We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wake Up! Sydney

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wake Up! Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wake Up! Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,130: English reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2015

This is my first hostel experience and it was just so damn fun. I really enjoyed my stay as the facilities and rooms were clean. There are a ton of fun activities put on everyday, and side bar is great for partying. The staff were all great and friendly and really helpful. Special props to James from reception for his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Scott A, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, so glad that your first hostel experience was such a great one, and was with Wake Up! I will certainly be passing on your great comments to our housekeeping team who work very hard to ensure everything is as clean as possible. I will also let James...

Reviewed October 2, 2015

Excellent customer service at reception and the place was very clean. The bar downstairs had lots of young people from all over the world. Would definitely recommend this place and stay here again in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Sandy B, Thanks for your review and for your perfect rating, we are so happy that you had such a great time here at Wake Up! We pride ourselves on our great customer service and our great front desk team. I am so glad you got a chance to get down to Side Bar and mix with the world;...

Reviewed October 1, 2015 via mobile

The wake up is really organised and the management knows what they are doing. I stayed 3 times at the wake up and always left the place with a good feeling. When you have any complaints they try to fix it immediately for you to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The rooms are always clean and safe. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colette v
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Colette v, Thanks for taking a moment to leave us your feedback, and thanks for your perfect rating. We are so happy that you love us so much you keep coming back. We have recently installed individual light boxes for every dorm room in the building, as we know backpackers enjoy their creature comforts. I hope we have the...

Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

I have been travelling around Australia for a year now, must of the time solo. I am a student so I always stay in Hostels. I have never stayed in a hotel like Wake up before. Extremely clean, well organised and absolutely beautiful and friendly staff. It is most definitely a hostel for young backpackers but it has very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shantall K
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Shantall K, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so happy you had such a great experience at Wake Up! and chose to give us a perfect rating. I will certainly be letting James know that his efforts were very much so appreciated on the city tour. Side Bar is a great way to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed September 30, 2015

Compared to other hostels, this and Sydney Central YHA are the cleanest hostel. however they seem to be inconsistent with prices where the prices i was quoted online was different when i checked in through reception. When i went over this through reception, she said prices always change on a day to day basis. But I did the comparison online...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian C
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Christian C, Thanks for taking a moment to leave us your feedback. We are so glad overall you liked staying with us and got involved in all the activities we put on both in Wake Up! and in Side Bar. I must thank you for bringing the kitchen to my attention I will be completing a complete audit of...

Reviewed September 27, 2015

During my 6 month stay in Australia, I stayed in Wake Up! 3 times. With it being my first hostel experience when I arrived, I couldn't of asked for anything better. Always had a peaceful nights sleep, which I wasn't expecting as they have one of the popular backpacker bars downstairs - Side Bar. It was more the people in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah B
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Hannah B, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, and thank you for calling us the best hostel in Australia. We are so happy that you keep returning to stay with us. I will certainly be passing on your great comments to our housekeeping team who all work day and night to ensure everything is up...

Reviewed September 25, 2015 via mobile

This was my first Hostel experience and I have to say I don't think I will come across a better one than this. If you then go to a different hostel your expectations won't be met. The staff are so friendly and super helpful. The hostel that I am at currently doesn't even come close to this one. I throughly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte K
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte K, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback and thanks for your perfect rating. I am so glad your first hostel experience was with us and that it was so enjoyable. I will certainly be sharing your positive comments with all of our staff here who all work very hard to ensure all our guests...

UK.
Reviewed September 22, 2015

Stayed here on two separate occasions last month ; the first time for 4 days and the second time for 3 days ; both stays were in a private room on the sixth floor. Firstly , as others have mentioned , I could have done without the twice daily , loudly barked announcements , prefaced by a "Wake up !...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyThundersDTK
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed September 19, 2015

Great hostel. Awesome location right next to the central station, and with buses right outside to anywhere you want to go. The rooms were clean and spacious, we stayed in a twin private. The bathrooms got a bit dirty at times, but the showers were nice and big, and always had hot water. The kitchen was big and had lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia312
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Olivia312, Thanks for taking the time to leave us such in depth feedback. I am so glad that overall your experience was a great one, and that you would chose to return to Wake Up! We pride ourselves on our great reception team who are available 24/7 to help with any guest queries. Although check in is not officially...

Posthausen, Germany
Reviewed September 18, 2015 via mobile

The rooms are surprisingly big. You have a lot of space and it's not cozy at all. When i arrived (7am) i had to wait till 2pm for my check-in. That was a little bit annoying for me, but i was able to use the bathrooms and the kitchen. You have to pay for the wifi but it's working really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank inlovewithgreen
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi inlovewithgreen, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it certainly sounds like you had a great experience with us. I am so glad that you liked your accommodation and amenities. With so many guests our housekeeping team work very hard to ensure all the rooms are cleaned to our high Wake Up! Standards, so I am...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

145 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 137 in Sydney
721 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 137 in Sydney
1,026 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#10 of 137 in Sydney
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner '3rd Best Extra Large Hostel Worldwide' and 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney' at the 2017 Hostelworld 'HOSCARS' awards. Wake Up! Sydney Central represents all that Sydney has to offer. It's modern, it's clean and it's the hub of backpacker activity, right in the heart of Sydney. With a fresh layout, friendly staff and funky activities, Wake Up aims to offer an experience, not just a bed Join us and experience Wake Up! Sydney today. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wake Up! Sydney

Address: 509 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $29 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Up! Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wake Up! Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wake Up! Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Wake Up! Sydney staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Watsonville
9 months ago
7 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Wake Up! Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“fast, central”
L2yap, 2 days ago | Read review
“Top floor for the best views.”
brucel906, 1 week ago | Read review
“I'd recommend to ask for a room that is not on the street side as you may hear the music coming from side bar at this night.”
jeannecharlottew, Feb 22, 2017 | Read review
“First floor is relatively close to the street and you can sometimes hear the music and noise from the bar downstairs.”
tarrynhassell, Feb 2, 2017 | Read review
“Any of the 06 or 10 bed dorms are the best- very spacious and sociable”
Amy2062017, Jan 16, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question