We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Bounce Sydney

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bounce Sydney
Bounce Sydney
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

649 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 562: English reviews
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in Sydney for two nights and I must say the facilities were simple yet sufficient for the budget conscious travellers. The price was on point but I felt I got more than what I paid for since the location is so convenient (train is within a few meters away) and is in the heart of the city. Surry... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chrisna L
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Comfortable bed, clean facilities, calmed and great staff. Placed next to the Central Station and near the city centre, is a good option to stay in. To point out: Free popcorn on Movie's day! 100% recommendable!!

Helpful?
Thank David A
Mark B, Guest Relations Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review

Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were friendly and our facilities clean :) Please recommend us to anyone coming our way and we hope to see you again if you come back to Sydney. Cheers! More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our most expensive hostel and we had read really good reviews and therefore had high expectations. Also it styles itself as a budget hotel as written on their doorway. For this reason we were slightly disappointed due to: 1 - paying extra for wifi (this was the only hostel we stayed in that didn't at least offer free... More 

Helpful?
Thank Madeleine P
Mark B, Guest Relations Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We value all guest feedback, both positive and negative, as it allows us to see what we are doing right and what can be improved. I'll start by pointing out that the reason we call ourselves a 'budget hotel' is due to the hotel-style quality of our... More 

Borovets, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I only stayed for one night in this Hostel but still I was really impressed. I have stayed in many hostels around the world and this was seriously great. The staff where friendly and all the common areas and rooms where clean and tidy. The night I was there was Pizza night which was a good way to meet everybody... More 

Helpful?
Thank SunnysBar
Mark B, Guest Relations Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review

Hey there! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our social atmosphere :D We know how important that is to making your hostel experience all the more enjoyable- as well as providing a clean and comfortable environment that... More 

St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked a four share female dorm for four nights and left after three. Firstly, expensive, with the price I paid and to have to pay for wifi on top of that was almost insulting. Check-in was fairly decent with exception of the fact that they do not show you around at all and you're essentially left to figure out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Memie H
Mark B, Guest Relations Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We highly value all guest feedback both the positive and the constructive as it lets us know what we are doing right and the areas in which we can improve. We do understand that we are abit more expensive than other hostels but we try to make up... More 

Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2016

We stayed in a shared room for three nights and liked it very much. The hostel is modern and clean. The rooms were simple and the beds were very comfortable. I liked that there were safes for your personal belongings in the rooms. Unfortunately, the windows couldn't be opened but there was an AC which was working well. The highlight... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaryLu112
Mark B, Guest Relations Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review

Hey there! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We love hearing guest feedback so we know what we are doing right and the areas that we could potentially work on :) We're thrilled that you enjoyed all of our facilities and found out location convenient for your needs. Hopefully you will come and stay... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Two couples sharing a room. Cheap and very clean, located in great position next to central station. Lots of enjoyable places close by walking distance for darling habour, capitol theatre. Would stay there again in future.

Helpful?
Thank Luke H
Mark B, Guest Relations Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear you had a nice, clean and comfortable stay with us and that our location was convenient for your needs. Hopefully you will come and stay again if you're ever back in Sydney. Cheers More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

Would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Sydney. Right next to Central station where all train lines pass by which makes it an excellent location for getting around the city. My favorite is the rooftop and kitchen with floor to ceiling windows--i loved cooking and heaving breakfast there with a nice quiet view of the city and... More 

Helpful?
Thank peachy g
Mark B, Guest Relations Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Bounce. We are so happy to hear all of your feedback, both the good and not so good, as it lets us know what we are doing right and also where we can improve. Thank you for all of your nice comments... More 

Houilles
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

We stayed with our kids aged 12 and 8, in a family room. The rooms are nice clean, though a bit small for 4 people. The common kitchen is well equipped but some food left in the fridges semm very very old...not appealing! Main issue : the noise! Some metro works have just started at the back of the hostel,... More 

Helpful?
Thank cadc78
Mark B, Guest Relations Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Bounce. We are happy to hear all about your stay, both the good and the bad, so we know what needs improvement. The fridges and shelves are cleaned out 3 times a week, every week so there definitely should not be any old food... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

This is the cleanest hostel I have ever come across. The rooftop gives you a amazing view, join in with what goes on at night and you will make friends for life. It really is such a awesome place. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Sydney. People stay here for a long time so it just shows you the standard... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosie B
Mark B, Guest Relations Manager at Bounce Sydney, responded to this review

Hey there! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so thrilled to hear that you met your fiance here! It just proves that we are a great place to meet people :D Thanks for all of your nice compliments about our facilities and the cleanliness (which we take alot of pride in!).... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

266 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (172)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (28)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Room (34)
Viewed
Eight Person Dorm (6)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (12)
Viewed
Second Four Person Dorm (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 179 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Y Hotel Hyde Park
Y Hotel Hyde Park
#99 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 1,399 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 4,375 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 129 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Surry Hills

Neighborhood Profile
Surry Hills
Once regarded as the traditional fashion area, Surry Hills has broadened its appeal. This neighborhood continues to distinguish itself as a shopping destination, offering the best collection of one-of-a-kind boutiques, designer brands and flagship stores in the city. Today, this area has evolved into a hub of media, design and professional services - a colorful and diverse place equally known for its antique dealers, art galleries, cafes and pubs. Strolling down the street on a Saturday morning, you’ll see a mix of students, artists, hipsters and a few all-nighters from Oxford Street, the “Gay Capital of Sydney”. In this vibrant neighborhood you will find bohemian chic and modern style co-existing side by side.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Voted the '#1 Hostel in Australia', 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney', and been listed in 'Top 10 Large Hostels in the World' at the 2014 and 2013 Hostel Awards.Bounce provides upmarket accommodation for backpackers and budget travellers. Fresh, new, modern and we're conveniently located opposite Central Station. We've got air-conditioning in every room, high-speed WiFi internet, a secure key card system, huge lockers, three lounge areas, and an awesome rooftop terrace and BBQ area with stunning views of the Sydney skyline. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bounce Sydney

Address: 28 Chalmers Street | Next to Central Station, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills , Inner West
Price Range: $28 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bounce Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bounce Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounce Sydney Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay