We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
80 Pyrmont Street Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Hotel
$267
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$267
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
Only 1 left at
$240
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/22
Hotels.com$267
ZenHotels.com$265
Trip.com$335
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1092)
360
Panoramas (20)
Room & Suite (589)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.

About

#4 of 210 hotels in Sydney
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
The Darling is located at The Star Sydney and is a key feature of Sydney’s leading entertainment destination. The hotel was designed as a stand-alone structure, with its own arrival experience, amenities and alluring personality. Housed in a distinctive inverted glass tower resting on a sandstone podium, the hotel features 171 stylish and spacious rooms, suites and penthouses, a 25-metre outdoor heated swimming pool, world-class cuisine and an indulgent day spa. The Darling is honoured to be the first Sydney hotel to be awarded a prestigious Forbes Five-Star rating. A Forbes Travel Guide Star Rating is the most coveted award in the global luxury travel sector. Properties awarded Five-Stars are considered outstanding and are often iconic with virtually flawless service and facilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Poolside bar
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bathrobes
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
179Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
22Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1572Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,237
  • 201
  • 67
  • 25
  • 42
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
John P wrote a review Dec 2
4 contributions
Wow! Amazing warm and friendly service from ALL staff during our stay . From the moment we arrived our experience was the most consistently positive that we have ever had. I wish I could name every member of staff who made our stay so pleasant , but didn’t get all the names . Exceptional service from concierge Brad , at check in from Mei and from Vanilla at reception. Given the shortage of staff , and the long hours the staff are having to work , it is a credit to all . Our suite was spotless and still in excellent condition , even though it will shortly be renovated . The location is perfect for the Lyric Theatre , and Sokyo , one of our favourite restaurants, is just off the hotel’s lobby. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Star Management, General Manager at The Darling
Responded 4 days ago
Dear johnA2959XB Wow - what an incredible review! We are very grateful the overall experience was flawless from the start to finish. The team at The Darling especially Brad, Mei and Vanilla were delighted to receive your recognition. We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future. Until then, Dx
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire S wrote a review Dec 1
Holm, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Visited The Darling for 3 nights in Nov 22. We had a twin room on 6th floor. We could not fault the customer service, Helena at the reception desk was very attentive & saw to our every need. She was knowledgeable and helpful, she is really top of her game and an asset to the hotel. Breakfast was in the Sokyo restaurant & was a welcome change to the usual buffets. The only negative I would have for this hotel was the strange set up for a twin room, I was staying with a friend and there wasn’t much privacy between the shower area and the sleeping area. But everything else was 5 ⭐️
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Star Management, General Manager at The Darling
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Claire S, Thank you for the great review! We are over the moon you had had memorable experience! The entire team are absolute superstars, we will ensure to pass the feedback on especially to Helena. Thank you for the feedback regarding the room, we are currently undergoing renovation and looking into changing the bathroom area. We look forward to welcome you back. Until then, Dx
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly P wrote a review Nov 2022
Milton, Australia30 contributions3 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay - all staff we came across were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and the rain head shower was lovely. Breakfast in Sokomo was delicious. We were gifted a cheese platter and bottle of wine as it was our anniversary which was a lovely surprise thank you! Parking was easy and hotel is in a great location. All in all a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Star Management, General Manager at The Darling
Responded 1 week ago
Dear W7802EJkellyp, Wow - incredible feedback, thank you for sharing. Our team continually evolves with guest experience and the memorable moments created alongside. We are so glad we were able to live up to your expectations from start to finish. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the establishment. Until then, Dx
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ccameron84 wrote a review Nov 2022
South Australia, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
Sydney has not forgotten how to do hospitality to a very high standard. This was the best hotel experience I’ve had in YEARS if not ever! The staff were exceptional, friendly, attentive and fast! The rooms were lovely, with fantastic views of the harbour, very clean and spacious with lovely amenities. Great location and a short walk to cockle bay wharf where all the action is. We’ll be making this hotel our go-to in Sydney from now on.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Star Management, General Manager at The Darling
Responded 1 week ago
Dear ccameron84, On behalf of the entire team here at The Darling Sydney, I would like to extend my gratitude towards you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad to hear that you were impressed with our rooms, views and service; the latter being a major factor we pride ourselves on. We truly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Until then, Dx
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nonyshaw wrote a review Nov 2022
Johnstone, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location, very handy for Darling Harbour. The Star complex is huge and it took us a while to find The Darling as there are other hotels in the same building and numerous entrances. Lovely reception area. Our room and the corridor to it look tired. Scratched furniture. Stained carpets. Wood panelling around all the doors in the corridor are all scratched and chipped. Bed was lumpy and felt like an old one that needs replaced. Breakfast was very limited in choice. There must be renovations happening as there was a lot of banging and thumping from about 7am. Pool area is great but couldn’t locate anywhere to change. We had a nice stay but it wasn’t any more than that. Just nice. Maybe it’ll be 5 star again once the renovations are done but it was a shame to be charged 5 star price for something much, much less.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Star Management, General Manager at The Darling
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Nonyshaw, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are saddened to hear that your overall stay did not live up to your expectation. Your constructive feedback regarding the room standards and refurbishment has been shared with the responsible departments for review and we will continually revisit the procedures to improve our future product and service standards. We hope to get another opportunity and invite you to contact us directly should you wish to discuss further. Best regards The Darling Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary S wrote a review Nov 2022
Mackay, Australia161 contributions75 helpful votes
+1
Had 4 days down in Sydney and wanted to stay near the casino.....The Darling is part of the main complex. We stayed in the 11th floor which has just been renovated....the room was not huge but very comfortable. There is a fully stocked mini bar, great LED lights under the bedside tables that have sensors if you get up during the night as has the bathroom. There was a small dining table and a day bed style lounge. The staff could not have been any better, from check in lady, the guys in the front door and housekeeping staff where just so helpful and friendly, they are a credit to the place. Breakfast was included at the Japanese restaurant downstairs, it was just incredible. I'd stay there again any time and highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Star Management, General Manager at The Darling
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good evening Gary S, Thank you very much for your kind, sincere words. All of us here at The Darling are beyond delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and we hope we made your Anniversary & Birthday celebrations all the more enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back again soon and it you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to us. Until then, Dx
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sherpa23125590390 wrote a review Nov 2022
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
after a tough couple of days working out at the olympic showgrounds and staying at a different hotel, i arrived by taxi to The Darling . I stay here as often as I can , for me it feels like catching up with an old friend and is always quiet and peaceful. My stay was beautiful, I had the wonderful Helena at the front desk who was all smiles and totally helpful with what i needed,
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Star Management, General Manager at The Darling
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Sherpa23125590390, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback to us. We are delighted to hear your stay was amazing. We will be sure to pass on your words to Helena, who truly is an asset to our hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Until then, Dx
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosa wrote a review Nov 2022
4 contributions
+1
Booked a room for my parents’ anniversary and was super impressed with the service from the front desk. Helena was wonderful, charming and efficient. She even gave them a room upgrade, which sweetened the celebration. Very happy with the room, the view, the service, all of it!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Star Management, General Manager at The Darling
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear rosargh, Happy Anniversary to your parents! We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback from your stay with us and are grateful that we had the opportunity to be part of the celebration. We have also passed your lovely words onto Helena, who truly is an asset within our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until then, Dx
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack T wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
My gf and I just wanted to leave a review for vanilla who greeted us at the front desk with such enthusiasm and care for us she made our stay beautiful! Asked if we needed anything and helped us up to our room, Thankyou so much vanilla for helping us out and making our stay memorable! We will definitely be back and hopefully have you at the front desk when we do!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Star Management, General Manager at The Darling
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Tr09ea, Dear 272abbiew, We wish to express our sincerest gratitude towards you, we are very pleased you have had a memorable stay. The entire team most especially Vanilla was delighted to receive your warm commendations, truly another celebration for us to continue on our mission to provide a tailored and seamless guest experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Until then, Dx
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shannon P wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
My partner and I arrived late after our wedding and the staff at the darling when we arrived were the kindest I’ve ever experienced at any hotel I’ve been at. One gentlemen who unfortunately I can’t remember the name of was very attentive to our special occasion and upgraded us to the stellar suit. The doors on this floor were glistening and we were so happy and taken back at the room along the hotels staff kindness. To top it off they surprised us again with a bottle of champagne to celebrate. Truly an amazing experience we will never forget.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Star Management, General Manager at The Darling
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Shannonpbuzz, Thank you for sharing your amazing experience! We are very thrilled we were able to exceed your expectations and create positive memories to behold. Your thoughtful recognition has been warmly received by the entire team. We cannot wait to welcome you back on your next visit. Until then, Dx
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$257 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
171
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DARLING - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Sydney, Australia)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Darling
Which popular attractions are close to The Darling?
Nearby attractions include Flight Experience (0.2 miles), James Craig Tall Ship (0.2 miles), and Australian National Maritime Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Darling?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Darling?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Darling?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Darling?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Darling?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harvest Buffet Sydney, Cucina Porto, and Sokyo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Darling?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does The Darling have airport transportation?
Yes, The Darling offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Darling located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Sydney.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Darling?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Darling offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.