We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Rydges Sydney Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rydges Sydney Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,471: English reviews
Exeter, Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Travelling with two teenagers we got two rooms adjoining and it was a great deal. Cheaper to get two rooms than a room that slept four of us. Very good location, walking distance to Single Origin Coffee in Reservoir St, great place for breakfast. Check in was easy, we got there early our room was not ready. Came back after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grant S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Close to Central station so easy to get about. Room pretty standard, as was restaurant. Breakfast expensive for what was on offer. For a bit more trendy, Hotel 57 on the next street over is a good choice.

Helpful?
Thank Jason S
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Rydges hotel and it was great! Although it is pretty far from the harbor and the main attractions of Sydney, the staff and service was amazing. They were kind enough to help us with confirming some of our tours and this was very helpful since we don't really know how to dial Australian phone numbers. (We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marlen G
Rydges_Central, Front Office Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Marlen G, Thank you for taking the time to provide some great feedback on your stay! We are very lucky to be in a great location which makes things very convenient for our guests. It’s great to hear our staff looked after you so well while you were with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind... More 

Murgon Queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a habit I do not use in room bar facilities as I find them overpriced. On this occasion I consumed one bottle of water. I cleared the account on checkout but upon checking my bankcard account today here was a debit for $3.50 from this venue. This has never happened to me before so I would recommend to check... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill K
Rydges_Central, Front Office Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Bill K, Thank you for taking the time to provide us some feedback on your recent stay. Sorry to hear you had some unexpected charges on your bill, we would like to rectify this as soon as possible. If you could contact me directly I would be happy to get to the bottom of this; barry_swaine@evt.com Look forward to... More 

Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This review is for duty manager Matthew. Dear Matthew, On Friday 18th November 2016, my wife and I stayed at the hotel for a weekend in the city to see Aladdin. Due to unfortunate events we had to leave the hotel early. We just wanted to thank Matthew and his staff for the exceptional customer service that we received that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
Rydges_Central, Front Office Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Aaron H, Thank you for such a positive review. It's great to hear we were able look after you so well on short notice. We have passed your kind words on to Matt and the rest of the team. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Barry Hotel Management More 

Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was spacious and clean with a good bed. We booked a "balcony" room and the balcony was nice with good chairs. However the view was of an inner courtyard. last time we stayed we had a balcony with a view over Surry Hills which was much nicer. Bit disappointing. Reception staff was friendly and efficient - both checking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Henk T
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Henk, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always nice to hear that our hotel holds a special place in people's hearts. Unfortunately being an inner-city hotel majority of our rooms do look out to other buildings. We do have a few rooms that are an exception, requests can always be made prior to... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked for a week and payed top $$$ for the room and $40 a night parking got in to the room and from 6 pm till 5 am the whole week there was work men power tools and every noise you could imagine that goes with a building site, not warned very disappointed and no compensation what's so ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank FoodloverAA
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi FoodloverAA, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am very sorry to hear you experienced noise impact from construction, and would be interested if you could contact me to give me more details. We do have a refurbishment happening at the moment, but all works are between 9am & 5pm, with only very very limited... More 

Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

staying in Sydney for 3 days before going on a cruise. location is good in quite a trendy area, which is good because the restaurant is closed in the evening and the coffee shop was closed most of the time. there is a canteen attached to the hotel. there are lots of little coffee bars nearby which serve food. we... More 

Helpful?
Thank bossajh
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I hope you mentioned the sink to our reception team during your stay so we could get this seen to by our maintenance team. I am sorry to hear you were disturbed prior to 9am by workers, we have spoken to the foreman regarding this. We do have a number... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Sydney Central for 2 nights. Laura at the desk was very helpful. She made sure we had a nice quite room, with a great view of the city. Room had been refurbished recently. Very comfortable, love the kingsize bed. Breakfast was not bad, but the tables could be better. Also love the fish, swimming in the floor.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dianevdk
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Diane, Very happy to hear you were well looked after by the lovely Laura on reception. Glad you enjoyed your sleep on our famous Rydges Dream Beds! As part of our hotel refurbishment the tables and chairs in our restaurant are being replaced next year. The Fish tank in the lobby is a great feature, definitely not something you... More 

Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As the name suggest, this hotel is located in central part of the city, near the railway station. Room we stayed in was good, and the buffet breakfast was good as well. Nice staff at the reception. Recommended….

Helpful?
Thank IamSSinha
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, Thank you. So pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Kind Regards, Jenny Tennick - Hotel Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

552 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (264)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (109)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Balcony Room (42)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (42)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Studio Suite (40)
Viewed
Superior Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#36 of 179 in Sydney
1,123 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 179 in Sydney
4,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 179 in Sydney
3,583 reviews
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#65 of 179 in Sydney
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Surry Hills

Neighborhood Profile
Surry Hills
Once regarded as the traditional fashion area, Surry Hills has broadened its appeal. This neighborhood continues to distinguish itself as a shopping destination, offering the best collection of one-of-a-kind boutiques, designer brands and flagship stores in the city. Today, this area has evolved into a hub of media, design and professional services - a colorful and diverse place equally known for its antique dealers, art galleries, cafes and pubs. Strolling down the street on a Saturday morning, you’ll see a mix of students, artists, hipsters and a few all-nighters from Oxford Street, the “Gay Capital of Sydney”. In this vibrant neighborhood you will find bohemian chic and modern style co-existing side by side.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Price Range: $120 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Business Hotel in Sydney
#67 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Rydges Sydney Central staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Sydney Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“stay away from west elevators - they are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles HenkT_11, 1 week ago | Read review
“High Floor, at the back, as it is quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles dianevdk, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Higher floors have less street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidPS3692CF, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“when I contacted re leaving suitcases early, no problem, and when we got there room was vacant so could check in, so helpful”
 of 5 bubbles K8655PGmargaretm, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Central location and you can walk to most central city attractions.”
 of 5 bubbles briantelly, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay