We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vulcan Hotel

Show Prices
#75 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Vulcan Hotel
Vulcan Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 328: English reviews
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Happy to stay here again; modern, comfortable and clean hotel; convenient to university, city and Glebe Point Road; reasonable price for Sydney; friendly staff; good breakfast (not included in room price)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janabai1
Vulcan H, Duty Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janabai, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is always important to meet with our guests' expectations and hope that you will recommend the Vulcan hotel around you. We are also delighted that you enjoyed our lovely neighborhood! We will be pleased to welcome you back in Sydney during your next visit. Warmest regards, Gonzague Cohoner Duty...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had never stayed at the Vulcan before and arrived at 7.30 am after a 14 hour flight from Dubai. We were greeted by Veronica who booked us in quickly and organized our room. She asked what our plans for New Years Eve were and gave us some options. This was enormously helpful. We chose an option and she scanned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angus B
Vulcan H, Duty Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angus, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are working hard to provide our guests with the best customer experience. It is very rewarding to receive such a lovely review as our expertise is devoted to offer you the most relaxing stay. We will be more than happy to welcome you again in Sydney should you decide...

singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A smallish room but big enough. This boutique hotel has friendly staff and is quiet. We stayed on the ground floor. Good amenities, fridge, TV etc. The location is a short walk to the Central station and the area around is good, a woolworths is not too far away. A good hotel to stay in Sydney and pretty fair value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeeponKrusing
Vulcan H, Duty Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KeeponKrusing, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We value our customers and it is truly important for us to provide them with an outstanding level of satisfaction. We have different size of accommodation to answer all types of needs. Please do not hesitate to ask our front desk for a more appropriate room during your next visit...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is great and near central station and Chinatown for cheaper food option. Bed is comfortable and clean. Staffs are friendly, helpful and generous as they provided everything we asked for. Price is good and great value for money. They also provide airport transfer for a small fee.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura T
Vulcan H, Duty Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laura, Thank you for your positive feedback. It is very important for us to go beyond your expectations in order to provide you with the utmost experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your review is our best reward! We wish you a vey happy New year and we are looking forward to welcoming you back...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very clean and maintains the historic feel while providing all the modern conveniences. My room was not large but definitely sufficent. The bathroom was compact and had excellent shower pressure. You can open the windows which is fantastic to let in fresh air. The room was as expected, they could increase the presentation by simply adding a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura W
Vulcan H, Duty Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laura, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Vulcan hotel and it is very important for us to receive feedbacks in order to improve our guests' satisfaction. We will take into consideration your comment about the bed cover during our next management meeting. Please do...

kuala lumpur
Reviewed December 12, 2016 via mobile

My wife and myself arrived at this hotel on the 1st Dec. We checked in at 12pm. There was a lady staff who was a receptionist who did not welcome us well. Quite rude i have to stay. Lacking hospitality. I realised the duty manager was a polite and nicer person to ask for directions. Overall its a good hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rloganathan
Vulcan H, Duty Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rloganathan, Thank you very much for your feedback. We would like to extend our apologies that you didn't feel welcome on arrival. Could you please contact the Duty Manager by phone at +61292113283 or by email at info@vulcanhotel.com.au in order to have more details on the issue that you had during your stay? We know that it might be...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed December 8, 2016

It was actually far better than I had imagined, cute, clean, bright, quiet and in a great location. The staff were all exceptionally nice, from the reception people to the cleaners .I thought it was good value too. That fact that it isn’t a large Hotel is great, because you almost feel like you are the only ones staying there,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nherriman
Vulcan H, Duty Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nherriman, Thank you for your rewarding feedback. Our goal is to bring our customers the best hotel experience they could have imagined. We are always looking at different ways to improve our little gem in order to be the most competitive boutique hotel in Sydney! We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Warmest regards, Gonzague...

Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile

The Vulcan is a nice Hotel with a good price-performance ratio. The Hotel is located near the University of Technology and Chinatown. Our room was clean and the stuff was friendly. The bathroom was ok, maybe a little old but still fine for the paid price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seofritz
Vulcan H, Duty Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seofritz, Thank you for your great feedback. We always try to provide our guests the best experience possible. We will raise your concern about the bathrooms during our next management meeting. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Warmest regards, Gonzague Cohoner

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed November 26, 2016

We stayed for a long weekend in 2 rooms, situated on their own floor, in a quirky attic type space. Rooms were huge and facilities all you could want. Could get breakfast at a good price, but only from 7am weekdays/8am weekends...a bit late for me. We were able to walk to Darling Harbour, and Glebe Rd (the point of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather T
Vulcan H, Duty Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heather, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are going to raise the breakfast time issue with the management team to improve it. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sydney during your next visit! Warmest regards, Gonzague Cohoner

Wales
Reviewed November 23, 2016

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in a great hotel in Sydney! We had a large room, with a little kitchen area. It was clean and tidy. The only problem was the shower wasn't great. The head seemed to be broken. Other than that...Excellent. Conveniently located near the train station. Some wonderful little cafes around the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank xxsophbxx
Vulcan H, Duty Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Xxsophbxx, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Vulcan hotel. It is important for us to know about your experience. We had an issue with the shower head which has been changed after your departure. We apologize for the inconvenience but I trust that this whole time at the Vulcan hotel left an unforgettable...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

324 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (255)
Viewed
2nd Superior Room (32)
Viewed
Executive Triple (37)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard Queen (36)
Viewed
Studio (45)
Viewed
Superior Room (37)
Viewed
Superior Twin (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 178 in Sydney
1,210 reviews
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#86 of 178 in Sydney
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 178 in Sydney
572 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#73 of 178 in Sydney
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is a stylishly renovated heritage listed hotel; the ultimate city retreat. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney features 46 well appointed ensuite rooms that cater for travellers who not only appreciate its quality accommodation but also its personal service and charm. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is centrally located a few minutes walk away from the heart of Sydney's famous Darling Harbour and within short walking distance to Chinatown, Broadway, and the Universities. A quick walk to the monorail or train station and you are in the heart of Sydney City within 10 minutes. The property is also a completely non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vulcan Hotel

Address: 500 Wattle St | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $103 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vulcan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Vulcan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Vulcan Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Auckland, New Zealand
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Vulcan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“great location, close to shops and university”
 of 5 bubbles threebears2008, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Great location”
 of 5 bubbles quisqueyas2016, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on courtyard side are very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles k2881q, Jul 30, 2016 | Read review
“all rooms has double windows for soundproofing”
 of 5 bubbles 83elnazi, Jul 6, 2016 | Read review
“They are all good.”
 of 5 bubbles ZhouLIN, Jun 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay