We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Save
Share
30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Marriott Hotels
$252
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/17/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
traveler_photos_ffffe986 (902)
360
album_panoramas (1)
room_amp_suite (248)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#53 of 204 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay offers a distinctive blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and world famous opera house, our Circular Quay hotel's location can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca and moments away from the historic Rocks district. Guests are invited to indulge in our Sydney, Australia hotels luxurious treatments at our on-site spa, or they may savour finely-crafted cuisine at our renowned Icons brassiere restaurant. Book your memorable trip to Sydney now at our premier 5-star waterfront hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
hotel_amenity_valet_parking
amenity_free_internet_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_pool
amenity_fitness_center_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_bar_lounge
hotel_amenity_car_hire
hotel_amenity_conference_facilities
hotel_amenity_meeting_rooms
hotel_amenity_paid_private_parking_on_site
hotel_amenity_wifi
hotel_amenity_indoor_pool
hotel_amenity_yoga_classes
hotel_amenity_fitness_spa_locker_rooms
hotel_amenity_fitness_classes
hotel_amenity_personal_trainer
hotel_amenity_sauna
hotel_amenity_restaurant
hotel_amenity_breakfast_available
hotel_amenity_breakfast_buffet
hotel_amenity_breakfast_in_the_room
hotel_amenity_complimentary_instant_cofffee
hotel_amenity_wine_champagne
hotel_amenity_spa
hotel_amenity_24_hour_security
hotel_amenity_baggage_storage
hotel_amenity_concierge
hotel_amenity_currency_exchange
hotel_amenity_newspaper
hotel_amenity_non_smoking_hotel
hotel_amenity_doorperson
hotel_amenity_24_hour_front_desk
hotel_amenity_express_check_in_check_out
hotel_amenity_dry_cleaning
hotel_amenity_ironing_service
Show more
Room features
hotel_amenity_air_conditioning
hotel_amenity_housekeeping
hotel_amenity_room_service
hotel_amenity_safe
hotel_amenity_minibar
hotel_amenity_refrigerator
hotel_amenity_flatscreen_tv
Room types
hotel_amenity_ocean_view
tags_category_tag_non_smoking_rooms_1
hotel_amenity_suites
hotel_amenity_family_rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
hotel_style_tag_11280
hotel_style_tag_11263
Languages Spoken
hotel_amenity_english, hotel_amenity_spanish, hotel_amenity_german, hotel_amenity_indonesian and 6 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2576Reviews134Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,456
  • 618
  • 308
  • 109
  • 85
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
sar wrote a review Jun 13
1 contribution
A number of areas that needed to be improved. 1. Guests staying in quarantine are people paying for the bill, and they may be your guests in future, so serve them equally fair to your other guests, and in a polite manner. 2. Quality of the meals not even up to standard as an ordinary cafe; like: English muffin not defrosted thoroughly, one side was hard and the other side muggy; bacon too hard like some left over food. Bread rolls everyday were too hard to be consumed. Fried rice was another disaster with random un-fresh ingredients. Meals are cold. 3. One night, dinner only has a bread roll, a bottle of water and a desert; when you asked the service desk, the lady appeared didn't know the problem and then provided an excuse that they delivered dinner by two teams, so the other part of dinner would be by 8 pm. Are these services acceptable? Especially for a hotel of such category!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernhard Langer, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Responded yesterday
Dear mater-culture, Thank you for taking the time to share your current quarantine stay experience with us. While it was disappointing to hear that your stay with us fell short of your expectations, I am grateful that our hotel team was able to connect with you on the phone to learn more about your concerns. As you can appreciate, executing the food and beverage offering as a quarantine hotel can be challenging, as our Culinary team prepares and packs over 2000 meals daily which is then delivered in a COVID safe manner throughout the hotel. Having said this, your valued feedback highlighted a number of areas for improvement which has been shared with our Culinary, Food and Beverage team. If there is anything else we can do to make your quarantine stay more comfortable, please feel free to reach out to 'At Your Service' Team directly. Warm regards, Bernhard Langer General Manager
Read more
RetiredInParadise wrote a review Jun 7
54 contributions23 helpful votes
We stayed for a total of five nights at the Sydney Harbour Marriott. We had a great view of the harbor. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful. The location is great, very close to the docks and promenade, and in easy walking distance to the Opera House and the Rocks. Great breakfast buffet in concierge lounge. All staff was very fondly. Very Nice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Charlotte S wrote a review May 2021
3 contributions3 helpful votes
My husband has several colleagues who quarantined in Sydney so was able to manage my expectations which totally helped with my move from the UK. I hoped for a balcony (my husband had this when he moved back via Brisbane) but instead was rewarded with a room with a view of the harbour bridge which was spectacular. I hired a treadmill and set myself a routine for each day so I still closed my apple activity rings. I read / listened to podcasts / played on line puzzles and counted down the days by storing the daily juices and yogurt that I didn't need. Picked a massive series on netflix and cracked on with it. I swapped the food to vegetarian on day 3 as so much meat on the menu and very little fish or veggie days to balance this out. Enjoyed pretty much all of the food. Portion sizes are not too big but carb based. My husband delivered care packages and the only food requests I had was more fruit. However it's pretty grim to expect someone to live in a room with no way of cleaning it for 14days. I would not recommend any family or even a couple to go through this. I'm currently on day 12 and on my hands and knees daily with wipes that my husband supplied wiping and picking bits off the floors. I made the mistake of celebrating day 7 with a bottle of red that knocked me sideways. The lack of fresh air (window doesn't open) made the recovery hideous but not being able to clean the bathroom properly after being sick was vile. There is absolutely no reason for at least cleaning wipes / toilet brush to be provided. It would be great if the Marriott heard the feedback that people are giving and made the effort to make some really small changes. Stop all the waste with the 3 x day plastic cutlery and provide a stainless steal set that can be cleaned with the washing liquid and clothes that should already be in room. Give the options of 2 x day bread rolls that i'm throwing away. The juices / the cakes / the biscuits all need to be optional and it's inhumane to not provide cleaning products. Appreciated the daily mental health calls and the couple of calls with the police. A big thank you for taking the time on a few days to talk about my life outside of quarantine.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Service
userrating.prompt.190
Room Tip: Best views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernhard Langer, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear V304IPcharlottes, Thank you for taking the time you have taken to explain your concerns during your quarantine stay with us. We are glad to learnt that our room and food offering found to be your liking however sadden to learn that we didn't meet your expectations and drew you way from a pleasant stay experience. Your feedback is valuable to all of us and your evaluation is an important part of our ongoing program to continuously monitor the quality of our services and accommodations. Should there be anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to reach out to the hotel team directly. Warm regards, Bernhard Langer General Manager
Read more
john wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Room and facilities are ok. Food served sometimes very cold, even morning breakfast ,not feel like eating. Most important is service , in any hotel customer expect a good service. Here we experienced so worst service. We did not have toilet rolls to use, T bags and sweetner for making a cup of tea. We called the service contract number.9 almost 4 times in a day for help. They said ok we provide now. But did not serve the whole day eeven after calling many times. So horrible experience. Those who manage the service section must be replaced immediately, due to their ignorance and incapability, the Hotel reputation is in great trouble and hopeless. Totally unsatisfied.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernhard Langer, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your current quarantine stay with us. Your feedback is valuable to us as it is an important way we can continuously monitor the quality of our service and accommodation. I can assure you that our team works tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible, but on this occasion we would like to offer our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short. We have taken measures within our hotel departments to ensure these areas are improved moving forward. If there is anything further we can do to assist, please reach out to us directly. Warm regards, Bernhard Langer General Manager
Read more
Lucy B wrote a review May 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I am on my own for 14 days in Room 1606 where there is no opening window and I am not allowed out for any exercise. The room is 29m2 and contains two double beds. There is no room to exercise properly so I have had to hire an exercise bike at an additional cost of $250. The distance from my door to the window (the longest stretch) is 10 strides. The facilities in the room are very basic - 2 beds, a desk and a desk chair and a TV. My main gripe is that I do not have an armchair to sit in. I have long term back issues and need somewhere comfortable to sit but all I have is an office chair. The desk chair has no lumbar support and I have had to use a spare pillow to make it more bearable to sit in the chair. I am working at my desk for a minimum of 8 hours a day and would like somewhere else to sit when I finish work. I have been trying for 2 days to get an armchair which the hotel website says comes as standard with this class of room. Even a call from the quarantine mental health team to the hotel management has not worked. My last interaction with hotel reception was met with stone-walling and the man was very rude. I was told yesterday that because my room ends in a 6 the armchair does not come as standard even though the website says it does for all rooms of this class. Under the Competition and Consumer Act 2011, this is misleading and deceptive conduct to publish on the website that my room comes with an armchair. A report to the ACCC is probably my next step. I am in quarantine because I had to return to the UK because my father has terminal pancreatic cancer. I would have stayed longer than 2 months in the UK but had to return to Australia because my husband is about to start dialysis. Needless to say I am not in a good place mentally and this inhuman and uncaring treatment by the Marriott is pushing me over the edge. To add injury to insult, the Marriott also refuses to supply a toilet brush because it costs too much to buy one for each 2 week quarantine period. With the Marriott's purchasing power it is surely possible to pick up a very cheap plastic brush to ensure that guests can clean their own toilets. When you get to your room you are not given any means to keep it clean/wash your mugs/glasses and you have to ask housekeeping for washing up liquid and cloths. I have had to purchase my own supply of antibacterial wipes to clean the surface where I eat and also to sanitise the bathroom. Finally, the Marriott is very mean with the TV facilities. There is no Foxtel and if you want to watch a movie it will set you back between $8 and $18 depending on the age of the movie. They even charge $7 to watch a montage of music videos. A friend who quarantined elsewhere in Sydney at a lower star hotel is horrified at my living conditions. She had a sofa and extra chair, a separate dining table and a desk and chair and access to Foxtel. The Marriott claims it offers discounted room service to those in quarantine but at $10 for cornflakes and $28 for the cheapest 700ml bottle of wine, I would hate to see the full prices. Also room service is only available between 7am and 10pm..... If I was an ordinary paying guest I would leave if I was treated like this. However, because I am a prisoner, the Marriott is abusing my situation. I will be taking every opportunity to tell my friends and my lawyer work colleagues about my treatment during quarantine so hopefully they will decide to take their business elsewhere when travel returns to normal.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Service
userrating.prompt.190
Room Tip: If you are going into quarantine, refuse any room with a 6 on the end as it is small and lacks...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernhard Langer, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 326lucyy, Thank you for taking the time to explain your concerns during your current quarantine stay with us. Your feedback is valuable to us as it is an important part of our ongoing measurement to continuously monitor the quality of our service and accommodation. Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectation especially whilst you're going through a personal hardship and challenging circumstances. As you can appreciate, we must comply and follow strict guidelines whilst supporting the NSW Government's hotel quarantine program and this may not be a quite the 5 star service that we are used to provide to our guests. I can assure you that our team works tirelessly behind the scene to ensure your stay to be comfortable as possible. Should there be anything else we can do or assist, please feel free to reach out to any of our team on duty. Regards, Bernhard Langer General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$160 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marriott sydney harbour at circular quay hotel sydney
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
595
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Which popular attractions are close to Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay?
Nearby attractions include Next Level Escape (0.2 miles), Altmann + Cherny - Australian Opals (0.05 miles), and PaniQ Room Sydney (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bulletin Place, William Blue Dining, and The Grand Pavilion.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Sydney.
Does Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Italian, Portuguese, Thai, and Indonesian.
Are there any historical sites close to Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Chinese Garden of Friendship (1.1 miles), State Theatre (0.6 miles), and St. Mary's Cathedral (0.6 miles).