We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Show Prices
#38 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

796 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 748: English reviews
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The apartment we stayed in had everything we needed lounge dining kitchen bath laundry comfy bed and a good size deck handy if you want to smoke. There is a pool and hot tub on one of the floors. Handy location close to most City and harbour attractions walking distance trains a few minute away

Helpful?
Thank nettejm
Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property is easy to locate, and right smack in the middle of CBD. Walkable distance to major shopping areas and places of interest. Very clean and spacious. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment for 3 and we are happy! Do not expect the apartment to be very stylish, it serves its purpose. Special thanks to Jeanette! Very attentive and... More 

Helpful?
Thank anveasoh
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I will pass on your lovely feedback about Jeanette and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the York after driving down from Brisbane (stopping overnight at Nambucca Heads - halfway). We had booked a two bedroom apartment and were upgraded to a three bedroom suite. The room was well appointed with the ensuite having a separate shower and bath and twin sinks. main bathroom had a shower. Kitchen was outfitted with tea and... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneGirl81
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We are appreciative of your review following your recent visit at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are delighted you took advantage of our central location and took comfort in our apartments. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again soon. I will also pass on your suggestion in regards to patio bolts. More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been left so disappointed by this hotel. Arrived to a very tired, dated hotel passed its prime. Our first room was clean but on further inspection we realised the shower screen was broken and un-useable. We couldn't ring reception to ask for assistance as both phones in our room were broken. I rang the external number and spoke... More 

Helpful?
Thank s501
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I apologize for the disappointing experience you had . We are working hard to rectify these issues to ensure our future guests do not experience the same. More 

West australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just near the Wynard station & easy access to city. These apartments are very comfortable with all the necessities for a short stay. Woolworths in walking distance as well as many cafes & restaurants. The apartment I stayed in was 1 bedroom. It was very spacious with separate toilet & bathroom. Long balcony overlooked the gardens across the road &... More 

Helpful?
Thank squidmuffin
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the location. More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelling from Canada to stay for a prolonged period of time in Sydney required more than just a hotel room, and wow did York ever impress. This was exactly what was needed. I had heard of people staying here in the past, and when we booked, we were not disappointed. When reading about the hotel, and entering our room, it... More 

Helpful?
Thank NL Scott L
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

It has put a smile on my face to read your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the location was perfect for you. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent apartment, we had one that has been refurbished from reading the previous comments. 2 bedroom/ 2 bath. Perfect for 6 days away with our teenage daughter Excellent location for seeing the sights in Sydney, all the facilities that you need. Ample toiletries, washing and cooking facilities if you want to use it Staff on reception helpful and honest Thoroughly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Timperleyoccasion
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

I am pleased to read your review and to hear of your great experience at The York apartments. More 

Dorrigo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had booked a Deluxe Queen Studio but our room on the 6th floor was equipped with a very comfortable king size bed and an enormous balcony looking back down York Street. The room was clean, nicely furnished and well equipped including two TVs - a full size bath etc. Considering that we live in a very quiet country location... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndrewH233
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Location is within walking to the main shopping centre and to harbour bridge. There is also a train station about 200m from the hotel. Staff were really friendly. The room was clean and tidy. Maybe due for an update soon. We would all defiantly stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank jayneo_88
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are appreciative of your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

I did not like the fact that my deposit was held on top of the payment. This meant my Credit was limited for days. Upon arrival the dishwasher was out of service I asked at reception to have it fixed early as I was expecting visitors around midday, the mechanics arrived around 12:30pm, could not fix it & replaced with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Captaincrankypants
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do take all our feedback, good and bad on board. I will share your comments with our team so that we can better improve our services. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

941 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (317)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (595)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (118)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Studio Apartment (111)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Apartment (159)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Executive Apartment (163)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#70 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,063 reviews
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Price Range: $141 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay