We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elephant Backpacker

Save
Traveler (126)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (11)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent6%
  • Very good31%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible39%
Travelers talk about
“budget hostel”(5 reviews)
“clean linen”(7 reviews)
“big hostel”(8 reviews)
Free Internet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Elephant Backpacker
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
25
119
59
31
113
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
25
119
59
31
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hostelclean linenbig hostelcleaned dailythe ground floorhot watercommon areascouple of nightsenjoyed my stayfew minutes walkopera househeaps
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
71 - 75 of 347 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Have only just downloaded the app to leave this. My friends mother booked this last minute for us and it was awful. We didn't even get a chance to go up to our room because we saw the kitchen and toilets and wanted out immediately....More

Thank Leaahchristiee
Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded August 19, 2016

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review approx. 1 year later! I would suggest that when writing your reviews you do them around the time you actually stayed as it provides a clearer picture for others. The hostel has had dramatic...More

Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

...and that is it. Quite dirty and old. Laundry didn't work, wifi was dead, room door didn't close, here are very random travelers in same place sleeping in very dirty environment. Tv room and big kitchen.

Thank HannuV
Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded September 18, 2016

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy the hostel as much as we do. I take on board the feedback you have provided.

Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

Staff are friendly, good location BUT rooms were filthy, i found there were cockroaches on the floors when there was plenty of cleaners, the hostel itself is a wreck needs refurbishing, showers were a good size but dirty. I wouldnt stay here againMore

3  Thank Alexwilliams6
Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded September 18, 2016

Hi Alex. Thank you for your feedback regarding the hostel. Unfortunately cockroaches are found in Australia ad we undergo a treatment on a regular basis to eradicate these from the building. We are constantly carrying out upgrades and repairs in the hostel to ensure a...More

Reviewed May 17, 2016

We had low expectations of this place after reading some of the reviews. The place is old BUT the staff are great, toilets and showers were clean, bedrooms were as you would expect, and a nice little bar in their café to boot. We also...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank FrankNg1234
Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded May 18, 2016

Hi Frank. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you gave our hostel a chance and enjoyed your stay and appreciate all the hard work the Elephant Team put in to make everyone's stay a pleasant one.

Reviewed May 12, 2016

The hostel was a very old building close to city center. It's 15 minutes walking to opera house and Bridge. The area is a bit quiet at night and if I didn't eat at the hostel cafe I wld have to go into city to...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank normanm150
Response from Roisine C, General Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded May 17, 2016

Hello Norman. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We also think the location of the hostel is great and along with the affordable price it makes our hostel attractive to budget travelers.

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
$16 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$16 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (126)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (11)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Rikawa
December 30, 2016|
Answer
Response from Benjamin R | Reviewed this property |
it's not really clear, what you want to say, but I can say, for the time when I was there, which was a year ago, that I enjoyed my stay. it's a low budget hostel. that's what you pay for, that's what you get. no more, not... More
-2
Votes
Room Tips
"Great value for money.Leafy views.Quiet in the evening."
Read review
"Don't expect 5 star and u will be happy :)"
Read review
"book somewhere else... DON'T stay here !!!"
Read review
"Higher floors are quieter"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing