We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Sydney Central Backpackers

16 Orwell St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sydney Central Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I spent 4 nights here ơn My business trip from 15-19 July and love it. From Kings Cross station, main station in Sydney connect to everywhere just 3 minutes walk. Hotel is in the center of many restaurant, shop and very quiet. Room rate include daily breakfast, tea and coffee, very convenience and fully equipped kitchen. You can cook every... More 

Helpful?
Thank HuyenChi96
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

I stayed 4 consecutive nights and was pleased with the hostel as a whole. I have stayed in many backpackers in Sydney and for the price you pay it is worth staying there. The beds aren't as comfy as 790 hostel but there is a fridge in the room, which I thought was a good idea. All toilets and showers... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
Michael S, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are always happy when our guests are satisfied. We don't charge $2 for blankets. Guests can have as many as they like. We do charge $2 for a towel. More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

We stayed here on arriving in Australia, definitely would not recommend for anyone to stay here. The rooms are tiny and uncomfortable, we was in a 4 bed dorm, which was not suitable for 4 people at all. There was no air-con and not even a fan, it was ridiculously hot and unbearable at night, I asked at reception for... More 

Helpful?
Thank 24jb9
Michael S, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Our records indicate that the guests stayed two nights. February was very hot in Sydney and the humidity was high. All rooms have a fan as well as heating in the winter months. There are a toilet and shower facilities on all levels that the guest could have used. The records also show that the guest arrived for breakfast after... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016

The hostel itself it is not bad, good location, the rooms are clean because the people who clean them are the travelers doing it in exchange for a room, good on them, kitchen is fine with coffee available at any time, lots of place to hang around and meet people, down stairs and on the roof, prices keeping on changing... More 

Helpful?
Thank metal6666
Michael S, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Records show that you stayed over the Easter break when we were full. The beds are available on line and if guests decide the day of checkout that they want to stay it is not always possible. I can assure you that turnover is not my "only concern ". In fact less turnover is preferable.... More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

Truly awful hostel. First of all, you need to carry a plastic card next to your room key, to 'prove' that you actually stay at the hostel. That would be no problem if the card would actually work as a key. Second, the WiFi does not work well at all, it very often disconnects and you have to get a... More 

Helpful?
Thank timve1189
Michael S, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have a no visitor policy. The policy is in place for the safety and security of guests. We provide 500MB of WIFI per day. Like all WIFI installations it is the service provider that may have issues. We have no control over that. All of our beds, without exception have ladders. The kitchen is... More 

Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016

What a great place to stay - the views show just how centrally this place is - with easy access to public transport. The roof deck is a great party venue with bbq etc. Rooms look like they have been recently decorated have free wifi etc. Good social and Mike (manager) was very help and informative Great value too with... More 

Helpful?
Thank NCCodrington
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2016

the staff were very friendly and helpful and the hostel is in a good location. however my mum and Stayed in a double room apparently it was there 'deluxe' room. I can tell you there wasn't anything deluxe about it, the bathroom was pretty skanky and the shower room. The kichen is in definate need of a tidy up it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leah E
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2016

Even though the rooms are quite small, as well as the kitchen, we had a great time at Sydney Central! The atmosphere is really cool, every night there was something going on. The rooftop is amazing and you can get to the city easily by public transport or walking. We were very very happy and had an amazing time!

Helpful?
1 Thank 2305Denise
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016 via mobile

This place is not too far from Kingcross station which have a lot of good resturants. There are friendly staffs. If you like night-life and party, you will be happy here. But if you want to take a rest, this place is not suitable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ploy T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

Comfortable beds, in a convenient location however, didn't feel very welcome or get much help from anyone. Do not recommend staying here if you want to sleep... There are signs saying be respectful and keep noise down after 10pm but there were people yelling and thumping around until 5:30am making it difficult to sleep

Helpful?
4 Thank Sally S
SydneyCentral, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for comments relating to the comfort quality of our beds. A review of CCTV footage indicates that the Rugby World Cup was being viewed live by a number of guests that became overly excited and for a short time noisy. Whilst no complaint was made by the guest at time of check out we have now rostered 2... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Eva's Backpackers
#15 of 127 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
#35 of 127 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Sydney Star Backpackers
#46 of 127 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 127 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#37 of 127 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#24 of 127 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sydney Central Backpackers has new owners as from this week. We are determined to provide the best value accommodation in the Kings Cross area. Our goal is to make sure your stay with us is one that you will be happy to recommend to friends you make while travelling this big beautiful Australia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sydney Central Backpackers

Address: 16 Orwell St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $22 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sydney Central Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sydney Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay