We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BreakFree on George

Traveler (182)
Room & Suite (106)
Dining (2)
Ideal for both business and leisure travellers, and just 35 minutes from Sydney airport, BreakFree on George is located in Sydney’s entertainment precinct, close to Capital Square Light rail Station, Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Capitol Theatre, Entertainment Centre, Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour, giving you access to all Sydney has on offer. Consisting of newly refurbished studios, one and two bedroom apartments, all with high-speed broadband access, lounge and dining area and selected Foxtel channels. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Paid Internet
Paid Wifi
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
Centrally Located
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Book Direct Offer
Hotel deals
Full view
Tiger-flanked archways on Dixon Street mark the entrance to the “little Asia” of Sydney. A walk through Chinatown is a feast for the senses where aromas, tastes, sounds and visions of dancing tigers transport you to a different world. Chinatown visitors can expect a melting pot of Asian food at the neighborhood's specialty delis and groceries. From yum cha to handmade noodles, BBQ ducks hanging in the window to Asian sweets and bakeries, there is something for all tastes. Paddy’s Markets is the largest flea market in Sydney where you can find souvenirs, clothing, gifts and fruit and vegetables at unbeatable prices. At night, Chinatown comes alive with entertainment including theater, nightclubs and bars that are open until the early morning.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
Reviews & more
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 537
  • 1,059
  • 589
  • 186
  • 161
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Not a bad stay ,roads a bit hilly ,10 min.wallk to train stations, near China town, plenty of places to eat all around and on walk to Darling harbour (10mims) were you get ferries to different destinations using an Opal card
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Very handy location, staff friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed our stay. Walking distance to China Town, Barangaroo and a host of restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends and look forward to our next stay in the city.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from SanchitG63, General Manager at BreakFree on George
Responded 2 days ago
Dear SydneySean, Happy New Year! it was great to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at the BreakFree on George. We agree its a fantastic location whereby you re so close to everything including being able to walk though to Darling Harbour via the Goods Line. Thank you for sharing and we will look forward to welcoming all of you back to the Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Sarah Connelly General Manager
Read more
The location was great, service was great at check in however I requested a king bed and got a queen. The room was very outdated and smelt a little stale. The bed was a little too firm for me and sleep quality was not great. The rooms need a refurbishment and the tv in the room
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from SanchitG63, General Manager at BreakFree on George
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Freedom01731067217, Thank you for sharing your feedback and I am sorry that you were not satisfied with some aspects of your room. We most certainly will take your feedback on board as we try and improve on the quality of product and service here at the Breakfree on George. Kind Regards, Sarah Connelly General Manager
Read more
Great location and excellent staff. Room condition is a little run down - ie, our room had a leaking air conditioner, broken lamp, broken grout and a loose toilet roll holder. Their location and staff do make up for it. Happy to book again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from SanchitG63, General Manager at BreakFree on George
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Curiosity38873352215, Thank you for sharing your feedback and our Maintenance Team are happy to let you know that the issues you experienced in your room have been fixed. I apologise that this was not reported before you were checked in however your feedback as enabled us to review our processes with regards to room maintenance in order address these things before it impacts one of our guests stays. Thanks again and we will look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Sarah Connelly General Manager
Read more
My daughter in law, granddaughter and myself had our first 'Girls' weekend away and stayed at 'Breakfree on George'. The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, the room exceptionally clean and the beds comfortable. Great place to stay with everything within walking distance
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from SanchitG63, General Manager at BreakFree on George
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Jennifer W, Thank you for your review and I am so glad that you and your friends had a wonderful stay. We will look forward to seeing you all again soon. Sarah Connelly General Manager
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementBreakFree on George
Sliding wardrobe
The pullout couch
our room which was turned into 2 rooms - door still swinging from wall
Distance from wall and legs when sitting on toilet (relatively short girl sitting on seat)
We caught the train out to the airport from this hotel. It was so easy to do and the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the station. Make sure you use google maps to help you find your way
1 vote
Hi Ciara, The majority of the works should be completed by March. All that we are expecting to be taking place at that time is some landscaping works, which will mean minimal noise. Kind Regards, Kristin Carville General Manager
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi Jill, If you contact us at the hotel and give us the details of your booking we will be happy to ensure you get a room with 2 beds. Unfortunately this site will not allow me to post the contact details here so if you visit the hotel's website and get our email address we can assist you further.
1 vote
Is there somewhere to leave our bags before check-in?
Good morning, Yes, you are more than welcome to leave your luggage with the Reception team to store prior to check in. Kind Regards, Kristin
0 votes
Show all answers
"Try to get a room on one of the top floors to give you a birds eye view of the city"
"Don't do it"
"Our room faced the main street and was quiet"
"There was lots of road works going on around the hotel so it would be a good idea to get a room away from the noise."
"Ask for a room away from the construction noise, otherwise you will be awake all night!"
$95 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
breakfree on george hotel sydney
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyChinatown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing