We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wake Up! Sydney

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wake Up! Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,070: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Roses are red A dairy alternative is soy One of the best things about wakeup Is a man named Roy. Bald and glassed, His service oh so fast Disappointing food and coffee, A thing of the past. Having stayed at wakeup, on and off for the past 3 months I have a decent idea of the high points and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy2062017
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Extremely good rooms and friendly helpful service at front desk. Great kitchen on first floor. Free WiFi @ reception. Great location near Central railway Station and Haymarket and China town. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
Tokyo
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I was only unlucky, but it seemed they were having huge auditioning or job hunting in Sydney, teenage models or girls were covering the room and corridors weeping their fortunes/failure, which caused untidy room with full of pizza smells and made me hard to sleep. So I suppose, I should have asked for any private room, though beside above, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eIIie
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi EIIie, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am sorry you had a negative experience with your room mates, this is something that can happen from time to time in all hostels and I would always recommend coming to see our 24/7 reception who would move heaven and earth to ensure you were having a...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed at Wake Up! Sydney for 2 nights, and we booked a Private Twin Room with Shared Bathrooms for a good price considering the high season in January. For whatever reason we got upgraded to a Private Double Ensuite for the whole stay, which, although you can't generally expect that to happen, was still a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anja K
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Seriously a sweet hostel to stay at. I visited the side bar during my stay, it has a really great atmosphere and I definitely could have stayed longer. The reception staff were very hospitable and helped me with any queries I had. Oh and ladies!! (...And gents) bonus to find hair dryers from the 21st century in the bathroom. Winning!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amelia J
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

I really like the hostel. It is clean and the stuff is super friendly. The only thing I did not like was the breakfast. It was not enough and it would be great if there is not every day the same. But overall I would always come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baerle2017
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Baerle2017, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly pass on your kind words to our Housekeeping staff who work extremely hard to maintain our high Wake Up! standards. Roys cafe has a huge range of breakfast and lunch options to choose from aswell...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room is good enough, the communal area is very clean. But the thing I love most about Wake up Sydney is its location- very near to public transports and local restaurants. Everything is very convenient. Staffs are very helpful and nice. I felt so glad when choosing this place. Definitely will come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _missanhtran_
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi _missanhtran_ Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review and for your great rating. We are certainly very lucky with our central location, across the road from train, bus and tram terminals, it does make getting out and exploring all this lovely city has to offer very easy. I will give a big shout out to the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here for Christmas for 2 weeks. Really impersonal hostel, not good for solo travellers. The bar downstairs is cliquey same as the kitchen. Had lots of food stolen too. Good laundry facilities though

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Katie R, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we appreciate all feedback good and bad and view it as a chance to better our experience for our guests. I must apologise that your experience wasn't anything other than perfect. Christmas time is a great time of the year for our guests with everyone checking in...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was tidy and clean, storage possibility was a litte short, really comfortable bed, The kitchen was well equiped, what was missing was for example Basic stuff like salt and pepper or oil. If you stay just for a couple of days you don´t want buy such things. The staff was always helpful and friendly, Also a plus was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Augustin E
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Augustin E, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback from your recent stay. I am glad you had such a nice experience with us and I will certainly pass on your kind words to all of our staff here who work tirelessly to ensure all of our guests have the best possible stay with us. Thanks...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A massive thank you to all the friendly and dedicated staff at Wake Up for providing such a fun and memorable festive period. I very much enjoyed the many events put on for guests during this time. My personal favourite was the 3 hour boat party on Sydney Harbour (which was amazing value at $25). The Christmas dinner/breakfast was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle S
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Chantelle S, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback and for your perfect rating. I am so stoked you had such an awesome Christmas experience with us. I have already shared your review with all our departments as I believe they have all contributed to your amazing stay.We always like to go all out at Christmas...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 178 in Sydney
1,210 reviews
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Bounce Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#4 of 133 in Sydney
691 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 133 in Sydney
992 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#9 of 133 in Sydney
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner '5th Best Extra Large Hostel Worldwide' and 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney' at the 2016 Hostelworld 'HOSCARS' awards. Wake Up! Sydney Central represents all that Sydney has to offer. It's modern, it's clean and it's the hub of backpacker activity, right in the heart of Sydney. With a fresh layout, friendly staff and funky activities, Wake Up aims to offer an experience, not just a bed Join us and experience Wake Up! Sydney today. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wake Up! Sydney

Address: 509 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $56 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Up! Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Wake Up! Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wake Up! Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Wake Up! Sydney staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Watsonville
5 months ago
3 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Wake Up! Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Any of the 06 or 10 bed dorms are the best- very spacious and sociable”
 of 5 bubbles Amy2062017, yesterday | Read review
“it's quite noisy on weekend nights”
 of 5 bubbles _missanhtran_, 1 week ago | Read review
“6th floor good, no street noise”
 of 5 bubbles Daylee-BH, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
“Shuttle airport bus”
 of 5 bubbles 55manuelep, Nov 12, 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors are generally noisier”
 of 5 bubbles 101bethh, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay