We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kirketon Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 141: English reviews
Start your review of Kirketon Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed this hotel for the first time, it was neither good nor bad. However, next time I visited, it was very bad room. Empty amenities box, old towels, broken furniture, and no safety box etc. I thought the hotel was good, so I'm very sad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kei M
KirketonManager, Front Office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Kirketon Hotel. It is disappointing to know that cleanliness didn't reach your expectations . This level of service is certainly not acceptable and was addressed with our housekeeping team. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back. Kind Regards Marcel Mai Receptionist

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was so dissapointing. Our room was so tiny you could only move side ways, the window had three big cracks in it and the air conditioning did not work and as you can imagine at 84 it was very hot. The reception and stairs smelt of cigarettes even though it said it was a no smoking hotel. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
KirketonManager, Front Office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to advise of your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We have shared them with our team and we will utilise your feedback to improve in all different areas. Feel free to contact us...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Massive serving sizes. Friendly staff. Great venue for a big group dinner. You can actually hold a decent conversation. Very convenient location right beside the station in the shadow of the Harbour Bridge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
KirketonManager, Front Office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and very pleased that our staff made your stay pleasant. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Marcel Mai

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are outrageously small, not particularly clean, bathroom cramped, wifi terrible, staff just pointed me in the way of my room. Seedy location, heard house music till I fell asleep about 5am (probably not the hotels fault but if you want to relax it's pretty annoying so they could at least tell you) not a very good vibe in general....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George G
KirketonManager, Front Office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to advise of your recent experience with us. We are really disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We have shared them with our team and we will utilise your feedback to improve in all different areas. Personally, I'm really apologise for all of...

Wollongong
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Read some reviews cleanliness, noise etc but shouldn't have worried. Great stay, clean room, lovely friendly staff, quirky as with a great location. No noise issues either. Good pubs and restaurants within 2 mins walk. Parking no issue straight across the road at the car wash and those guys were so laid back. Would definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tatmak
KirketonManager, Guest Relations Manager at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tatmak, Thanking you once again for choosing us and giving us an opportunity of having you served. It was immense pleasure of having you here. And thanking you once again for taking out time for review, indeed your valuable comments drives us one step more ahead for proving quality service enriching guest satisfaction being on paramount. And we are...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff are really nice and helpful and the hotel is in a great location. But the rooms seem terribly overpriced - they are too small to move around comfortably in and I had broken furniture in mine. I would not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonymous972015
KirketonManager, Front Office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to advise of your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We have shared them with our team and we will utilize your feedback to improve in all different areas. Kind regards Marcel Mai

Christchurch
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights - Fri and sat . We were able to check in early for a extra $20 au. Thank god as sydney had a heat wave that weekend . The staff we saw were help full and friendly. Gr8 free WiFi and it worked well . Our room was clean and tidy It was a standred...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teamtilbrook
KirketonManager, Manager at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanking you once again for choosing us. It was indeed immense pleasure of having you here and we expect your arrival again. And many thank to your affable comments, indeed with such comments and reviews are able to put one more step ahead of providing best possible service, making our valued guest more satisfied ensuring their richer experience with us....

Reviewed February 4, 2017

Sydney is an expensive place to stay at the best of times. When travelling for work, this is even more relevant. This is in a good position, half-way between Oxford Street and Kings Cross/Potts Point, also an easy walk to Darlinghurst's bars and restaurants. Beyond that, generally, the rooms are small, very small, and the bathrooms are adequate but need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmt1983
KirketonManager, Front Office Manager at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. I am so glad that you found our hotel good place to stay and emphasised our hotel's convenient location for...

Reviewed January 24, 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed there only few days. Rooms are tiny, not very clean, but I had been in much worse ones. Staff was very helpful and nice to us. Best thing here is definitely location and super great thai restaurant on the right side of the hotel. Dont miss it!! We have been eating there every night -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kamil G
KirketonManager, Front Office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kamil G, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and very pleased that our staff made your stay pleasant. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Marcel Mai

Reviewed January 9, 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival I knew we wouldn't have parking at the hotel but assumed there'd be some sort of option for parking our car, didn't see online that parking is $30 per day. That cost was never stated. When we checked in I had already paid upfront months in advance and was going to be charged again because they didn't look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
KirketonManager, Front Office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah A Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay at Kirketon hotel didn't reach your expectations. Only from feedback like yours we are able to improve quality of our services . Kind regards Marcel Mai

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

225 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (144)
Viewed
Executive Room (27)
Viewed
Premium Room (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
Superior Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#122 of 179 in Sydney
628 reviews
Kings Cross
Annam Apartments
Annam Apartments
#103 of 179 in Sydney
131 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 179 in Sydney
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#127 of 179 in Sydney
42 reviews
DeVere Hotel
#140 of 179 in Sydney
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Darlinghurst

Neighborhood Profile
Darlinghurst
Home of the small bar revolution in Sydney, Darlinghurst has more bars per capita than any other suburb. Themes range from American whiskey bars and 1950’s theme bars to hidden bars requiring secret passwords. Oxford Street is the "Gay Capital" of Australia, where gay and lesbian-friendly venues feature “diva shows” and dancing until the morning. Vintage lovers flock to Crown Street, and small designer boutiques can be found along Victoria and Bourke Streets. Dining in Darlinghurst is a gastronomic adventure. Food from all over the world is on the menu, from American ribs to tapas, sushi to gelato and every ethnicity in between.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Renowned for friendly and effortless service, the Kirketon Hotel welcomes its guests to experience the genuine warmth and charm of the professional team whose prime objective is to look after the guests. The intimate 40 room iconic boutique hotel is located in the heart of Sydney's restaurant, bar and nightclub district, moments from Oxford Street and Kings Cross Station and nestled in a quiet corner of the Darlinghurst, Potts Point and Kings Cross Triangle. Moments walk to Woolloomooloo, the Sydney Financial District, and Botanic Gardens, home to the award winning cocktail bar 'Eau de Vie' and renowned Asian restaurant 'Fu Man Chu'. The Kirketon is ideally located for all accommodation needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kirketon Hotel

Address: 229 Darlinghurst Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Price Range: $96 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirketon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Kirketon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirketon Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kirketon Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Kirketon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Suite was good.”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Don't book”
 of 5 bubbles D9008JIsuem, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask to see a photo of a standard room before booking”
 of 5 bubbles anonymous972015, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“A queen size room is the best”
 of 5 bubbles brucethomas, Dec 20, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 265kenricks, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question