We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sydney Central Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sydney Central Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

Really bad hostel! Dont recommend it.. disgusting, customer service is really bad, would rather sleep on the street. Staff don't speak english which makes things pretty hard, rooms stink! STINK!! Really bad No cutlery in the kitchen so bring your own fork..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason J
Michael S, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

The guest was escorted from the hostel by Kings Cross Police after he assaulted a female member of staff. The guest was not refunded monies paid notwithstanding him extending his stay at the hostel the night before his removal. We do not allow guests to engage in antisocial behaviour. This guest was placed on the banned list and as such...

Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

The hostel located in a great place. Me and my friend was in a private room without shower and toilet. The room was clean and ok. The stuff really nice and helpful. The internet is really bad, even when you sit in the mutual area its bad, so if you need a place with internet i wouldn't recommend it. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterpen173
Reviewed September 4, 2016

I stayed two times at Sydney Central Backpackers for a total of 6 months, and after having travelling all around Australia and being in many hostels, I can tell that it is one of the best have been to! The staff and the owner (Mike) is very friendly and welcoming, they will always do their best to help you, doesn’t...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stéphanie M
Michael S, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Stephanie It was great to have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Australia!

Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

Couldn't ask for much more in a hostel - the rooftop is amazing, great views and always something going on. Mike is very welcoming and rooms are always clean and the kitchen is always clean. It's a 3 min walk to the train station, location is perfect. Great stAy'

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max H
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

While the front desk was very nice (all foreigners that are on a working holiday visa), I could not stand this hostel. It was filthy (the kitchen smelled awful) and so loud because it attracts irresponsible backpackers/working holiday kids that do not clean up after themselves in the kitchen at all (I seriously felt so bad for the workers there)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hostelexperience2929
Michael S, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

We maintain a strict policy in relation to aggressive anti social behaviour. We refused to allow the guest to stay longer as some of our female guests complained about this guest's attitude to them. Our reception and cleaning staff work very hard to ensure the safety and comfort for the guests. Cleanliness is very important to us and we try...

Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

I chose to stay here because the prices were more reasonable than anywhere else I could find. After having stayed I would definitely stay again and 100% recommend this hostel. The staff and other guests were incredibly friendly and helpful. The roof top area and kitchen facilities were clean but social. Sam & Michael (managers) do an amazing job at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalieowen18
SydneyCentral, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Natalie. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

I stayed 5 nights and I enjoyed so much, I met amazing people there!the hostel seems like a big family! Clean hostel with friendly and helpful staff! There is an amazing rooftop where I spent most of my afternoon drinking! I hope to come back for Christmas!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisa G
Michael S, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks for your review. We agree that our rooftop BBQ facilities are hard to beat. We look forward to seeing you again. Safe travels

Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

I spent 4 nights here ơn My business trip from 15-19 July and love it. From Kings Cross station, main station in Sydney connect to everywhere just 3 minutes walk. Hotel is in the center of many restaurant, shop and very quiet. Room rate include daily breakfast, tea and coffee, very convenience and fully equipped kitchen. You can cook every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HuyenChi96
Michael S, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our staff try hard to ensure you have a safe and happy stay. We look forward to you staying again. Safe travels

Reviewed June 3, 2016

I stayed 4 consecutive nights and was pleased with the hostel as a whole. I have stayed in many backpackers in Sydney and for the price you pay it is worth staying there. The beds aren't as comfy as 790 hostel but there is a fridge in the room, which I thought was a good idea. All toilets and showers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
Michael S, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are always happy when our guests are satisfied. We don't charge $2 for blankets. Guests can have as many as they like. We do charge $2 for a towel.

United Kingdom
Reviewed April 27, 2016

We stayed here on arriving in Australia, definitely would not recommend for anyone to stay here. The rooms are tiny and uncomfortable, we was in a 4 bed dorm, which was not suitable for 4 people at all. There was no air-con and not even a fan, it was ridiculously hot and unbearable at night, I asked at reception for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 24jb9
Michael S, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Our records indicate that the guests stayed two nights. February was very hot in Sydney and the humidity was high. All rooms have a fan as well as heating in the winter months. There are a toilet and shower facilities on all levels that the guest could have used. The records also show that the guest arrived for breakfast after...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Eva's Backpackers
#13 of 133 in Sydney
217 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 133 in Sydney
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zing Backpackers
#40 of 133 in Sydney
127 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#41 of 133 in Sydney
108 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#33 of 133 in Sydney
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sydney Central Backpackers has new owners as from this week. We are determined to provide the best value accommodation in the Kings Cross area. Our goal is to make sure your stay with us is one that you will be happy to recommend to friends you make while travelling this big beautiful Australia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sydney Central Backpackers

Address: 16 Orwell St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $24 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sydney Central Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sydney Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sydney Central Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Great free wifi on 1st floor, in the smaller dorms opt for $2 blanket as it gets cold.”
 of 5 bubbles ryanf417, Jun 3, 2016 | Read review
“Best views from the roof over Sydney opera house”
 of 5 bubbles NCCodrington, Mar 5, 2016 | Read review
“Just walk around King Cross there maaaaany”
 of 5 bubbles leonardob954, Apr 25, 2015 | Read review
“Some of the rooms are smaller, but not too small, and all were immaculate. I stayed in two.”
 of 5 bubbles tristonn, Sep 21, 2014 | Read review
“The higher the level the better if you don't mind to climb some stairsteps.”
 of 5 bubbles dominikm156, Jun 16, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay