We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abey Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Abey Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Great service, good location and outstanding service. What else you can ask for? I would definitley be back and recomend it!! Seriously the staff are amazing and answer very fast for any small thing. Pool is warm and clean!!

Helpful?
Thank marabaichman
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi marabaichman, Thank you for leaving feedback, meeting or indeed exceeding guest expectations is important to us and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you back again very soon. Warm regards More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

I needed a place to stay for 4 days, as I had extended my trip to Sydney. Most of the hotels were booked, and the ones that weren't were really expensive which I wasn't keen on paying. So I found Abey Hotel while scouring through booking.com. The price was affordable, so I went ahead to book it. I had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShungAng
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi ShungAng, We take all feedback received seriously and thank you for your very detailed feedback , we are delighted that overall you had a great stay with us and our front desk team were able to offer you a littler earlier check in and you were able get settled. Our location is great as we are within walking distance... More 

Merewether
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

As a female business person, I travel to Sydney on regular basis and always looking to find affordable, good quality, comfortable accommodation in a central location which doesn't cost a forture, where the staff are friently and good from a noise perspective, and feel safe. The Abey Hotel fits this criteria perfectly. The hotel is located centrally in Surrey Hills... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer N, Thank you for leaving feedback, meeting or indeed exceeding guest expectations is important to us and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you back again very soon. Warm regards More 

Gunnedah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Chose this hotel due to its closeness to St Vincent's hospital. It was a great place to stay. Clean spacious room, nice clean bathroom, lovely heated pool and spa. Tea and coffee facilities and fridge. Helpful staff. Lovely Buffett breakfast ($20). Walking distance to hospital. Easy bus ride to Circular Quay. Nice central place to stay without the big city... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hayls78
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Hayls78, Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review. Indeed the location is great however, I am so pleased to see that you feel the service provided is as equally impressive. Your support for our hotel is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Warm regards, More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

The hotel isnt brand new but is currently being upgtaded. My room was pleasant enough. Clean modern spacious and quiet I got an excellent nights sleep. My only critiism of the room was - no mini bar. But thats right. This hotel is situated in one of Sydney's coolest inner city suburbs. So its location is awesome. And Its still... More 

Helpful?
Thank Badenc
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Badenc, It is always pleasing to hear that our staff and service exceeds our guests expectations, our location is great as we are within walking distance to all that Sydney has to offer and hotel is also located on the city-fringe in the vibrant and diverse suburb of Surry Hills, which offers our guests a great range of designer... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

-positive, - walk from public bus off Campbell or Oxford st, - opposite main City Police station, - closeness to public buses allow city trips including Bondi, - clean rather modern, - has internal swimming pool, small spa shared by guests, - has luggage storage, - negative, - possibly used by 'party people' drunk & noise, - NOTE - pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janellesteve
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Janellesteve, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us , we welcome all feedback and it is unfortunate your stay was less than ideal, It’s unfortunate your stay was inconvenienced by other guests of the hotel. Our team are available 24/7 should there be any issues to be dealt with and our... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Stay for one night at this hotel. It was easy to find with a 65 carspaces in the underground parking lot. Staff friendly and helpful but overall, would not stay here again. Pros: - Great location; close to Museum station, Surry Hills and Kings Cross - Overall clean - 65 carspaces in the parking lot ($33/day) Cons: - Carpark was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Caroline C, Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is disappointing to know that you found our car park inconvenient to use. Our car-parking facilities can be quite tight for larger vehicles and we make this clear across booking agents in our terms and conditions, however I apologise for any inconvenience caused. For future stays, our Front Desk can... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

Surprisingly it's 2016 now and the hotel only provides 512kbps wifi for 300mb quota, trying to convince the guests to pay $10 extra for better wifi. Really? It's $150 per night and with limited 512kbps wifi?

Helpful?
Thank reeveyew
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi reeveyew, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us, we value all feedback, it is disappointing to know that you feel we do not offer our guests enough complimentary Wi-Fi, We offer complimentary WIFI to all our guests and the speed has been increased to 2048KBPS, our guests are able to enjoy up to 300MB... More 

Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

I stayed five nights from May 3 with my wife and 80-year old mum on a twin double at the poolside, booked through Agoda, after failing to get an early and clear response from the hotel direct over discrepancies in the total room rates. Besides the clarification over tax, I was later told all room rates were based on two... More 

Helpful?
Thank jtkfoch
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi jtkfoch, Wow, this is the sort of guest feedback we love to get, it’s great hearing that our guests enjoyed their stay and that we will see them again, thank you also very much for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay, its guests like you that keeps us striving to give our guest a stay... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016 via mobile

Very basic. I have had much better facilities in other expensive cities as well and in similar prices. Bathroom door has hand marks, shower curtain smells, hard pillows, no cushions, really bad ironing board and no decent selection of tea and coffee in the room, forget about a decent private bar. Only thing that works is the location. I mean... More 

Helpful?
Thank PAhlawat
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi PAhlawat, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologise that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. We strive to provide a high standard of cleanliness and we are disappointed to know this was not what you experienced. Our Executive Housekeeper has been notified of your comments and has investigated and rectified all issues. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#40 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 3,317 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Y Hotel Hyde Park
Y Hotel Hyde Park
#95 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 1,353 reviews
Y Hotel City South
#116 of 179 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#121 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Surry Hills

Neighborhood Profile
Surry Hills
Once regarded as the traditional fashion area, Surry Hills has broadened its appeal. This neighborhood continues to distinguish itself as a shopping destination, offering the best collection of one-of-a-kind boutiques, designer brands and flagship stores in the city. Today, this area has evolved into a hub of media, design and professional services - a colorful and diverse place equally known for its antique dealers, art galleries, cafes and pubs. Strolling down the street on a Saturday morning, you’ll see a mix of students, artists, hipsters and a few all-nighters from Oxford Street, the “Gay Capital of Sydney”. In this vibrant neighborhood you will find bohemian chic and modern style co-existing side by side.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly refurbished Abey Hotel in Sydney’s Surry Hills is proof that luxury needn’t come with a hefty price tag.Belying its modest costs, each room’s modern, comfortable decor is enhanced with a range of features including high speed internet access, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, iPod docking station, in room safes and flat screen TV.In addition to the room features, the hotel itself boasts 24 hour reception and room service, a heated indoor pool and spa, automated self check-in and undercover, secure parking.With 56 rooms available in either Twin Double or Twin Single Bedding configurations, The Abey Hotel is the smart choice for those who recognise that quality needn’t cost an arm and a leg. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abey Hotel

Address: 208 Riley Street, Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Price Range: $88 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay