We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BreakFree on Clarence

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BreakFree on Clarence
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BreakFree on Clarence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 499: English reviews
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed October 30, 2016

Great location close to Darling Harbour, friendly staff who were happy to recommend nearby eating places and nice clean rooms. Could have benefited from a fan in the bathroom but good provision of toiletries and nice and clean. Comfortable beds and plenty of space for suitcases.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenpR179IY
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear karenpR179IY, Thank you for your positive feedback of our hotel. We are glad your experience at Breakfree on Clarence was a pleasant one. Our Guest Service Agents were delighted to serve you and your compliments have been noted. We aim to provide a great experience within our prime Sydney CBD location. We appreciate your comments with regards to our...

Orange, California
Reviewed October 29, 2016

No air conditioning, unable to open a window. Old dirty carpet in need of replacement. Was not expensive, but that is because it wasn't worth much. The location was pretty good, but that is the extent of my positive comments. Would never stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z568RZstephenj
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

We had a function in town so picked this venue based on price and location. My rationale was we wouldn't need to spend a lot on accommodation as we'd be at our function, get to the hotel around midnight; sleep, wake up 6-7 then leave. We checked in, quickly freshened up and then went on to our party (which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mimm78
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear Mimm78, Thank you for your review of Breakfree on Clarence. We apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations. All rooms are inspected by maintenance and management to ensure that they are up to standards and ready to occupied for guest. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not get a good night’s sleep due to the...

Lismore, Australia
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

Price was ok at $259 for night, bed comfortable and bathroom was clean. Room was unloved with stained carpets and marks on the walls. Be aware there is no breakfast bar or restaurant on site but plenty of options near by

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U3367QDgarym
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear Gary, Thank you for your review on Breakfree on Clarence. We are glad that your overall stay was comfortable and you were happy with cleanliness. Being a small property, we are unable to accommodate a restaurant on site. However, our location is surrounded by many great eateries. We also can provide voucher for breakfast at Mantra on Kent, our...

Wollongong
Reviewed October 27, 2016

Very pleasantly surprised with my stay. Booked a family room which turned out to be spacious and comfortable ... renovated bathroom and plenty of room for all our cases and bags - plus a desk for my laptop. I was just up in the city overnight for work so took my children along for a treat. I don't think you...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank erreya
Hotel_Manager287, Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear Erreya, Thank you for your review of Breakfree on Clarence. We appreciate the great response in regards to our location. Breakfree is a great budget alternative within the prime Sydney CBD location. Your compliments overall have been passed on. We have also noted your recommendations for the local area. We hope to see you again on a future trip...

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Reviewed October 25, 2016

The location was okay. Walking distance to most attractions. Parking is ridiculous. Way too expensive. $36 every time you come in and out of the parking. Cleaning staff was rude. Would not change the towels if i was really dirty.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farah N
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear Farah, Thank you for your review of Breakfree on Clarence. From your review, we are very glad to know that you have taken location advantage of our property. Indeed, our central location is very convenient for all of our guests to stay connected with all city amenities and attractions. We are really sorry to hear that you weren't too...

Brisbane
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Carpets could use a shampoo is my only criticism. Otherwise very lovely stay. Bathrooms are newly renovated and lovely and clean. Toiletries supplied. Room was very spacious though a little bit of street noise but nothing that stopped us sleeping well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelanieMuller
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear Melanie Muller, Thank you for your positive review of Breakfree on Clarence. It was a pleasure to serve you and we are glad you enjoyed your overall stay. Your comments regarding our location, room features and cleanliness have been passed on with appreciation. Our hotel will be undergoing refurbishments in the coming months, we are glad to share with...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed October 23, 2016

For over $300 per night for a family room it was extremely tiny and simple. But the location is very convenient to public transport and the cbd. So the price is definitely for the location nothing more!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mishymoo26
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear mishymoo26, Thank you for your review on Breakfree on Clarence. Our hotel aims to offer a great budget alternative within a prime CBD location. In order to keep costs down, Breakfree offers the necessary comforts for those who want a place to sleep in Sydney. We would like to advise that our hotel will be undergoing refurbishments in the...

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed October 22, 2016

We stayed here for three nights on business. The hotal is in a great location,close to public transport, Darling Habour, King Street Wharf and the central CBD. There is no restaurant on site but they have a ddeal with another hotel nearby for breakfast at a great, reduced, rate. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenSys75
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear BenSys75, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is great to hear of guests who are appreciative of our great CBD location. While we do not offer breakfast, being a small property, there are many eateries surrounding our hotel to fulfill guest desires. Breakfree aims to offer a great budget alternative in a prime CBD location,...

Otago
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

We were here for 3 nights, short break. The location is perfect, it is close to downtown, Darling Harbour. Very friendly reception staff. If you are in Sydney for a short break and will spend most of your time exploring what this beautiful city has, then this hotel is ideal!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZQT14
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear NZQT14, Thank you for your review of Breakfree on Clarence. We are glad that you liked your trip to Sydney, finding our staff friendly and our location handy. It is also great to hear the appreciation with regards to our proximity to Sydney sights. We hope that you may come to stay with us again on a future trip...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
5,185 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
1,809 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Positioned in the heart of the Sydney CBD, BreakFree on Clarence provides travellers with a choice of room types which are great for singles, families and couples, including the Single Standard room, Queen Room, Twin Room, Family Suite Family, and Premium Room. Rooms are air-conditioned providing comfort during the warmer and cooler months, and Wi-Fi (fee applies) offers travellers the opportunity to catch up on business or connect with loved ones while on holiday. Planning a lot of activities while in Sydney? The city is bursting with lots of excursions; you'll find the locality of this city hotel offers all that you need, with public transport including trains and buses at the hotel entrance, along with a horde of shops, cafes and restaurants. From this well-appointed accommodation you can walk to many of Sydney's best attractions including Westfield Shopping Centre, the Art Gallery of NSW, Darling Harbour, Sydney Botanic Gardens, Sydney Opera house and Circular Quay where the ferries depart to Taronga Zoo, DFO shopping outlet and Manly. Location Features: • Sydney Airport 8.4Km drive • Town Hall Train Station 500m walk • Capitol Theatre 1.3Km walk • Chinatown 1.5Km walk • Paddy's Markets 1.3Km walk • Sydney Entertainment Centre 1.2Km walk • Darling Harbour 1.1Km walk • Circular Quay 1.3Km walk • The Sydney Opera House 2km • Sydney Botanic Gardens 1.6Km • The Rocks 1.3Km • Sydney Aquarium 350m walk ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree on Clarence

Address: Shorter House 193-195 Clarence St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly City Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Price Range: $115 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BreakFree on Clarence 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BreakFree on Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BreakFree on Clarence staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree on Clarence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“avoid the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles stephennericad, Jan 30, 2017 | Read review
“Great location to walk around the city andto shop”
 of 5 bubbles stephencA9896PZ, Jan 26, 2017 | Read review
“Select rooms on the top floors”
 of 5 bubbles subarnag2013, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles MaryC4505, Aug 9, 2016 | Read review
“Dont go to top floors if you require WIFI.”
 of 5 bubbles DaraghC479, Jul 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question