We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Save
Share
100 Murray Street Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$160
View Deal
travelup.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1103)
Room & Suite (266)
Dining (83)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 11/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#65 of 204 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Enjoy a warm welcome stunning views of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Adjacent to the ICC Sydney and connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or the Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. The hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being, The Ternary - our amazing concept restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Marina View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
178Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
30Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
5,459Reviews55Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,883
  • 2,122
  • 940
  • 298
  • 216
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JMac wrote a review Jan 11
1 contribution
In June last year, I paid for a 3 night stay at the Novotel Darling Harbour in February 2021. I bought a fully refundable flexible room rate. I had to cancel my booking in early December. I was told my refund would take 7-10 days to be in my account. I still have not received my refund despite repeated emails and phone calls to obtain my refund. Firstly they kept brushing me off saying they would follow it up, but never get back to me, and now they just don't respond. They are rude and being very difficult in what should be a straight forward refund. Very disappointed that an Australian hotel is doing this.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacqui Paurini, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Responded 1 week ago
Dear JMM2703, Thank you for taking the time to share your booking & customer service experience with us at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. Firstly, please allow me express my sincerest apologies for the issues you have had receiving your refund that you are rightfully entitled to, especially throughout such a difficult time. Please also allow me to apologise for the poor customer service. This is not the service we are renowned for and I will share this feedback with the team. JMM2703, If I could kindly ask that you contact me directly at the Hotel and I will ensure this matter is resolved. We hope to be able to rebuild your trust and welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Jacqui Paurini Guest Experience Manager
Read more
SimonB wrote a review Nov 2020
Cebu City, Philippines137 contributions54 helpful votes
+1
While I was dreading the mandatory 14 day quarantine in Australia it seems I hit the jackpot with being locked down in a hotel that actually "CARES" ........ YES "CARES"!!!!!!! So the Novotel actually really cares about us, I'm not kidding or exaggerating. ROOM : Serious ? I have a view of Darling Harbour and an enormous room as per the pictures I have added to this review. The Bed is so comfortable, bathroom is big and includes a bathtub with amenities provided, fridge and tea and coffee provided plus ironing facilities in room . 10/10 FOOD : Everyday I am provided with a menu choice of lunch and dinner, the second choice normally catering for the vegetarians. I must say the food is cooked fresh everyday in the Hotel kitchen and delivered to my door. The quality of the food is exceptional as is the variety and choices. Normally everyday with the food menu the Hotel provides a wine/beer/spirit special for the day being discounted from the normal price. Great value, quality choices. 10/10 SERVICE : Well there isn't really any so called service to review BUT if I need anything the front desk sends it up immediately (e.g. towel change, linen change, toiletries etc). Over the phone the staff are exceptionally nice, pleasant and helpful. Everyday the nurse calls me to check up on me, they are on call here 24x7. I have had 2 Covid tests by the nicest nurses I have met in my life, I think the understand the isolation factor of each guest. 10/10 On leaving you are provided with all your Covid result in writing if you need to go to another state as I have to do and HOPEFULLY this document will provided exemption for further quarantine requirements impose by each state. I know that I struck it very very lucky having to quarantine in The Novotel Sydney and it certainly has helped being so well looked after for 14 days isolated from humanity. If I ever came back to Sydney to stay this would be the hotel I would choose hands down. TIPS FOR PREPARING FOR QUARANTINE : - Pack a metal spoon, knife and fork set. The hotel provides wooden utensils but a good set of cutlery certainly helps - Bring a decent coffee cup whether plastic or otherwise. The hotel provides disposable cups. If you want a decent cup of coffee or tea its best to bring a decent sized cup - Laundry bar......bring a laundry bar to wash you necessities in either the sink or bathtub. In unison with the laundry bring a couple of cheap hangers as the ones in the cupboard cannot be removed (those types that do not have the hook part if you take them out of the cupboard). The hangers you bring are used to hang your laundry on the clothes line in the bathtub/shower. - If you have foreign electrical plugs on your appliances (computer) and multiple items to charge or use then bring a power board with multiple sockets for your appliances and that way you only need 1 Australian adapter to use to plug the board in to the Australian socket. I brought a small 2 socket power board which was enough. If its flat pins then you can actually twist the pins on an angle to fit the Australian socket. You can order groceries online from either Coles or Woolworths in the immediate area (hotel provides the link to these supermarkets) and the groceries are delivered to the hotel and the staff immediately deliver it to your room. This is so convenient. All I can say is The Novotel Sydney is a wonderful hotel and it really is customer focused. I cannot fault anything at all. A BIG BIG THANKYOU to The Novotel, well done!!!!!! ROOM 725 IS VERY VERY HAPPY
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Holt, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Responded Dec 21, 2020
Dear Simonbebe, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, during your 14 day quarantine. Your feedback is so kind and we are so glad to hear that through a difficult time, you were able to enjoy your stay. I have shared this feedback with our entire Hotel team, as this will serve as an encouragement to all teams involved in ensuring our guests have a comfortable stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again so you can meet the team. Wishing you a Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year. Sincerely, Richard Holt General Manager Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Read more
Rodjordan wrote a review Nov 2020
15 contributions4 helpful votes
Great hotel to stay, so convenient to Darling Harbour, restaurants and CBD. Reception staff were helpful and engaging. Room was clean and well set up. Breakfast was included in the package and was of a very high standard. All round service at the hotel could not be faulted.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Holt, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Responded Nov 24, 2020
Dear Rodjordan, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Richard Holt General Manager Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Read more
Matt wrote a review Nov 2020
London, United Kingdom6 contributions
I got seriously lucky in getting this hotel for my two week quarantine on arrival from overseas. Choice of food was great, massive room with view over Darling Harbour, and nothing was a problem for the staff- a quick phone call to reception and your request would be dealt with. They organised some optional activities on Zoom to pass the time and get to chat to other quarantiner’s, Halloween quiz and virtual beer tasting from Feral Brewing Co. were good fun. Will definitely stay there as a regular guest when the world calms down, cheers guys!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Holt, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Responded Nov 24, 2020
Dear Mattw1t, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, during your 14 day quarantine. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Richard Holt General Manager Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Read more
Amy S wrote a review Nov 2020
Atlanta, Georgia1 contribution
It's a really surreal feeling when you are led down a hotel corridor to a mystery room by a member of the Australian Defence Force; bags in tow (both on wheels and under your eyes), knowing that as soon as the door shuts behind you, you will not be passing back through it again for some time. To be clear - I was not at all looking forward to my government-imposed hotel staycation. I had spooked myself in the lead-up to my trip from Atlanta, Georgia in the deep south of the United States to the beautiful shores of Sydney (my home) by engaging all too frequently on the Facebook groups set up for those of us who were lucky enough to make it back to Australia, to share quarantine tips and experiences. There really are some sad stories in those groups, and I was afraid I might become one of them. After that door closed behind me, I will admit that I had a *slight* freak out about what was to come, but what I didn't know in that moment was that I had gotten very lucky with my allocated accommodation. To say that the staff at the Novotel Darling Harbour rose to this extremely unusual occasion would be a complete understatement. They exceeded every single expectation I had going into this scenario, and then continued to surprise us all along the way! The staff were overwhelmingly friendly and understanding of our situation, the meals were prepared by the on-site kitchen (and yes, we had a choice of meals each and every day), and care packages and food deliveries were brought to our rooms without any delay whatsoever (seriously - this part was actually amazing... do y'all have some secret delivery system in here??). But by far, my favorite parts of my stay at the Novotel Darling Harbour were the almost daily activities that the staff of the hotel set up during our first week (they seemed to disappear in the second week??) and the daily drink specials (if you're not a drinker now, you may become one in quarantine!). All of these things are so far ABOVE AND BEYOND what was expected of them and honestly it brightened what is really a very unpleasant experience for anybody. If you're reading this as a non-quarantine traveler, I'm sorry to say you may not get the full experience I outlined above (but you will get fresh air, so there's that), but you can expect exceptionally clean rooms, comfortable beds and pillows (best hotel pillow I've come across in a very long time!), friendly and attentive staff and a beautiful view over Darling Harbour - sadly I was not afforded this particular luxury, but had a lot of time to be acquainted with the hotel neighbors across the road on the other side of the building. Tomorrow I break free from quarantine and reunite with my family after more than a year. I want to thank Novotel Darling Harbour for your absolutely amazing hospitality during such a unique experience, and I will be sure to tell everyone how lucky I was to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour view room!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Holt, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Responded Nov 17, 2020
Dear Amylouise870, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially in these unprecedented times. I will share your comments with our entire team, as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Amy, thank you for being so kind, through such a tough time for all those who are in Quarantine. Thank you for taking part in our activities and we enjoyed getting to know you. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back and get to meet you in person. Sincerely, Jacqui Paurini Guest Experience Manager Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel sydney on darling harbour hotel sydney, novetel sydney, accor sydney on darling harbour, sydney novotel, darling harbour novotel
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
525
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour?
Nearby attractions include Darling Harbour (0.2 miles), Flight Experience (0.10 miles), and Australian National Maritime Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sokyo, Social Brew Cafe, and The Ternary.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Sydney.
Are any cleaning services offered at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Chinese Garden of Friendship (0.4 miles), State Theatre (0.5 miles), and St. Mary's Cathedral (1.0 miles).