We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Spot X

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coffs Harbour
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Spot X
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Spot X
See the most recent reviews
Showing 112: English reviews
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

Before we booked surf camp we had a man tell us that you surf all day and party all night, however that was not the case. You got 2 hours surfing a day and the rest you had to pay for, you had to be in bed by 11 and wasn't allowed music on past 9/10ish. The staff were rude... More 

Helpful?
Thank rice97
Lee M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and give us your feedback. We value all feedback so we can improve and build on our product. Im really sorry to hear that you wasn't satisfied with your stay. As advertised in all of our brochures and online we clearly list what each package has included. Im sorry... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at spot X surf camp. My first ever time surfing in Australia was perfect. The coaches were really helpful and patient I found the camp to be well maintained and clean. The location is amazing and you basically have the beach to yourself. The food was great too with lots of fresh options for lunch!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank juliadoll
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

After being in this camp we don't understand the high ratings this camp got. The sleeping facilities are poor with mould in the bathrooms and the most uncomfortable mattresses ever. The food is okay-ish but definitely not as good as people describe it. Most of the staff in the camp was friendly but also seemed mainly interested in having a... More 

Helpful?
Thank yvette w
Lee M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi Yvette, Thankyou for taking the time to review Spot X Surf Camp. We value all feed back so we can improve our product. Im sorry to hear you didn't fully enjoy your stay. Please allow me to address some of the concerns you have raised. I have investigated the "mold" and i could not find any traces in the... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2016

I stayed for 4 days and absolutely loved it!! The team were awesome, meals were filling, photos were incredible, weather was perfect and just overall had an amazing time. You can stay in a tipi, dorm or even a waterfront cabin so theres room for different characters and ages! Surf instructors are very passionate about their surfing and more passionate... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Orla M
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2016

This place was epic. We had a cabin right on the beach, amazing surf lessons where we both learnt a heap. The food was so good with heaps of options (even for a vego). Such a good vibe, we hardly wanted to leave!

Helpful?
1 Thank NicolleWhite
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2016 via mobile

Great sun, surf and people. Be prepared for the experience of a life time. DOLPHINS EVERYWHERE! Came here to work and loved every minute. Great place to learn and some amazing friends made. Will deffo return. <3

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2016

I attended the 10 day camp in February 2016, and it was absolutely not worth the money unless you are 18 years old and just want to party and meet other 18 year olds. The accommodation was poor, with many people being put in teepees because the dorm rooms had filled up (the tents had no AC/fan or electricity). The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Prozzy1
Lee M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi Prozzy1, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us on the 10 day Go Pro Mojosurf Adventure. We do take any feedback seriously as an opportunity to improve when it’s possible. This is one of our most popular products as it is a combination of both our surf camps at Spot X Surf and... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

Best place to learn where to surf. Second week in Australia and felt like a true Aussie. Would recommend, the staff couldn't have been more helpful! Different activities are organised when a 'rest' from surfing is required, like kangaroo golf and rafting!

Helpful?
Thank Cal H
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at spot x for a 5 day surf and stay and loved everything about it! Been wanting to learn to surf for so long and got to mojo surf camp and learned so much during my stay, going from just being able to take "whitewash" to catching "green waves" and feeling so much more confident about surfing! Had to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chloeing
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016 via mobile

Spend 5 days on surf camp with Mojo. The people were amazing; the staff, all the other surfers and the people around the camp. The surf lessons were fun and well organized. Unfortunately, the facilities were not as expected. The accommodation is tiny and dirty. Ants all over the place, mold everywhere, nasty smell in the rooms when we got... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Corrie H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coffs Harbour
14.3 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.8 mi away
NRMA Darlington Beach Resort and Holiday Park
16.1 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#3 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas
Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas
#17 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
10.7 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Moonee Beach
2.1 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Corindi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ultimate learn to surf camp. Somewhere between Sydney and Byron Bay is our beach front surf camp Spot X, a place totally devoted to the surf lifestyle. Located in a National Marine Park, Spot X gives a unique opportunity to spend time in one of Australia's most beautiful coastal areas.Long days in the sun and waves leading to memorable nights around the campfire ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spot X

Address: 46 Arrawarra Rd, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2456, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Price Range: $56 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing