We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Nomads Sydney

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Nomads Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 321: English reviews
Clayton, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Better find another place to stay. Much mold on the wall, shower is leaking, carpet on the room is so dirty. I bought slippers to go to bathroom and walking around the room. Elevator is sometime not working and pretty dark inside. My kids are afraid to go in. Very dirty seats in reception area

Helpful?
Thank annur2001
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Alex from the travelshop booked the best trip for me of my life! So guys go find him because they have some nice special offers at the moment. it doesn't matter for what kind trip you're looking for he will book the right one for you.

Helpful?
Thank laurensdeGoede
Lachy E, General Manager at Nomads Sydney, responded to this review

G'Day there, Stoked Alex has booked up an amazing East Coast trip for you! Hope you have an amazing time and drop in to tell us all the great stories when you make it back to Sydney! Cheers, More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The whole place is run down and damp. There was mould on the walls. The bed sheets smelt stale. When I spoke to reception I was told I had wait until the morning as there was no one who could help!! - I felt dirty the whole time I was there. I'd avoid this place.

Helpful?
Thank SJVBeatson
Lachy E, General Manager at Nomads Sydney, responded to this review

G'Day There, Here at Nomads Westend we strive to give our guests the best experience possible during their stay in Sydney and unfortunately it sounds like we didn't meet either your or our expectations. Feedback is a great tool for us to pick up on issues and areas where we need to improve and I will be following this up... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well located no doubt but the rooms not up to mark. The lifts may not work but if you are here as a traveller then you'll only v spending the nights here and that should be ok! Cheaper option in the heart of the city though Not suitable for families

Review collected in partnership with ASUS 6 Stub App Smartphone

Helpful?
Thank Prathima R
Lachy E, General Manager at Nomads Sydney, responded to this review

G'Day Prathima, Here at Nomads Westend we pride ourselves on being a great budget accommodation source in the center of the city for backpackers and travelers. We are located in a heritage listed building and due to the age of the property sometimes issues can arise. We do however have on call maintenance staff 24 hours a day who can... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Would not recommend this hostel to anyone. When we arrived the reception staff were friendly enough but the hostel itself was horrendous. Our room was on floor 12 but the lift doors would not open on this level so we had to get out on the floor below and walk up which was very inconvenient. The staff didn't mention this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mill91
Lachy E, General Manager at Nomads Sydney, responded to this review

G'Day There, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay in Sydney here with us at Nomads Westend. We have a strict cleaning procedures in place that are carried out daily. To hear that this was not the case during your stay is extremely concerning. Feedback is one of our best ways to address issues and I will... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An absolute disgrace of a place in my view. We were on the 11th floor, both lifts were broken and no one cares less about it. There was mold growing on the walls and ceiling in the room, there were broken tiles and some were missing in the bathroom. The kitchen had a cockroach infestation and there was a lack... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alex17242
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

It's in the heart of Sydney. Such an awesome hostel. The people are so lovely and the atmosphere is so familiar. And the pancakes are really tasty. And they've got lots of attractions to do for day and night. I just loved it and really miss this place.

Helpful?
Thank Ophelia H
Lachy E, General Manager at Nomads Sydney, responded to this review

G'Day Ophelia, We're stocked you had such an amazing time staying with us and can't wait for you to drop back in for a visit! Have an amazing time on your travels!! More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Westend on the weekend. My first impression was fun and welcoming, the staff were very talkative and clearly explained the outlay of the hostel. Our room was clean and and bright. Perfect location, 5 minute walk from Central Station and a 10 minute walk from Town Hall station. I would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Isabella G
Lachy E, General Manager at Nomads Sydney, responded to this review

G'Day Isabella, We're stoked to hear you had an amazing stay with us here at Nomads Westend and can't wait to see you and your boyfriend next time you guys are in Sydney! More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

To anyone who remembers Oscar in the garbage can from Sesame street, then this place would be perfect for him. I have to say in all honesty that this place was truly grotty, unkempt and extremely in need of a huge renovation as well as sanitization. The hotel according to records was actually built in 1929 and no work appears... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony M
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Everyone seemed to rave about nomads as a great hostel but it was just disgusting. There was mould on the walls, everything was either ripped or stained, and it smelt awful. The bathroom was OK but the "door" was a sliding piece of wood with no lock and didn't even close properly. It was always cold owing to the window... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
APX World Square
#113 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Capitol Square Hotel
#142 of 179 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maze Backpackers
#24 of 129 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Central Business District
Base Backpackers
Base Backpackers
#21 of 129 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Sydney, Westend Backpackers is located right in the center of the CBD, just a stone throw from Central Station and right in the hub of Sydney's' best restaurants, shops and Bars . We're also only a 15min walk from the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge! Our aim at NOMADS Sydney is for you to have a brilliant time and to leave with a smile on your face and a bounce in your step. We have dorms of all sizes ranging from private rooms to our infamous 32 bed dorm "The Church", as well as excellent facilities and legendary staff whose job it is to ensure you have a wonderful time. We focus on providing you with more than just a bed with daily and nightly activities organised for you. There's never a dull moment during your time here , whether it's partying VIP style with us at multiple bars or enjoying a chilled movie night whilst stuffing your face with free popcorn in our tv lounge, there's only one thing you won't want to do while staying at Nomads Westend, and that's leave. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Sydney

Address: 412 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Footprints Westend)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Price Range: $22 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Nomads Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westend Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay