We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Spot X

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Spot X
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Spot X
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Harlow
Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile

I came to spot X with my partner and we were both disappointed for many reasons. 1. The room we stayed in was infested with Ants, literally everywhere. The room itself is very industrial looking and dirty. My bed was covered in the sand when I arrived. I've stayed in many hostels and this was the most basic. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MAnnabelle
Lee M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Dear Annabelle, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Spot X Surf with us. We value your feedback and I have investigated all your concerns. 1. The room you were provided is one of our creekside cabins. While we do try to keep insects at bay the cabins are located in a pristine beach side...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

The best things I got out of Spot X was the atmosphere, meeting people and the location. As you all eat and drink together you quickly become friends with new people. The food is generally good, in the mornings it was just cereal toast coffee and watered down juice. Lunch was sandwiches or a wrap, plenty of salad etc and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lazyeyebailey
Reviewed October 21, 2015 via mobile

I visited Spot X as part of a surf camp package and what an amazing place! You are picked up from the train station and as you get closer you know that you are going to a bit of a remote location. Its right on the beach and there are various types of accommodation available i was in a dorm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pubfan101
Melbourne
Reviewed October 20, 2015

I loved the vibes at spot x, I really didn't want to leave. Stood up on a few waves, Lochy was a great coach and all the staff are so friendly and encouraging! The views from our cabin were magic and the festival was so fun, with live music, djs, camp fires and tippies. Good job mojo surf, home of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank little1Melbourne
Noosa, Australia
Reviewed October 20, 2015

Had such an amazing time at Mojo Surf Spot X, scored the awesomest cabin right at the beach entrance. Spent my days sunbaking and surfing and drinking, luckily had perfect weather! Planning my next trip back! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tahlia B
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed October 18, 2015

Love Spot X!! This was my second time staying here, and I can't wait to go back. Such an awesome vibe - everyone is just having fun. You can't not be happy at Spot X :) We stayed in the Waterfront Villas - but last time stayed in the Teepees. Was nice to have our own bathroom and kitchenette this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe H
Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

Stopped here when travelling in 2011, absolutely amazing little spot! A must do if you're travelling past! The camp is literally on the beach, had a definite young surf/ party vibe so might not be your cup if tea of you're after peace and quiet. But a real good laugh and a fantastic location!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
Reviewed August 21, 2015 via mobile

I went down to spot x for the festival and had the most rad time ever. All the staff are super friendly, and great surf instructors. The surfing and facilities were epic, and they do one hell of a good job of holding a festival! I would recommend this camp to locals and backpackers for loads of fun, laid back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

This is a great place to stay and learn to surf! As soon as you arrive you can feel the sense of community which is just great. Surf lessons are really good and you can stay as long as you feel you need. We stayed in tepees - essentially glamping as they had electricity too and really enjoyed the stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graceannefisher
Reviewed August 4, 2015

I wasn't planning on going to Spot X but I was told it's an absolute must so I stopped in for a night and a surf the next day but it was a real shame it was only one day because I had the best night and day here! It really is a little secluded piece of paradise in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jphil93
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coffs Harbour
14.3 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
366 reviews
16.4 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#9 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
NRMA Darlington Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,029 reviews
17.5 mi away
Aussitel Backpackers
Aussitel Backpackers
#7 of 45 in Coffs Harbour
137 reviews
13.3 mi away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#26 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ultimate learn to surf camp. Somewhere between Sydney and Byron Bay is our beach front surf camp Spot X, a place totally devoted to the surf lifestyle. Located in a National Marine Park, Spot X gives a unique opportunity to spend time in one of Australia's most beautiful coastal areas.Long days in the sun and waves leading to memorable nights around the campfire ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spot X

Address: 46 Arrawarra Rd, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2456, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Spot X reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Spot X staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Rochester, New York

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Spot X staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay for at least a week”
 of 5 bubbles Hoardylish, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
“We loved the creekside - 2b!”
 of 5 bubbles 920bethanyh, Jul 4, 2016 | Read review
“waterfront cabins are spacious and right on the water”
 of 5 bubbles 606orlam, Mar 22, 2016 | Read review
“brilliant views”
 of 5 bubbles calh118, Feb 18, 2016 | Read review
“The teepees are awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles floram983, Jan 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question