We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
2 people are viewing this hotel
Sofitel
$172
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/29/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$173
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/29/22
Prestigia.com
$168
View deal
Booking.com$173
Priceline$173
Etrip$226
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1182)
Room & Suite (877)
Dining (138)

About

#87 of 208 in Sydney
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.2
Value
3.8
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
6520Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,781
  • 1,998
  • 1,076
  • 435
  • 231
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
westy54 wrote a review Yesterday
Sydney, Australia7349 contributions1051 helpful votes
+1
Stayed for one night in late April and were upgraded to a balcony room overlooking the garden. Thank you. Room, which was a reasonable size, was furnished largely unchanged from the rooms of previous stays several years ago. Room was furnished with a queen sized bed (very comfortable), with bedside tables and wall mounted reading lamps either side of the bed. There was also a desk with a chair, a return on which the flat screen TV sat, a lounge chair and a small coffee table, bar fridge, a kettle and wardrobe with bath gowns. Bathroom was quite compact with the shower in the bath. The shower was a wall mounted hand held nozzle and did not work very well such that the pressure was poor and you almost had to stand next to the wall to get wet. Room was clean and the WIFI was free and worked well. Do think though that this hotel needs some TLC and some upgrading to the rooms. Breakfast buffet was not up to the spreads of pre-covid days though offered enough choice. It was though expensive at $47 per person. Staff at reception when checking in and checking out were very pleasant. We stayed on a Sunday night and as we entered the parking area it stated that all day parking that day was $20. However because we stayed overnight, even though we left early the next morning, the cost was $60. Exorbitant as always at this venue even though the car park is run by Wilson.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
James Walker wrote a review Yesterday
Hong Kong, China30 contributions34 helpful votes
I am interested in the criteria Australia has for 5 star hotels, this is not 5 star by any global standard. The tourist board let the city down and Accor let their brand down with this Sofitel. Wentworth rooms are tired and fairly shabby. I respect it’s a period building but there are plenty of wonderful period hotels that don’t feel jaded. The breakfast buffet I enjoyed. Hotel invoice attempted to charge us twice for our breakfast, every day. One at the AUD advance price of AUD 30 per head and one at the AUD 40+ full rate x 2. Over AUD 300 per night for a tired hotel with no pool and little to commend it, except it’s location, I’m fairly surprised at the positive reviews here. I will not stay in this hotel again. I know Sydney does much much better than this for AUD 300 per night.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
mgruss2 wrote a review May 17
Bathurst, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
Not quite in the centre of things (close enough for an easy stroll however) buy if you’re focussed on Angel Place, the Quay, Opera House or as we were, the Sydney Conservatorium, where we were treated to an absolutely brilliant evening of Beethoven, Prokofiev and Elgar by the outstanding student Symphony Orchestra, then the Sofitel is the place to be. Even the standard rooms are lovely - stylishly furnished, comfortably appointed and the parking right underneath with unlimited exits and returns and direct access to the lobby is most convenient. We had several visits to the lobby level Soirée where we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the services of attentive staff but we thought the menu offerings, especially for light meals a little unappealing. A more negative comment (and the only one) was the very expensive breakfast provision. $40 might be Ok if you want to eat breakfast like a king but for those of us who sought only a bowl of cereal, toast and coffee, the brilliant little cafe just round the corner in Hunter Street was perfect, at little more than half that price.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren Job, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Responded 3 days ago
Bonjour mgruss2, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable evening with Symphony Orchestra. We truly appreciate you sharing your recent experience with us & glad you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere in Soiree. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Regards Lauren Job Director of Luxury Experience
Read more
Andrew M wrote a review May 16
Rouse Hill, Australia62 contributions31 helpful votes
A major birthday celebration ruined by the lack of a restaurant, at the time of booking accommodation nothing on the web site. Computer system down unable to check in, over charged on departure. The only good thing was the room upgrade.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren Job, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Responded 4 days ago
Bonjour Andrew, Thank you for your review on trip advisor & for your email to the hotel. Again we apologise for the misunderstanding on departure and we are sorry we let you down. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Regards Lauren Job Director of Luxury Experience
Read more
basejump123 wrote a review May 11
basejump105 contributions39 helpful votes
In my opinion, this once great heritage hotel is no longer 5 star. First the good. Great bed, quiet and good a/c. Shower is very average. Unable to cast to the hotel TV. Any type of room service ends at 10 pm. No concierge or assistance with bags. So no longer 5 stars. Having said that, the staff were friendly and the location is terrific for both business and pleasure.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Rooms near lifts have some noise.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren Job, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Responded 1 week ago
Bonjour basejump123, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your recent experience with us and apologise if you felt the hotel is no longer 5 star. Since our reopening in March 2022 we have been doing this in stages & we endeavor to have 24hr room service by the end of May/June. We are so sorry no one from our Concierge team assisted with your bags & I will be sharing your feedback with our team. Again, we are so sorry & hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Regards Lauren Job Director of Luxury Experience
Read more
Wander57417216059 wrote a review May 7
Canberra, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
A wonderful stay at the Sofitel Wentworth, pampered by the lovely staff and delicious offerings in the Club lounge. All the staff are professional and welcoming, including cleaning and front desk of course. It's really good to see things returning to 'normal' after the covid lockdowns.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren Job, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Responded 1 week ago
Bonjour Wander57417216059, Wow! Thank you so much for your review & 5/5 rating. It is such a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our staff & offerings in Club. I will ensure your comments are shared as I know they will be much appreciated. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Regards Lauren Job Director of Luxury Experience
Read more
jek27 wrote a review May 6
Sydney, Australia12 contributions3 helpful votes
Overpriced room ..placed next to elevator..basic wine price $65 +8.50 to bring to room..breakfast $77.00 included cold coffee and small glass of juice...booked a city view room view was a office building...the only good point we're the staff. Room also dusty which elicited unwanted sneezing ...sorry but very very dissapointed and felt "ripped off"
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren Job, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Responded 1 week ago
Bonjour jek27, Thank you for your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for your recent experience with us. I will ensure your feedback is shared with our team & we are sorry your felt ripped off. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and again we are sorry we let you down on this occasion. Regards Lauren Job Director of Luxury Experience
Read more
taffy_longman wrote a review May 1
Gold Coast, Australia246 contributions111 helpful votes
Outstanding Sydney city Oasis welcome back indeed for us weekend three night stay catch up with friends Must confess we have not been at this wonderful Sofitel hotel a few years now however standards are still very high and lovely staff we are grateful to return We had curtsey room upgrade as platinum card holders however never a given when Accor hotels are busy and hotel looked it was on high occupancy level Any great brand is only as good as the staff the moment we turned up outside hotel the concierge Nick was a real gentleman whisking away our luggage efficiently with a smile and it was a wonderful greeting Front desk young lady called Vanessa organised our room and explained our access to club Sofitel and was just so accommodating what a great start to our weekend in the harbour city The luxury room chosen for us was on level eight lovely room it was outstanding with a very comfortable mattress sleeping was no issue in the king bed also the room and bathroom was spotless clean and just wonderfully appointed No mini bar standard these days however welcome vouchers for drinks in the lobby bar and we enjoyed them with a light lunch Evenings at the Sofitel Club lounge was superb with great service from the attentive staff canapés and drinks were outstanding variety choices fantastic value Breakfast was served daily in the garden court views and was buffet style with great coffee and food choices also dedicated chef for eggs omelette pancakes the staff again were excellent The hotel is in great position for city shops restaurants also short walk to circular quay to the harbour waterway delight and tourists iconic views of the Bridge and opera house What a beautiful property with absolutely nothing to complain about on the weekend also we are definitely going to return to our favourite Sydney hotel in future
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren Job, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Responded 2 weeks ago
Bonjour taffy_longman, Wow! Thank you so much for your review and 5/5 rating. It is such a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our staff and facilities. We are so happy you had and outstanding experience with us and it means so much to the team to be recognised for their service. I will ensure your review is shared with our team & we cannot wait to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth soon. Regards Lauren Job Director of Luxury Experience
Read more
doliSydney wrote a review Apr 2022
Sydney84 contributions21 helpful votes
Absolutely love this hotel, great city location especially for Circular Quay and Sydney Opera House. From the minute you step into this hotel, the service is exceptional. Tremendous guest experience every single time. Club Lounge is superb with very attentive staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren Job, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Responded 2 weeks ago
Bonjour doliSydney, Wow! Thank you so much for your review & 5 stars. It is such a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our exceptional service, superb location & attentive staff. We truly appreciate you sharing your recent experience & we hope we can welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth soon. Regards Lauren Job Director of Luxury Experience
Read more
Ian A wrote a review Apr 2022
Homebush, Australia31 contributions10 helpful votes
I enjoyed 2 nights at Sofitel Wentworth hotel recently. It has been many years since my last visit so I was pleased t see that the high standards haver been maintained. I particularly enjoyed finding a copy of the Sydney Morning Herald outside my door each morning. The facilities were spotlessly clean and he room size adequate. Breakfast was delicious with the usual range of food items available. I commend this hotel to people seeking a classy retreat in the CBD.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren Job, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Responded 3 weeks ago
Bonjour 655iana, Wow. Thankyou so much for your review and 5/5 rating. It is such a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our facilities, rooms and breakfast offering. We hope we can welcome you back for another classy CBD retreat. Regards Lauren Job Director of Luxury Experience
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$188 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sofitel sydney wentworth hotel sydney, accor sydney wentworth, sydney sofitel
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
436
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Which popular attractions are close to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth?
Nearby attractions include Next Level Escape (0.08 miles), Altmann + Cherny - Australian Opals (0.3 miles), and 24 Hours In Sydney (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grand Pavilion, Gelato Messina Circular Quay, and Palmer & Co..
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Sofitel Sydney Wentworth located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Sydney.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sofitel Sydney Wentworth offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.