We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Show Prices
#36 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

809 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 759: English reviews
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall a pleasant hotel in a good location with friendly staff. However depending on the type of booking they will immediately take the full amount from your credit card and charge 2.5% on top of the advertised price.

Helpful?
Thank Lynbea
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed 5 nights in a studio apartment. Very spacious with an emperor size bed, huge leather settee, lovely fitted kitchen including dishwasher, and bathroom with separate bath and shower. There was also a washer/dryer. The view from our 12th floor balcony was amazing. The staff were very helpful. The hotel is central for both darling harbour and circular quay.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margeurita
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are appreciative of your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. We will also have a look into the buzz of the fridge. More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time I have stayed here and both times was in an unrefurbished studio. While the hallways are a bit "grim" the actual apartments are great. The carpets curtains etc are a bit past there best, but the apartments are clean, well equipped and well serviced. There is a washer,dryer, full sized oven and fridge-freezer, with more... More 

Helpful?
Thank angwri
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your continuous support, being a loyal guest of ours we definitely look forward to your next stay. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here only for one night during a brief weekend trip. Location: It is very close to Wynyard station (about 2 minute walk) so it is convenient on the airport train line. The front entrance is actually on Jamison Street rather than York Street. It was an easy walk to The Rocks (for the Sunday markets and the chocolate... More 

Helpful?
Thank TashfromMelb
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your stay. We really do value our guests feedback. I will pass on the issues with the room to the maintenance team so they can make amends. We do not have a resort fee at the property. The $50 would have been a pre authorisation done on... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Sydney in July with 3 teenage grand daughters for 3 nights.Were upgraded to 3 bedroom apt. just brilliant.very central,Older girls were able to explore by themselves.Hotel staff were very obliging.Our bed was very comfortableOne of the older girls did not find hers very comfortable but couch was ok..Would highly recommend this hotel.Even enjoyed the church bells!!

Helpful?
Thank Helena066
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are certainly very proud of the team and facilities that provided you with a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed here twice now and will put it down as one of my preferred. Great if you want a bit more space as it is a self contained appartment as opposed to a hotel room, also has resonable priced parking

Helpful?
Thank Karl1509
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are appreciative of your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Despite being advised we could be given a north facing room looking towards the harbour, we ended up in a room with a view of neighbouring office blocks to the west. The compensatory upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment was wasted for 2 people anyway. Other than that, the hotel is clean, relatively quiet with efficient staff. The coffee shop... More 

Helpful?
Thank TerryY43
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank for providing feedback on your stay. I apologize that you did not enjoy the upgraded room or get the view that you were expecting. I will pass your feedback on about the Hungry Bean cafe as they would love to share it with the staff. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. More 

South Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by the generous size of our 2 bedroom apartment. We had great views of centre point tower and could also see the harbor. Rooms were clean and tidy, the pool and spa on level 6 were also more than adequate. Only downside was the drunks and hobos near Wynyard station.

Helpful?
Thank Tony K
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A good stay. Large rooms with microwave and kitchen, laundry, baths and shower, so comfortable just a bit dated with worn carpet. Staff are excellent and friendly. Kind of tuck away but not far to walk to central areas and shopping.

Helpful?
Thank Bernadetteshanahan13
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are certainly very proud of the team and facilities that provided you with a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Temora, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were very pleased with our apartment which was very well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and we had all the amenities required for a comfortable stay. The location of the hotel was just perfect , with just a short walk to the Rocks , Martin Place and Pitt Street Mall.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank Susan J
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

I am pleased to read your review and to hear of your great experience at The York apartments. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

960 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (336)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (112)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (96)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (595)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (118)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Studio Apartment (111)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Apartment (159)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Executive Apartment (163)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#71 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,209 reviews
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Price Range: $143 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay