We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
13 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Exclusive Member Rate
Booking.com
$206
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/15/22
Expedia.com
$207
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/16/22
Destinia.com
$202
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/16/22
Priceline$206
Hotels.com$207
ZenHotels.com$209
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4473)
Room & Suite (1547)
Dining (324)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Shangri-La Sydney
Updated 05/23/22

About

#106 of 206 hotels in Sydney
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
Shangri-La Sydney enjoys the most coveted position on Sydney Harbour. The unparalleled views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House enhance the glamour of this destination hotel. Nestled in the historic Rocks District, the contemporary hotel features 564 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites, reflecting the vibrant hues of the harbour beyond. Horizon Club on level 30 is Australia’s most sophisticated guest lounge. The finely-decorated space boasts soaring, 13 metre-high windows spanning four floors, and offers 270 degree views. Altitude restaurant takes dining to new heights. Nowhere else in Sydney will you find an award-winning culinary experience with such extraordinary, all-encompassing views of Sydney Harbour’s glittering jewels. Blu Bar on 36 serves creative cocktails by talented bartenders presiding over a sleek space brimming with Sydneysiders and visitors alike, as the city glistens below. Chi, The Spa is the perfect destination for those seeking a tranquil, urban oasis, drawing inspiration from ancient Asian healing and wellness philosophies to create a place of personal peace, enchantment and well-being. Let the breathtaking beauty of Sydney envelop you in its magic at Shangri-La Sydney.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Harbor View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Exclusive Member Rate

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
316Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
101Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
8190Reviews96Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,697
  • 1,981
  • 788
  • 401
  • 323
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tina R wrote a review Jul 4
Sydney, Australia163 contributions22 helpful votes
On arrival, we were left waiting in the car with no clear direction on where to go or park our car from the concierge. We got out of the car, to then be told to get back in the car and park in the designated area. We had the Executive Sydney Harbour Suite with Club Lounge Access. This came with afternoon high tea, and also canapes at night with alcoholic beverages & buffet breakfast at the club lounge. The food at all 3 were pretty mediocre. The service was lacking, our table would be full of plates with no one to clear them. We would ask for a drink, and then be forgotten about. We would call reception, with no answer. I know this sounds like small stuff, but we paid $3000.00 for the two nights, and we expected premium service, not something that we could get at a 2 star hotel. Blu Bar on 36 needs an update & so does the cocktail list. On the positives, friendly staff, clean rooms, beautiful views.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ella B wrote a review Jul 4
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Me and my family, including my little girl lost our house and everything we own in the Lismore floods. Several weeks after the flood, while we were still homeless we went to treat ourselves at this hotel (as had a bunch of Qantas points and cancelled flight vouchers from covid). The stay was ok, not great. Loud alarm all night on and off kept us up so no sleep- both nights. I had one nice jacket i’d bought at Scotch and Soda a year previously that I’d taken to wear out in Sydney for our special getaway. Unfortunately when I checked out it was left in the wardrobe of the hotel. I had saved this jacket on the night of the flood- it was the last thing I threw in the car as the waters came up. We rang the hotel within a couple of hours but their cleaners had stolen my jacket. I couldn’t bear to lose anything else after losing everything in the flood, but the jacket was never returned. Very upsetting. They would know who cleaned the room. Why are there people stealing guest’s clothes working at a 5 star hotel? I won’t ever stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Damon_2481 wrote a review Jul 1
Byron Bay, Australia16 contributions5 helpful votes
Great view and nice rooms. Booked room and 3 course dinner package (anniversary) . At checkout double charged for Altitude dinner package $304 and dinner charges $290 + charges (against our room on the same night) Dinner was nice but charged $594 just food Advised at checkout by rude front desk bill will be adjusted and would send receipt. Went ahead and deducted all charges and had to chase receipt. Not impressed with pompous attitude, over charges and poor service
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Check account on check out
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Blackwell , Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 4 days ago
Good afternoon Damon, Shangri-La Sydney sincerely appreciates you taking the time to share your perspective and feedback. I am so sorry to hear your experience and the service did not meet expectations. Please be rest assured the points you have raised will be addressed internally. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly via email kathryn.blackwell@shangri-la.com Kind regards, Kathryn Blackwell Director of Operations Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
Annet H wrote a review Jun 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
It might be the best hotel view of Sydney Opera house. Beside that, service and rooms are great. We had room breakfast, while watching sunrise and Opera house.. lifetime moments that are worth. Fast check out was really fast and that is also a bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Blackwell , Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 4 days ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Sydney. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the hotel's spectacular Sydney Harbour views. Furthermore, the in-room dining and service from our colleagues. It is a pleasure to be a part of your special lifetime moments. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Kathryn Blackwell Director of Operations Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
LB wrote a review Jun 2022
Canberra, Australia60 contributions31 helpful votes
We had a wonderful stay at the Shangri-La, in a beautiful room on floor 32 overlooking the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. Facilities are exquisite (L'Occitane toiletries in the bathroom a super nice touch), the bed was really comfortable, room is spacious. We loved having room service breakfast, which was very generously portioned and thoroughly enjoyed over Sydney's best views. Will definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on a high floor
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Blackwell , Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 1 week ago
Good afternoon Lauren, We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful overall experience in true Shangri-La style. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Harbour view room, the facilities and that our in-room dining options delighted you. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Kathryn Blackwell Director of Operations
Read more
Mick Dous wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
From our Wedding night to Birthdays to Anniversaries we always book at Shangri-La even if its a weekend away, staff are always amazing Marco Liang in guest relations was so much help and made our stay memorable, 5 Stars without any hesitation. if you like quiet environment unlike the crown i suggest book the Shangri-La, blu bar on level 36 is a nice place to go, no need to leave the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Blackwell , Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good morning Mick, We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful overall experience in true Shangri-La style. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Blu Bar on 36 and that our colleague’s service delighted you. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Kathryn Blackwell Director of Operations
Read more
Emma wrote a review Jun 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand20 contributions1 helpful vote
Great location and nice view from the 29th floor which we had to pay extra for. Waited close to 45 minutes to check on, they only had two staff on front desk during the busy check in period. There was no mini bar in the room which was annoying. However the room was comfortable and the bathroom was nice. Not up to the standard of the Shangri-La KL where we have stayed before.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid check in at peak time! It’s a long wait!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Blackwell , Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good evening, Thank you for sharing your feedback and we apologise that your experience did not meet expectations. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further, and you may like to contact me directly at kathryn.blackwell@shangri-la.com. Kind regards, Kathryn Blackwell Director of Operations Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
Nola M wrote a review Jun 2022
Port Macquarie, Australia77 contributions37 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night and the room and view was amazing. Can’t fault it, except for the cigarette smoke smell in the bathroom. That was very odd. Maybe it was coming from the air vents. Unfortunately our experience with dinner was beyond disappointing. Service was dreadful. I waited for over five minutes for a glass of water despite the water jugs being four feet away. I should have got it myself. Our mains came in reasonable time but our sides had been taken to the next table, where they stayed for 10 minutes before those people finally found someone to tell them they weren’t their meals. They duly got taken away. Meanwhile we were more than half way thru our mains when we finally got the attention of a waiter to advise them our sides hadn’t arrived. Another few minutes went by until finally the sides that had sat on the other table were finally brought out to us - cold and inedible. I refused to eat mine, concerned with contamination. After many complaints to our waiter, who was not very capable, the assistant manager Veronica came to save the situation. She was most apologetic and from then on we received good service, something that at these prices should be a given. Our window table at breakfast was excellent as was the breakfast itself. Delicious and excellent choices. Stay but not for dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t expect good service at dinner in the Altitude Restaurant.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Blackwell , Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon, Shangri-La Sydney sincerely appreciates you taking the time to share your perspective and feedback. I am so sorry to hear your experience in Altitude did not meet expectations. Please be rest assured the points you have raised will be addressed internally. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly via email sagar.pore@shangri-la.com. Kind regards, Sagar Pore Director of Food & Beverage Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
Paulie S wrote a review Jun 2022
Shellharbour, Australia667 contributions140 helpful votes
+1
This place was truly amazing. You can enjoy a relaxing holiday at this place and it’s not too far from The Rocks and the waterfront – plenty to do there, if you have spare time. We only stayed there for an overnight stay – attended a Vivid dinner (an eight-minute walk from the hotel). We checked-in at 2pm, the line-up was long with only three workers available. They were fast regardless and half-an-hour later, we got our keycard to our room. The person who served us, was very polite and shared with us, practical information. He asked us which side did we access the building. We explained that we got off at Circular Quay Station and walked up a steep hill and many stairs. He advised us, that should we stay there again, to get off at Wyndham Station, to avoid the steep hill and stairs, as it’s flat on the other side of the building – duly noted. However, he did fail to tell us, to access the floor level we’re located on, you need to use your keycard to activate the elevator. But that was alright, as there was another person in the elevator, who explained this to us. The room was very spacious, modern, clean and the view was simply beautiful. I was gobsmacked, the layout of the room was beautiful and the bathroom… whoa!!! Luxury with a plus! If you had forgotten to bring your toiletries, don’t be alarmed – they are way ahead of you. You have complimentary 2 x toothbrushes, 2 x toothpaste, elastic band for your hair, shower cap, sewing kit, 2 x bottles of water and samples of shampoo, conditioner and body lotion plus your teas and coffee. Within Shangri-La, they also have an ‘Altitude Restaurant’, ‘Blu Bar’ on level 36 (has breathtaking views of the harbour – highly recommend to visit that level, just to see the view), Lobby Lounge, Chi, The Spa and their own little store of goodies. Didn’t get to use all their facilities, but gives me an excuse to go there again. There wasn’t a booklet to suggest other places to dine or explore, which we normally get, when we stay at Big4 Holiday Parks, but I’m sure they will be more than happy to help, if you ask one of the staff by dialing 9 on the phone provided next to the bed or ask the Concierge situated on the ground floor. Overall, we had a lovely, felt welcomed and not judged, relaxing stay and felt refreshed and ready to start a new day. If you're on a budget, but would like to experience a luxury stay or celebrate something special, book during the week, as it is much cheaper - avoid Friday, Saturday and Sunday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Blackwell , Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful overall experience in true Shangri-La style. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room and amenities and that our great location made for a wonderful Vivid experience. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Kathryn Blackwell Director of Operations
Read more
Maddy wrote a review Jun 2022
Sydney, Australia12 contributions4 helpful votes
The worst hotel experience I have ever had. The service in this place is ATROCIOUS. The staff are unfriendly, unwelcoming, unaccomodating and inexperienced. After being super excited to celebrate my boyfriends birthday we arrived with a massive 40 minute wait time and barely any staff working, then were told to wait 15 minutes as the room was still not ready way after check-in time. After half an hour I asked the guy is our room ready yet and he said rudely we had to line up again and then finally told us our room wasn’t even checked in yet!! We lined up again and the same lady didn’t even realise she didn’t check us in and got flusted and handed it over to another guy. He then went to check on her room straight away and said he would send champagne in 5 minutes (even though I had already requested that for my boyfriends birthday in the room ready and they said it would be there) 1 hour later still waiting and no champagne. It arrived as we were leaving for dinner and didn’t even want it anymore. Another disappointment was the window was super dirty on the outside and ruined the view that I paid $580 for. Last disappointment was prior to our stay I had called to see if I could book blu bar for us to have cocktails, they said they Didn’t do bookings. So when we tried to go up we couldn’t get in because we didn’t have a reservation and it was too busy. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone which is really disappointing as I had previously had a really great experience here. Because of the shocking service My boyfriend and I were super disappointed and such a shame as it was his birthday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Blackwell , Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good morning Maddy, Shangri-La Sydney sincerely appreciates you taking the time to share your feedback and thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I am sorry to hear the service provided did not meet expectations. Kindly note that we have made a point of addressing the issues you have raised and do hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel in future. For anything further, you may like to contact me directly at kathryn.blackwell@shangri-la.com. Kind regards, Kathryn Blackwell Director of Operations Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$228 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shangri la sydney, shangri la hotel sydney
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyThe Rocks
NUMBER OF ROOMS
563
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shangri-La Sydney
Which popular attractions are close to Shangri-La Sydney?
Nearby attractions include Sydney Pub Tours (0.3 miles), ATTY Gallery (0.2 miles), and Dave's Pub Walks (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Shangri-La Sydney?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Shangri-La Sydney?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Shangri-La Sydney?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Shangri-La Sydney?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shangri-La Sydney?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grand Pavilion, William Blue Dining, and Playfair Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shangri-La Sydney?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Shangri-La Sydney have airport transportation?
Yes, Shangri-La Sydney offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Shangri-La Sydney located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Sydney.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shangri-La Sydney?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Shangri-La Sydney offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.