We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Central Backpackers

88 Grafton Street, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia (Formerly Plantation Backpackers)
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Central Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile

Spent a few hours in this pub, the meals were very good, in particular the steaks. We travelled with friends and all enjoyed the food. Apart from the steaks one person had the shepherds pie which was also very good. Location is very central to Coffs Harbour township but on the main highway so a little noisy outsife

Helpful?
Thank Classik H
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

My friend & I stayed, and it was nice. The beds are comfortable. The only downside to the rooms was the bass that pounded up from the club below on the weekend. Aside from that, we both felt that the customer service was great! Hayden was wonderful to deal with! When we arrived, unfortunately we had to stay at another... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

I only stayed here for one night and that was one night too many! very poorly kept hostel, lockers inadequately kept with most of the locks not even working and doors hanging off. we tried to avoid the kitchen as much as we could during our short stay as it was utterly repulsive. the pots and pans were put back... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hazbaeman
Hayden R, Manager at Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We use feedback to constantly improve our offering and ensure we’re on the right track. My name is Hayden and I am the Accommodation Manager of Plantation Backpackers. Firstly, I’d like to address a couple of your complaints. Our bathrooms are thoroughly cleaned on a daily basis. There... More 

Travelers are raving about these Coffs Harbour hotels

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Me and my friend stayed for one night as there was no space in our previous hostel..I'm so happy it was only one night. The whole place just isn't clean. The kitchen felt sticky and dirty, and the rooms smell. I'm on a budget so am used to staying in hostels but this one jut wasn't up to scratch..if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marthaannie
Hayden R, Manager at Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Martha, I am very disappointed to hear of your experience. We aim for a high standard of cleanliness, and what you've experienced isn't good enough. We are in the process of replacing the flooring in our kitchen as it is not suitable for a high-traffic kitchen area. We are hoping that this will eliminate the "stickiness". Every morning, we... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Roms are very bad and it smells in the rooms. Most time nobody is at the Reception. Service is not avalable. We asked for pillow nothing happened. Rooms and Bathrooms haven't been cleand, bins haven't been emty and under the bed was rubbish.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Conrad R
Hayden R, Manager at Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Conrad, I am very disappointed to hear of your experience. We aim for a high standard of cleanliness, and what you've experienced isn't good enough. Every morning, we apply an odour neutralizer and deodorizer to our carpets to ensure they are smelling fresh. We also sanitize our carpets on a regular basis with a commercial cleaner/sanitizer and have a... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 via mobile

You don't expect an amazing room for 80 dollars, but neither do you expect a week's worth of scum round the sink, crap all over the floor, and someone else's pubes on the bed. Room was revolting so we asked for another, which was equally as rough. Do yourself a favour and hit one of the motels 20 yards down... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason E
Hayden R, Manager at Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jason, I am very disappointed to hear of your experience. We aim for a high standard of cleanliness, and what you've experienced isn't good enough. Please send an email to hayden@plantationhotel.com.au with details of your stay (what date you arrived, what room you were allocated) so I can investigate this further. Regards, Hayden Ryan Accommodation Manager Plantation Backpackers More 

New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

i think the backpackers at the plantation hotel is very clean i love the beds very private and the nice balcony i go there every new years 3 years runnen now i enjoy it my name is leslie smith keep up the good work hayden and ill seeya on the 31st mate

Helpful?
Thank graftonguy36
Hayden R, Manager at Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Leslie, Thanks for the feedback - we really appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you over the New Year! Regards, Hayden Ryan Accommodation Manager Plantation Backpackers More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014 via mobile

Las minute one night booking as first choice hostel was full. Room dirty- sink not clean and dusty, decor dated, corridor carpets dated and dirty. Bed clean and ok and price ok. Part of hostel closed for renovation so will hopefully improve. Restaurant downstairs ok for quick meal. Served its purpose for one night. Parking on street only if you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Helenback56
Hayden R, Manager at Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Helen, Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us – it is good to hear about your experience (whether it was positive or negative) as we are under new management and are constantly looking for ways to improve. I’m disappointed to hear that the cleanliness of the venue wasn’t up to your standards –... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were like prison cells! Down to the bars in the window! We arrived to a lecture from the guy in reception about the rules! Rules are needed but put them on a piece of paper and let us read them don't speak to us like we are 5! The food in the adjoining restaurant was decent but the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
Hayden R, Manager at Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Christopher, We're very disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us - however we appreciate the feedback as it helps us improve our offering. Please email me - hayden@plantationhotel.com.au - with some more information about your stay and I'll look into this for you. Regards, Hayden Ryan Accommodation Manager Plantation Backpackers More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

The place was nice enough. I never felt uncomfortable and everything I needed was close by. Parking is round the corner and involves a little walk so don't have too much stuff. Close to shops for dinner or go downstairs as that was cheap and good food.

Helpful?
Thank Kurt L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.0 mi away
Bentleigh Motor Inn
Bentleigh Motor Inn
#25 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Motor Inn
Premier Motor Inn
#29 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Town Lodge Motor Inn
Town Lodge Motor Inn
#26 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#28 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Zebra Motel
BEST WESTERN Zebra Motel
#12 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Matador Motor Inn
Matador Motor Inn
#10 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Coffs Harbour, close to everything, the Central Backpackers offers clean and tidy accommodation for the budget traveler with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. With an onsite Bar, Restaurant and Night Club, in the Plantation Hotel we have all your needs covered including FREE WiFi, complementary toiletries and drink voucher on arrival,'Our staff have a wealth of knowledge about the local area and everything it has to offer. "Come join us for the time of your LIFE." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Central Backpackers

Address: 88 Grafton Street, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia (Formerly Plantation Backpackers)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Price Range: $36 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay