We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
242 Northbourne Ave Dickson, Canberra 2602 Australia
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!10% off room rate
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/30/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams$102
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (306)
Room & Suite (121)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#10 of 68 hotels in Canberra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Set overlooking two stunning indoor, light-filled atriums is 156 hotel rooms and apartments designed for relaxation or work. Situated on the main drive into Canberra, Northbourne Avenue, close to the Canberra CBD, which you can get to on the Light Rail, and conveniently there is a stop right out the front! We are also within walking distance to Dickson, a great spot to grab a bite to eat. At Pavilion on Northbourne we understand how it feels to be away from home and incorporate a number of inclusions to make your stay that little bit more comfortable, such as complimentary onsite parking and FREE WiFi.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate
2004Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 701
  • 756
  • 350
  • 123
  • 74
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dave N wrote a review Dec 2021
Ryde, Australia297 contributions43 helpful votes
Enjoyed our stay here for a couple of nights between Christmas and New Year 2021. Awesome staff we were made very welcome Plenty of secured offstreet parking The Atrium dining and bar area is very good with lots of natural lighting through the tent-like dome. Lots of well established greenery As stated below ... DONT get rooms 108, 208 or 308, they are on an angled corner of the building and the toilet/shower/kitchenette are all crammed together During this visit period ... masks were necessary for all vacc'ed and unvacc'ed when inside the building, other than in your room I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and encourage other people to stay here
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: DONT get rooms 108, 208 or 308, they are on an angled corner of the building and the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
pamo1966 wrote a review Jun 2021
Sydney, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favorite
Their devotion to the internal garden fills my heart with gratitude & joy each visit. The dining space is so well done with the atrium space, outdoor heaters & different levels for seating. The staff are so very helpful, going above & beyond, what I would expect, normally from a hotel. It’s a sheet delight to visit Canberra as a result; it really elevated our experience, quite frankly
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Bill R wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
We chose Pavilion on Northbourne for its convenient location, free parking and affordable rates. We were delighted with our 2-night stay from check-in to check-out, and would definitely return and recommend! The front desk and restaurant staff were warm, helpful and efficient - especially Dan and Hana. Our queen room overlooking the rear carpark was a good size, well-appointed, clean and comfortable. Bonuses were a shower-over-bath if you like to relax, and windows that opened for fresh air. The $10 voucher valid at the oasis-like Atrium Bar & Restaurant for each day you say 'No' to a room service is a clever 'green' incentive. The breakfast buffet for $23 was great value - hygienically and well-presented with a regularly replenished variety of hot and cold options including cereals, sliced fruit and pastries. Dinners were easy being within walking distance of the vibrant array of restaurants in both Dickson and Braddon's Lonsdale Street. We didn't have time to use the outdoor pool, but it looked clean and inviting. We also didn't have time to use the gym, which was small and could do with a little TLC, but is still fit-for-purpose. The Pavilion on Northbourne might no longer qualify as 5-star, but she has aged gracefully and you won't be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Cameron12100 wrote a review Nov 2021
Sunshine Coast, Australia10 contributions18 helpful votes
Our experience at this hotel was disappointing on checking in the staff member appeared to be confused about information about my booking which turned into a confusing situation however the issue was corrected after showing my email. after this we got into the lift which was filthy with hand prints on the glass Ceiling and general grime after reaching our floor we headed towards our room to find the Decor old and brown like it was from the 1970's, Dirty Cups and glassware in the cupboards and a unclean coffee table with sticky food waste left on it the window stills covered in thick dust and dead insects. the ceiling was leaking and we found they had placed 2 ice cream buckets under it which is not a great impression for a so called 4 plus star hotel which must have gained this rating when the place was built. The bed was sagging in the middle and the towels were provided were worn out we thought we would give The breakfast a go which is a huge rip off at $46 per person and this doesn't even include a barista coffee which was extra on top it was the most expensive breakfast option at a hotel in Canberra it was pretty poorly presented on the plate. We found the staff working in the cafe to be very helpful. All in all i would avoid this hotel and would reconsider another visit should these things change or be renovated in the future there are much nicer hotels on Northbourne Ave that are modern/clean and for a few dollars more you get better value and a cheaper breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Consider staying elsewhere.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
AussieTraveller241 wrote a review Nov 2021
Canberra, Australia4 contributions3 helpful votes
Went out for drinks with friends and when we returned after midnight the front door was locked and no one was answering the mobile number that the sign instructed us to call, after around 30+ minutes the late shift luckily arrived and let us in, as it was late I came down in the morning to speak with reception where the manager actually had the nerve to ask if we had tried the side entrance which is inaccessible after 11pm. Incredibly disappointing, would not recommend, and will be going out of my way to encourage people to stay elsewhere
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan Brophy, Guest Services / Front Office at Pavilion on Northbourne
Responded Nov 4, 2021
Dear Aussie Traveller241, It is extremely disappointing to read that your experience did not meet expectations. We train our people to go out of their way to make sure each guests stay is the best it could possibly be. The hotel had been closed for many weeks just prior to your stay due to COVID restrictions. We were unaware that our night staff were not informed of the proper procedures to follow during our reopening. I do want to apologize for the inconvenience that this oversite has caused. I can assure you that we have addressed this issue with our night staff and set in place procedures to prevent any issues of this kind going forward. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact me at the hotel. Kind Regards Dan Brophy Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$68 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pavilion on northbourne canberra, pavilion on northbourne hotel canberra
LOCATION
AustraliaAustralian Capital TerritoryCanberra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
156
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pavilion on Northbourne
Which popular attractions are close to Pavilion on Northbourne?
Nearby attractions include Trove Canberra (0.7 miles), Chinatown (0.7 miles), and All Saints Church (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pavilion on Northbourne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Pavilion on Northbourne?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Pavilion on Northbourne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pavilion on Northbourne?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pavilion on Northbourne?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trevs At Dickson, Pho Phu Quoc Vietnamese Restaurant, and The East Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pavilion on Northbourne?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Pavilion on Northbourne have airport transportation?
Yes, Pavilion on Northbourne offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pavilion on Northbourne?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Pavilion on Northbourne offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Pavilion on Northbourne?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Calthorpes' House (4.7 miles), Albert Hall (2.7 miles), and Free Serbian Orthodox Church St George (3.9 miles).