotel for the 21st Century. The ADGE Hotel & Residences is located on Riley Street, Surry Hills; just steps away from the cultural amalgamation of Crown Street, Hyde Park and Sydney’s CBD. Only in Surry Hills will you find artistic, free-thinkers blending seamlessly with the modern sophistication of Sydney’s inner city.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Hindi, Italian and 1 more

Location

222 Riley St Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010 Australia
ADGE Hotel & Residences
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles1,218 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
ADGE Hotel & Residences is celebrated for its immaculate and well-equipped rooms, boasting modern amenities that cater to comfort and convenience, such as kitchen appliances and comfortable bedding. Set in an ideal location, the hotel is a hit among guests looking to explore Sydney, with its vibrant decor contributing to a unique and welcoming vibe. While many commend the staff's friendliness and the hotel's affordability, there are mixed reviews regarding service responsiveness and concerns about hidden costs. Despite this, the hotel's overall cleanliness and prime positioning make it a popular choice.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Modern
Value
Affordable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,218Review24Q+A91Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,011
  • 159
  • 26
  • 9
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Koko456 wrote a review Apr 3
Darwin, Australia73 contributions58 helpful votes
A well located hotel with new funky rooms. Everything about the room was comfortable. We booked a king room which was a good size. The bathroom was a little visible but not a big deal for a couple. Cafe was not open due to Easter but we were given breakfast options at a local cafe about a two minute walk away.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the amazing review. We have just opened up another 149 rooms some with balconies and some also have microwave kitchenette. We hope to see you again and maybe try one of our other newly renovated rooms.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve L wrote a review Mar 2024
Auckland, New Zealand28 contributions33 helpful votes
What a great find, it had been a while since I was in Sydney so took a chance on this hotel. it was Madi Gras weekend, so the city was abuzz. The location was really close to where I wanted to be, the staff were super friendly, the room including the bed, and the curtains kept the light out which is often and issue. I was in a back room too, so it was quiet. The decor isn't for everyone, but I loved it, the bathroom capsule was very cleverly done too. Overall, I really enjoyed it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Carol B wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Stayed here for 2 nights with a friend, and we were shocked when we got into our room and realised the bathroom walls were transparent! I have a photo but am unable to post it to this review. It was much more than my friend and I wanted to see of each other over the course of this trip! You had to awkwardly face in one direction the entire time someone was in the bathroom, otherwise you got a free show! I didn't know you had to specify you wanted privacy in a bathroom but now I'll make sure to clarify with any hotels moving forward. 😜 Additionally, checking in to the hotel took ages and I paid for breakfast but had an early flight and there were no packed to go breakfasts, which I've had at every other nice hotel I've stayed at. This is especially annoying as I booked through the Qantas app. The only redeeming quality of the hotel is the location but there are plenty of other places to stay in the area so I would not be returning nor recommending ADGE Hotel to anyone visiting Sydney.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded Mar 6, 2024
Hi Carol Thank you for your review and time on the phone this week. As discussed over the phone the hotel does have another 149 rooms opening 1st April that the bathroom will be more suitable to you and we look forward to having you come back to try them. The breakfast has also been refunded that you did not have and again may apologise for the way this was handled.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elise G wrote a review Feb 2024
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
See-through bathroom walls, so you can see your travel partner shower and on the toilet is not ok. Conditioner pump bottle didn’t work, can’t have the fan on and window open at the same time for fresh air ventilation, and no instructions to indicate the was the way it had been set up. Staff seem disinterested in being there, and we had to go back to the front desk after checking in to find out how the included breakfast worked, to find they had forgotten to issue us the necessary vouchers. We won’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded Feb 11, 2024
Hi Elise, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the hotel as it is through feedback that the hotel continually improves. I am sorry that the new design did not meet your requirements on this occasion. The hotel in April 2024 has another 149 rooms coming back that have a different bathroom design that will meet your requirements and we do hope that you come back to try them out. My apologies that the rooms are Eco-friendly and designed in that when the windows are open the AC will not work. I am sorry that the breakfast voucher that was included in this stay was not offered and explained on arrival. We do hope that you come back and check out the new rooms in April 2024
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Megan A wrote a review Jan 2024
Perth, Australia1 contribution
Very disappointing experience. Incorrect bedding configuration which the GM was unable or unwilling to correct - no compensation offered for giving us the wrong room. The room was also dirty and very old and run down - wires hanging from the ceiling in the bathroom, doors that didn’t close properly. Very disappointing breakfast and not what we thought we had booked. Disappointing customer service as well - defensive and rude when trying to resolve the situation. Would consider other options if you can.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded Jan 14, 2024
Hi Megan, Thank you for your feedback. The booking was a hotel error in that the Apartment that we had assigned was one that had a Queen and Double and not the Penthouse (Loft) apartment that has the king and Queen bed as we only have two apartments that have a king size bed. The hotel offered an apology for this and then offered two alternatives on top of a full refund to leave. 1. To move to the Penthouse for the last three nights of the stay as this was the only days that this apartment was available otherwise would have moved straight away. 2. Then we also offered to move to a king room and Queen hotel room that you advised was not acceptable. Then after the third night you decided to leave, and the hotel did a full refund except for two of the three nights. The issue with the cleaning was rectified the next day and was over seen by the Executive Housekeeper. The mention of wires in the bathroom is a join between the led strip and is totally safe and was tucked up in strip along the bathroom ceiling space. The breakfast offering that was provided was exactly was was advertised in that we do not do buffet breakfast only a la carte breakfast. I am sorry that we could not meet your bedding configuration on this stay, and I do hope that you come back and stay with us again and experience the hotel Loft two bedroom apartment.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Foodietraveller2013 wrote a review Dec 2023
Adelaide, Australia84 contributions60 helpful votes
I always try to be fair, positive, and reasonable with my reviews of accommodation. Mixed bag review of ‘City Penthouse’. We really do love the apartment. It has suited our needs over the years- with family Christmas accommodation. On a positive note, the place was immaculately cleaned, beds comfortable, great televisions throughout, and absolutely brilliant quiet location. (Walking distance to so many great cafe / restaurants). Great city-scape sunset views, with large balcony. We also loved the new Korean deli downstairs- food vibrant, and excellent. Staff everywhere, upbeat and friendly. Unfortunately, huge issues with the air conditioning. Three of the air-conditioners (out of 4) continually stopped, after about 2 - 3 hours of use. Therefore, making the remote control redundant. After discussion with staff (clearly, it’s happened before) we had to be reboot them by switching the flick switch in the kitchen box: manually. The bedroom suite got extremely hot over night (and I am a light sleeper). It dropped out and stopped completely, every two hours… all night long. My partner had to go downstairs and flick the switch in kitchen box, every two hours - all night long, to restart the air conditioning. The lounge room air-conditioner, and bedroom air-conditioner also quite noisy when turned up at a considerable level. A very good brand wall mounted air conditioning unit, shouldn’t be doing this. To be fair, we were offered a new room, but unfortunately didn’t suit our needs- due to our elder mother staying downstairs with us. We all wanted to be in the same connected open penthouse configuration. Staff tried to fix the issue, but unfortunately it wasn’t resolved. Ultimately, the manager offered us a credit, which was a lovely gesture. However, It didn’t solve the uncomfortable sleepless three night stay, with constant wake ups. It was a real shame! And… certainly not expected in a penthouse type accommodation, or at the price point. We really hope this issue is fixed for the next guests who stay! Although this was really really disappointing, it didn’t dampen our Christmas holiday Spirit! We would stay again, and are hopeful the Air conditioning issues, will be resolved. We look forward to potentially staying again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded Jan 3, 2024
Thank you for your continued support of the ADGE hotel + Residences The AC mentioned are all working and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and as advised to give me a call to personally look after your next reservation with the hotel All the very best to you and your family for 2024
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Excursion18410097210 wrote a review Dec 2023
Figtree, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
Fantastic apartment stay. We couldn’t fault our visit. Staff were very helpful and friendly and accommodating. Check in and out was super easy and fast. We loved the vibe with the funky deco. The foyer area was large and spacious. Great location , easy walking distance to many attractions , food and local parks. The apartment had everything - coffee machine, dishwasher, washing machine , individual room aircon and tv and kitchen. We found the apartment was very clean and had plenty of space. Very impressed and will be returning again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded Dec 14, 2023
Thank you for this amazing review of the hotel’s two bedroom and two bathroom apartments. We are so pleased you had an amazing stay and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BossHoggg wrote a review Nov 2023
Viti Levu, Fiji2 contributions3 helpful votes
I've stayed in literally hundreds of hotels around the world, the vast majority in the course of my work. The Adge is the closest I've come to being the complete package. Perfect location, discreet ambience, quirky without being OTT, comfortable rooms that provide exactly what a work trip or traveller needs without any gimmicks that are not needed but often charged for - and by far the best priced of any comparable hotel in the inner Sydney area. However the best part of the hotel - and the most important part to me - is the staff. Friendly, efficient, helpful, but also giving a guest "space". I cannot recommend the Adge highly enough, and I intend to continue to be a regular guest.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded Nov 22, 2023
Hi Thank you so much for the amazing feedback and great support of the hotel. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rick B wrote a review Nov 2023
West Linn, Oregon9 contributions3 helpful votes
On the ambience side, the decor and modern-ish art was uplifting and fun. The room was very clean. But, we were surprised to find the room so small. In order for 2 people to get into the bed, one had to crawl over the other. The very small window sill became the nightstand. There was no room for luggage, and no luggage racks - we were told they didn’t have enough. That meant one suitcase on the floor and one on the very small plastic table. The retro-refrigerator was cool, but my traveling companion kept threatening to move it out into the hall to create some space in the room the whole time we were there. And then, the very small bathroom, the shower door doubled as the door to the bathroom. Have you ever looked into a microwave? The shower and the bathroom walls had the same dot matrix pattern as a microwave door. My companion was surprised to see while showering she could see me relaxing on the bed, and when she screamed “can you see me?” I replied “yes”. My companion now has bathroom-PTSD. Not only was the shower see through, there was a full-room-view sitting on the throne, trying to do your business. Then the realization somebody may be watching. PTSD! Our solution was to use the downstairs public bathroom for major activities. Did I mention IBS???
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Know your traveling partner well!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded Nov 12, 2023
Thank you for your review I am sorry the design of the room did not meet your requirements on this occasion. The hotel also has two bedrooms apartments and coming next year we will also have another 149 rooms to choose from. We hope to see you come back and try our other type of rooms soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alex W wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Really stunning hotel, rooms were immaculate and well kept, footprint for hotel room wasn’t huge but space was used so efficiently that it felt like a spacious room even for two Great vibe and interesting design around the place. Great location for visiting Sydney, 5 min walk from Hyde park and therefore very easy to walk into central Sydney. (A solo traveller)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Try the breakfast/lunch bar downstairs, incredible breakfast and coffee available. SOUL DELI
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded Nov 10, 2023
Hi Alex Thank you for your amazing review of our new hotel. We hope to see you again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sydney area.
PRICE RANGE
$110 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneySurry Hills
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ADGE HOTEL & RESIDENCES $138 ($̶2̶4̶2̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Sydney, Australia

Frequently Asked Questions about ADGE Hotel & Residences
Which popular attractions are close to ADGE Hotel & Residences?
Nearby attractions include The Rover (0.2 miles), Royal Albert Hotel (0.2 miles), and Bitter Phew (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at ADGE Hotel & Residences?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, dry cleaning, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at ADGE Hotel & Residences?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at ADGE Hotel & Residences?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to ADGE Hotel & Residences?
Conveniently located restaurants include Joe Black, Claires kitchen at le Salon, and Basket Brothers.
Is ADGE Hotel & Residences located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Sydney.
Are any cleaning services offered at ADGE Hotel & Residences?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ADGE Hotel & Residences?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, Chinese, Hindi, and Nepali.
Are there any historical sites close to ADGE Hotel & Residences?
Many travelers enjoy visiting State Theatre (0.8 miles), Anzac Memorial (0.4 miles), and St. Mary's Cathedral (0.6 miles).