We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Y Hotel City South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Y Hotel City South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 207: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

location, price and staffs are really gr8. Its between Redfern and Central rail stations. both stations are walking distance from the hotel. Breakfast menu should be improved. the rooms should be more spacious as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 468mohammadk
YHotelManagement, Manager at Y Hotel City South, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review. We pride our selves in our friendly staff and service. More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Terrible area. Very tiny rooms. Views of graffiti on buildings. Left straight away, and Hotel won't contact me to organise a refund or even part refund. We paid $173 for a night, and it should have been more $85.00 DONT STAY HERE!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 168alanahc

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Super friendly staff basic and a bit outdated rooms but adequate simple but okay breakfast great location 5 minutes from major train line, 30 from CBD WiFi included but only for one device would definitely stay there again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thomashD2342MW
YHotelManagement, Manager at Y Hotel City South, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

kandos
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Hotel suited us for our one night stay because it was situated close to UNSW and reasonably priced and neat and clean with security parking. I would come back again if the need arises. The traffic was hard to get used to being from out of town but otherwise we had a good nights sleep.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank margaretcH9874OG
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location, friendly staff, small rooms but if you are not staying for the comfort of the rooms it is fine. Parking is easy. All in all, an average stay for a cheap price! Would recommend for backpackers and couples just needing a cheap place to stay overnight!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andreasY4840YF
YHotelManagement, Manager at Y Hotel City South, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Walls filthy...bathroom disgusting with other people's rubbish on the floor...behind door n on wall had what looked like was a can of drink poured down them...dust everywhere n air con was filled with gunk...really not happy...we both felt violated!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Q4026DVsharont
Leeton, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was in a convenient location for us the manager at reception was excellent and cheerful made us feel at ease and offered my wife and I our room early after all night on the train this was well received and totally unexpected Thank You ..Stuart

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stuartb972
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have been staying here for many years, as a regular getaway to Sydney from my home just 2 hours away The rooms are cozy and clean with own bathroom, bar fridge and coffee, air conditioning AND the rate includes breakfast! The location is a short walk to and from central station, but enough away from the busy city streets The... More 

Helpful?
Thank davtafe
YHotelManagement, Manager at Y Hotel City South, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review. We will look into ways to improve our service. More 

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had to purchase an extra room due to mixup. Hotel is on the corner of a train station and main rd, very hard to sleep. My company has stayed here without issue quite a number of times, purely due to the location, however it's unlikely we'll ever return now.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jeremyk812
Gungahlin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an excellent place for accommodation in the heart of Sydney for a family for a short stay for a very affordable price. Room, toilet, bath room, linen and other facilities are satisfactorily clean. The space of the property is well enough for a short stay (one or a few days). Reasonably good free breakfast. The room where I... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dharmasrip
YHotelManagement, Manager at Y Hotel City South, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Y Hotel Hyde Park
Y Hotel Hyde Park
#99 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
3.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#120 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Y Hotel City South is located on the corner of Cleveland and Regent Streets a short stroll from Prince Alfred Park. Central Station is just 15 to 20 minutes' walk away and is close to Sydney university and other education organisations. Private Bus Company called "AirBus, costs approximately $15 per person can be used to transport you to and from Hotel and Airport. Please Note: Hotel can only organise transportation From Hotel to Airport. Light breakfast is included in room rate. Breakfast is served between 6:30am to 9:30am DUE TO EXTREMELY LIMITED PARKING SPACES, PARKING MUST TO BE PRE BOOKED PRIOR TO ARRIVAL. ALL CAR SPOTS ARE SUBJECT TO AVAILABILITY. COST APPLIES. (Note: WIFI available in all areas - fees apply) Darling Harbour is 2.5 klm or approximately 30 minutes walking distance Sydney University is approximately 800 metres or 30 minutes' walk Central Railway station is approximately 900 metres or 15 - 20 minutes' walk Redfern Stations is approximately 500 metres or 10 minutes' walk China Town is approximately 1 klm or 20 minutes' walk Sydney Airport is approximately 7.6 klms or 12 minutes' drive Please Note: Y Hotel City South building is located close to the railway lines. All rooms have double glazed windows. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Y Hotel City South

Address: 179 Cleveland St, Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia (Formerly Noah Lodge)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $77 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Y Hotel City South 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Y Hotel City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay