We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Elephant Backpacker

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Elephant Backpacker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 286: English reviews
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When we first arrived we weren't sure we would last a week but ended up staying for 6 months through the winter whilst working and saving through winter. The location is amazing! It's just a short walk from the train station and the city making it very easy and convienent to get anywhere! There is a no drinking policy at... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank katecolbs94
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Elephant for 4 nights when I first arrived in Sydney. My friend had recommended the hostel and I was not disappointed. I stayed in a female dorm and it was spacious and clean. The bathrooms were right next to my room and I never had to wait to use a shower or toilet despite the hostel being... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank saurabhk258
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our stay with us. I understand your feedback regarding our TV room and this is an area we intend to upgrade in the near future. If you are every in Sydney again we would be happy for you to stay with us again. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed at elephant a couple of times now. I sometimes work late in the city and its easier to get a bed for the night. It's cheap, it's basic but it's exactly what you need. Rooms are pretty big, has lockers (you do need your own lock though) and clean linen. I've stayed when it's pretty cold and you... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ks872016
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review. Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you keep coming back to us! We always aim to improve the hostel and will continue to do so. Your feedback is appreciated. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Value for money considering how close you are to the main attractions in Sydney. Roisine and the staff were so helpful and I was able to do wfa for most of my time their which is brilliant for backpackers. I met lot of brilliant people here which is the best thing about hostels. I will definitely be back!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emilycN6182IJ
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Emily, thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. If you every come back to Sydney we would love to have you here. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived here extremely late (eg 1am) after some other accommodation fell through...staff were extremely helpful and courteous, the room was a lot bigger than expected and bed was extremely clean and comfortable...best thing was the rate was fantastic for the location...nice work guys :-)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aussieglobe2014
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The place is in need of serious repair. Work was being carried out when we were there but I don't feel as it was up to scratch The carpets were pulled up on every landing and floorboards were replaced by a sheathing board. Huge sheets of OSB laid on the floors creating a major safety risk. As a third year... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin O
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Martin. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your 1 night stay with us. The works you are referring to is that we are currently installing a new handrail and the carpet has to be lifted in order for this work to be done. The exposed floorboards poses no health and safety risk and has been... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Convenient location and being just out of city made it quiet at night. Also they've banned booze so it's got a very homely atmosphere. I had some of the best sleeps since leaving home at the Elephant cause I wasn't woken up by partying of other guests.My room was clean and although some of the toilets were being fixed all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Norawood
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Nora, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes we are carrying out some repairs and upgrades on our toilets and this will be finished soon and will only enhance your stay. We hope to see you again. Thank you More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Elephant is more than just a place to rest it's a place for community, friendships and stories. The hostel has outlawed alcohol so it is full of calm, friendly guests. The train station is a 5-minute walk away, running around the city is affordable, safe and hassle-free. Round the clock, free Wi-Fi, the kitchen is open from early to... More 

Helpful?
Thank parburytravelgirl
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again one day!! More 

Cardiff
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Have only just downloaded the app to leave this. My friends mother booked this last minute for us and it was awful. We didn't even get a chance to go up to our room because we saw the kitchen and toilets and wanted out immediately. There were shaven beard hairs in the shared toilet sink and bugs crawling around in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leaahchristiee
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review approx. 1 year later! I would suggest that when writing your reviews you do them around the time you actually stayed as it provides a clearer picture for others. The hostel has had dramatic changes take place since your booking and as you actually didn't stay here or go... More 

Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

...and that is it. Quite dirty and old. Laundry didn't work, wifi was dead, room door didn't close, here are very random travelers in same place sleeping in very dirty environment. Tv room and big kitchen.

Helpful?
Thank HannuV
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy the hostel as much as we do. I take on board the feedback you have provided. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Jackaroo Hostel
#19 of 129 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
790 on George
#46 of 129 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 129 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#10 of 129 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
East Sydney Hotel
#55 of 129 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Newtown
Billabong Gardens
Billabong Gardens
#1 of 2 in Newtown
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located between the night life of Kings Cross and the City Centre. All major tourist attractions are within 10-15 minutes walk. Our hostel has a beautiful new cafe & bar that offers restaurant quality food and backpacker prices. We pride ourselves on being cheap and cheerful.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $19 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay