We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Sydney

Show Prices
#56 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,366: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Sydney
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I travel frequently for business and have become accustomed to the quality provided by the Accor and particularly the Mercure Hotel brand. Their hotels offer a consistent quality at most destinations and they are usually in just the right place. The Mercure in Sydney is located at the top end of George Street near Central Station. Easy access to public...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobeMans
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear RobeMans Thank you for your review of Mercure Sydney. I am pleased you had a great stay with us, particularly enjoying the hotel's ideal location. I appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel was comfortable and staff were pleasant and helpful. The room had plenty of space and bathroom okay. I asked for a room with a view as i was there for 3 days but got a wall outside the window but the bed was comfy and clean and it was quiet...so 2 out of 3 is ok. One elevator closed...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 427guest
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear 427guest Thank you for sharing your review of Mercure Sydney and pleased to note your overall stay was most comfortable. I do however regret that our city view rooms were sold out on this occasion. I have also followed up with our elevator contractor to inspect the lift doors accordingly. I appreciate feedback and hope to have the opportunity...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good location on George Street with close proximity to shopping and tourist attractions such as Darling Harbour, Paddy's market, Chinatown, etc. Room size is good for the four adults with the 2 double beds in the room which I have booked. Only complaint - the room is not probably cleaned as the carpet is still dirty with daily housekeeping.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaseyTeh
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear CaseyTeh Thank you for posting a review of your experience at Mercure Sydney. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel's convenient location and the spacious room. However, my apologies for the lapse in our cleaning standards on this occasion. Please rest assured that I have followed up with our Housekeeping team to ensure this is addressed accordingly and prevent...

PERTH
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had 3 nights in a 4th floor room. Good size room with fresh king size bath towels. Comfortable bed. Very clean and had block out black blind and then a second privacy blind. Plenty of parking that was expensive at $45 a day. Wifi only free for 30 mins each day then $10 a day. Large breakfast area with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank COOKIES8Perth
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Cookies8Perth Thank you for posting a review of Mercure Sydney. I am pleased to note you had a comfortable stay with us. I also advise that we offer complimentary wifi to all our Accor members throughout their stays. Membership is free and this may be an option for your for future stays. I appreciate your comments and look forward...

McKinney, Texas
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We appreciated being in such close proximity to the train station from the Mercure, since the best Sydney has to offer is accessible by train. However, since this is so central, the rooms are much smaller than all the other hotels we stayed in in Australia. The breakfast buffet was ample and large, the beds comfortable, and the a/c kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WendyHappiness1
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear WendyHappiness1 I appreciate you sharing your experience of Mercure Sydney, and pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I have however followed up with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure the issues your raised are addressed with her team accordingly and prevent future occurrence. Thank you for your feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back...

Bandar Seri Begawan
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you are looking for a decent 4 stars hotel with good access to the Central train station in CBD Sydney, this is the hotel I would recommend. Its back entrance opens out directly to the underground entrance or access to the Central Train Station which is the biggest interchange in Sydney. The rooms are reasonably sized, well kept, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHIONG
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Chiong Thank you for sharing your review of Mercure Sydney. I am pleased to note your overall stay was most satisfactory, particularly enjoying the hotel's ideal location and the friendly service provided by our staff. I appreciate your comments and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a week in March 2015 (won't let me say any earlier than April 2016). It's very close to lots of great amenities e.g train and bus stations, and a very central place to stay for exploring the city. Great pool on the top floor which was always quiet when we used it. Our room was well presented...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catladylaura
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Catladylaura Thank you for review of your of Mercure Sydney. I am pleased you had a great stay with us, enjoying all our facilities. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager

warren
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Mercure Sydney is always a great place to stay, centrally located close to transport and eateries I always find the staff friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good middle of the range hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevorw579
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear trevorw579 Thank your for sharing your review of Mercure Sydney. I am delighted you enjoy staying with us, finding the hotel's location ideal for your needs and our staff friendly and helpful. I appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager

northumberland
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here in April 2013 and found this hotel extremely comfortable so as I was joining a ship from here, I had no hesitation in booking the same hotel for two nights pre-cruise. I requested a high floor, overlooking Geoge Street. I got a room on floor 12 but the view was awful - room 1217. Unfortunately, upon checking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diarykeeper
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear diarykeeper I appreciate you choosing to stay with us again, however sorry to ready that your experience this time did not meet up to your expectations. I would appreciate if you could advise us the room number and dates of your stay so that we may be able to follow up on the issues you raised and addressed these...

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel after having to move from a backpackers that was not up to standard. The Mercure was ideal, lovely room with comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities. The bath and shower were very good and the room spotless. We asked at reception and we're given a code for free wifi. The staff were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Valerie Thank you for posting a review of Mercure Sydney. I am most pleased you had a comfortable stay with, enjoying our facilities we have available. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back when next you visit Sydney. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (527)
Viewed
View from Room (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
3:26
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (165)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (534)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Balcony Room (51)
Viewed
Executive King Suite (78)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Privilege Room King (62)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (64)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (39)
Viewed
Superior City View Room (111)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#65 of 179 in Sydney
1,213 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
5,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
1,378 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 179 in Sydney
4,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $138 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mercure Sydney staff and other travelers.
36 questions
Ask a question
Perth, Western Australia

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“High floor where you may get a glance of the city view, hopefully.”
 of 5 bubbles CHIONG, 4 days ago | Read review
“Higher floors enjoy a nice view onto city.”
 of 5 bubbles 915vipulc, 1 week ago | Read review
“Higher rooms with a view towards the city are great!”
 of 5 bubbles TeamDownUnder, 1 week ago | Read review
“High floor. Room facing to the north for unobstructed view. Avoid room facing to the west.”
  • Two single bed in lowest room category.
 of 5 bubbles Bud14rto, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“The city view rooms on the higher levels provide great views.”
 of 5 bubbles GaV6869, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question