We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel

68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (490)
Room & Suite (457)
Dining (67)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#106 of 208 in Sydney
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Darling Harbour is situated right between the bustling China Town and newly developed Darling Square precinct. Our hotel is just 5 minutes' walk to the ICC International Convention Centre and 10 minutes' walk from Central Train Station. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions such as Cockle Bay, Sea Life Sydney Aquarium, Wild Life Sydney Zoo and Madame Tussaud's Sydney. The hotel is also a heritage building constructed in 1890 and has since transformed into the largest Holiday Inn in Australia. The hotel recently underwent a refurbishment worth $ 15 Million. The scope of work included changing the bathrooms and the rooms to a more modern outlook and neutral colour schemes with an emphasis on technology and practicality. Part of the upgrade also included a renovated fitness centre, spa and laundry services.
Read more
Property amenities
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Banquet room
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Arabic and 11 more
1913Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 395
  • 877
  • 457
  • 112
  • 72
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jodieodie wrote a review May 17
Jakarta, Indonesia126 contributions71 helpful votes
Hotel location was exactly in chinatown, and walking distance to darling harbour, you can also have bfast across the street for pancake. Room was nice, tidy, ac is cold, bathroom amenities good, shower pressure also good. Staff was very friendly, Belle. Unfortunately the 1st our morning call has not been set yet, but the next day they set it up.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Keth L wrote a review May 9
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions
Customer service, cleanliness and view was amazing. Reception was busy but in public holiday it’s expected. Our Sydney tour had a worthy start form there. Thank you everyone from front office and whole team. We will definitely come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Anne3691 wrote a review Apr 2022
Mildura, Australia55 contributions40 helpful votes
Likes; We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite, asked for a low floor and had level 4 great views. lovely clean spacious room, separate study/lounge with TV ,Tea and coffee and desk. 2nd TV in bedroom. A credit to the housekeeping staff. Newish huge bathroom with a big bath. Opposite Darling square for restaurants,paddys market, Chinatown and light rail . Really good buffet breakfast included, Best cappuccino in Sydney! Friendly staff Dislikes, Gee if i have to be picky those horrible milk UHT capsules, fresh please!! Maybe a coffee machine would be nice! Would we stay again? Absolutely!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
GlobalRoamer345 wrote a review Apr 2022
Australia895 contributions87 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights in a suite (room 1020) during the first weekend in April. Overall, we were very happy, and had a very good experience. The main pluses for us were the staff, and the location. Every staff member we interacted with was friendly. This just helped to keep a happy/positive vibe to our time spent inside the hotel. Breakfast and parking were included in our rate. The parking, whilst not onsite, was only a few minutes walk away. The buffet breakfast was good, though we both felt that not having any salad available, was unfortunate. The location, for us, was so convenient. The hotel is right in the middle of Chinatown, and is only a short walk to the Darling Harbour restaurants. The light rail stop was very nearby and it was also only about 10 minutes on that to get to Star Casino, or about 20 minutes walk. (We did both). Central station is also not far away at all, though we didn't need to go there. The suite was not a bit smaller than I had expected, but was adequate for our needs. The room had clearly been renovated not too long ago, and was clean and not showing any signs of wear or damage. Also, I didn't find the bed particularly comfortable, I found that it was too soft and deep and seemed to flop around like the waves on a water bed, every time I moved. However, I acknowledge that this can be a very personal/subjective thing. A first-world problem. The in-room coffee was also poor. i.e. cheap style instant coffee, rather than having a coffee machine in the room. This was poor, I felt, and let the hotel down in that regard. Especially in a suite room. The main area to improve, (and I've read this on a couple of other reviews) was in the bathroom amenities. The amenities in the bathroom were incomplete on arrival, and during our entire stay. This was not appreciated, since we had paid extra to book a suite. It was only when we were checking out, and saw the housekeeping trolley outside our room in the hallway, that we realised how many bathroom amenities had been available, and were supposed to have been supplied, but were never supplied, despite housekeeping entering our room once each day, to clean it. Another small issue was that the Fridge was warm and was not working, when we checked into the room. However, they quickly rectified this by trolleying in another fridge, after we called reception. All in all, I would definitely stay here again, and will definitely do so at some point on a future trip. Though we did already decide to stay elsewhere for our next trip to Sydney in 8 weeks, since it is good to try new places, and since it is an anniversary trip and we were after something more high-end for that particular trip.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Sleep Quality
Petalange wrote a review Feb 2022
Thornton, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked a twin room for 1 night. The room itself was extremely clean and had all the necessities we required. Beds were comfortable and room was quiet through the night. It was a lovely touch by the hotel to include a complimentary 6-pack of premix to our room for a February bonus. Staff were lovely and very accomodating throughout our stay.. the hotel is in a great location in the heart of the Sydney CBD and Chinatown, close walking distance to The Capitol Theatre and Markets. Transport is nearby with teams and central station a short stroll.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Kerri H wrote a review Feb 2022
Gold Coast Hinterland, Australia106 contributions60 helpful votes
Perfect location. Paddy’s Market at end of street, Darling Harbour and China Town 5 minute walk away. Staff very friendly and always willing to assist with any inquiries. Stayed in a King room with plenty of room. Breakfast was Buffet with lots of options.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Parking not available on site. Off site available
See more room tips
AnneA57 wrote a review Jan 2022
Sydney, Australia45 contributions10 helpful votes
My last city stay for the year and I wasn't disappointed. Very good and central position to Darling Square, Paddy's Market and Sydney's Chinatown. Easy walk from Central station and to light rail to Circular Quay. Also within 5 minutes walk is the new Aware Super Theatre. A pleasant surprise. I found the check in process easy and the young man very courteous and welcoming. Room was great, very clean and comfortable with nice facilities including a full size ironing board. It was a shame that the restaurant and bar are still closed but hope this may change in the future. There is absolutely no shortage of food and beverage outlets close by though. Very happy with my stay and I'll definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Sleep Quality
LizaNTrevor wrote a review Nov 2021
Melbourne, Australia1208 contributions134 helpful votes
I stayed here as part of a business trip a couple of weeks after Sydney relaxed its restrictions. As such the hotels restaurants were closed and I was offered some breakfast vouchers for a nearby pancake cafe. Unfortunately I had to leave before 8 so didn't use the vouchers. Luckily there's a McDonalds across the road and the Novotel down the road where I had breakfast on one of the mornings. The room was clean and functional. Toiletries were generic branded. Bring your own. There was a kettle and cups provided but no tea bags which is kind of strange. The bed was comfortable and the WIFI was fast. Being in china town you are spoilt for choice for dinner with lots of restaurants in Darling Square. The Opera house is a pleasant 20min walk away and the Harbour is about 5-10 minutes away. Overall a nice hotel for the business trip.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Dan P wrote a review Sep 2021
Auckland, New Zealand286 contributions46 helpful votes
It’s pretty much a standard room but spacious with 2 double beds and a free breakfast with a reasonable variety. I was chosen as the guest of the day and we had a platter of fruits and wine when we got in the room. Parking’s available at a nearby building, just need to validate the ticket at reception.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
MrBrightside1 wrote a review Jun 2021
All over the place!23 contributions26 helpful votes
Location is good. Easy access to the city etc. Parking is offsite but not that much of a hassle. Room is pretty basic with a terrible view - very old and not really that clean I paid $500 for 2 nights. Terrible value Being an ambassador level member made zero difference. We had 2 young kids and also found it was very noisy on the floor. A room a few doors down had a few people in it in the early hours making noise. Lady at desk on checkout said sorry but they do get groups on people on the weekend so they were not that fussed. Would I stay here again, no sorry. No restaurant onsite and very expensive for what it is.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
2 Helpful votes
Response from Steven L, Owner at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel
Responded Jun 6, 2021
Hi MrBrightside1, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to leave a detailed review about your recent stay. We are sorry for the inconveniences you faced during your visit. Unfortunately, the hotel is going through some changes therefore we've had to close our dining venues. However, we have launched our Darling Eats program which includes discounts at some popular restaurants around the hotel and in Darling Square. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Read more
$144 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
holiday inn darling harbour hotel sydney, holiday inn sydney, sydney holiday inn
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyChinatown
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mission Escape George St (0.1 miles), Mission Escape Pitt St (0.3 miles), and Local Sauce Tours (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Betty's Burgers, Tetsuya's, and Diethnes Greek Restaurant & Cocktail Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Sydney.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, An IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese.